main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Voyages


Italy and Sicily

A youthful traveler in Italy (1827)

Although the Rome Affair was the most important question that Alexis de Tocqueville dealt with as Minister of Foreign Affairs, he never visited Italy except for reasons of pleasure and tourism. His first trip to the country was in order to celebrate the end of law studies and to complete his education with the discovery of the land of classical Antiquity. In the company of his brother Édouard, he set off in December 1826, and reached Rome in January 1827. They then traveled throughout the Italian peninsula to Naples, which they left in early March 1827 to travel to Sicily. The crossing was a memorable one, since their ship sailed through a formidable storm, nearly foundering in the midst of the Tyrrhenian Sea. In a particularly dramatic fashion, Tocqueville described this epic adventure in a page of his travel diary.
play sound extractlire l'extrait sonore

« Sicily, we said to ourselves. There it is at last. We came from Italy. We had walked on the ashes of the greatest men who ever lived and breathed the dust of their monuments. but here something else entirely spoke to the imagination. We were in contact with the world at its inception. »
(Travels in Sicily)

Unfortunately, the manuscript of the notes Tocqueville took on this first trip to Italy is today lost, and we know only the fragments kept by Gustave de Beaumont for his edition of the Complete Works of Tocqueville. It is all the more regrettable in that the manuscript, if we are to believe Beaumont, allowed the reader to "follow the path taken by Tocqueville's mind, his trials and errors, his mistakes, his changes of mind, and the circuitous paths that he took to arrive at his true path." The manuscript also contained Tocqueville's views on aesthetics, which his later works almost never discuss. All that has come down to us are very lavish and romantic descriptions (which are highly unrepresentative of Tocqueville's talent, who appears to be trying out a Chateaubriand-like style), such as the ascension of Mount Etna or the paradoxical grandeur of Roman ruins. One of these fragments, however, gives us a glimpse of the future author of Democracy in America: it is a passage in which he recounts a dialogue between a Sicilian and a Neapolitan that - in its discussion of the devastating effects of despotism and the conditions required for freedom to flourish - prefigures Tocqueville's "true path", both in the method used and the themes chosen.

The Coliseum, Jean-Baptiste Camille Corot

The Coliseum, seen from the Farnèse gardens, Jean-Baptiste Camille Corot; Paris, Musée du Louvre
© RMN/Daniel Arnaudet

View of Palermo Sicily

View of Palermo, Anonymous © BNF

Agrigente, Sicily

Part of the temple of Junon, Anonymous © BNF

top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

Voyages


L'Italie et la Sicile

Tocqueville apprenti voyageur en Italie (1827)

Si l'affaire de Rome est la plus importante question qu'Alexis de Tocqueville ait à traiter durant son ministère aux Affaires étrangères, il ne s'est jamais rendu en Italie que pour des voyages d'agrément et de tourisme. Le premier voyage qu'il accomplit dans ce pays doit venir couronner la fin de ses études de droit et compléter sa formation par la découverte de la terre de l'Antiquité classique. Il part ainsi en compagnie de son frère Édouard dès le mois de décembre 1826 et atteint Rome en janvier 1827. Ils traversent ensuite toute la péninsule italienne jusqu'à Naples, qu'ils quittent au début du mois de mars 1827 pour se rendre en Sicile. Cette traversée est restée mémorable, car leur navire y essuie une redoutable tempête et manque de sombrer en pleine mer Tyrrhénienne. Tocqueville a décrit cet épisode épique dans une page de son récit de voyage aux accents particulièrement dramatiques.
écouter l'extrait sonorelire l'extrait sonore

« Là voilà donc enfin, nous disions-nous, cette Sicile. Nous venions d'Italie ; nous avions foulé la cendre des plus grands hommes qui furent jamais et respiré la poussière de leurs monuments, mais autre chose encore parlait ici à l'imagination. nous touchions aux premiers âges du monde. »
(Voyage en Sicile)

Malheureusement, le manuscrit des notes de voyage prises lors de ce premier voyage en Italie est aujourd'hui perdu, et nous n'en connaissons que les fragments retenus par Gustave de Beaumont pour son édition des Œuvres complètes de Tocqueville. C'est d'autant plus regrettable que ce manuscrit, à en croire ce dernier, permettait au lecteur "d'étudier la marche qu'a suivie l'esprit de Tocqueville, ses tâtonnements, ses méprises, ses retours, et les voies détournées par lesquelles il est rentré dans son vrai chemin". Il avait aussi l'originalité de nous livrer la teneur de sa pensée en matière d'esthétique, qui n'est presque jamais exposée dans ses œuvres postérieures. Seules nous sont parvenues les descriptions très romantiques et très fournies (mais peu représentatives du talent de Tocqueville, qui semble s'essayer à la manière d'un Chateaubriand) de l'ascension de l'Etna ou de la grandeur paradoxale des ruines romaines par exemple. Un de ces fragments cependant permet de deviner derrière ce jeune voyageur le futur auteur de De la démocratie en Amérique : il s'agit d'un passage où il relate un dialogue entre un Sicilien et un Napolitain qui, portant sur les effets dévastateurs du despotisme et sur les conditions nécessaires à l'expansion de la liberté, préfigure aussi bien par la méthode adoptée que par les thèmes choisis ce que sera le "vrai chemin" de Tocqueville.

Le Colisée, Jean-Baptiste Camille Corot

Le Colisée, vue des jardins Farnèse, Jean-Baptiste Camille Corot
© RMN/Daniel Arnaudet

Vue de Palerme Sicile

Vue de Palerme, Sicile, anonyme © BNF

Agrigente, Sicile

Part of the temple of Junon, anonyme © BNF

Haut de page