main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Voyages


England and Ireland

Second trip to England (1835)

The second trip that Tocqueville made to England was very different from his first. This time he did not travel alone, but with Beaumont and his goal was as much to examine the political situation in England as to meet the family of Marie Mottley , whom he would wed upon his return to France. In addition, instead of visiting the England of stately homes, this trip was the chance to discover the industrial England in the North and West. Finally, Tocqueville's status itself had changed since the publication of the first volume of Democracy in America. He was welcomed in all the salons with esteem and respect, as was Beaumont, thanks to the immediate success of his novel Marie.

« A minority that owns property confronts a vast majority that owns nothing, and nowhere is the question posed in a more frightening way between those who have everything and those who have nothing. »
(Letter to Count Molé,
May 19, 1835)

The two friends arrived in the British capital on April 23, 1835 and found quarters in Regent Street. Although both stated that they wanted "to mix with every class" and to "attempt every contact", in reality they spent time with the elite social class in London. This trip provided the occasion to forge particular friendships with Mr. and Mrs. GroteGeorge Grote (1794-1871)
English historian. Author of History of Greece (1846-1856). Banker, founder of University College London. Whig MP representing the City of London from 1832 to 1841

Harriet Grote (1792-1878)
Wife of George Grote. Close friend of the Senior family and, through them, of Tocqueville. It was to her that Tocqueville sent his detailed account of the events of December 2, 1851, for publication in the Times.
, Henry Reeve (the future English translator of Democracy in America, who would also become a friend), as well as John Stuart Mill. Mill, who was excited by what he had read, invited Tocqueville to become a contributor to the London and Westminster Review, which he had just founded. At the end of June 1835, the two travelers decided to leave London and visit the cities of Coventry, Birmingham and Liverpool, the last of which they reached on July 3rd. They were fascinated by the industrial landscapes they discovered in these cities, which were at the forefront of the industrial revolution, but most of all the two men were filled with dread. In a page of his travel notes, Tocqueville described the apocalyptic vision of the wretched neighborhoods of Manchester where, across from the "palaces of industry", workers languished in miserably overcrowded conditions.   play sound extractlire l'extrait sonore  
This vision made Tocqueville aware that England might not escape a political revolution, as he had once thought. Concurrent with the emergence of a new money-based aristocracy, the specter of a new type of feudalism arose, which could bring with it the seeds of a democratic revolution - this time a proletarian one.

Manchester

Manchester, Anonymous
© BNF

Liverpool

Liverpool, Anonymous
© BNF

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

Voyages


L'Angleterre et l'Irlande

Le second voyage en Angleterre (1835)

Le second voyage que Tocqueville fait en Angleterre diffère par bien des aspects du premier. Ce n'est cette fois-ci pas seul, mais en compagnie de Beaumont, qu'il l'accomplit, et il s'agit en outre pour Tocqueville autant de considérer l'état politique de l'Angleterre que d'aller rencontrer la famille de Marie Mottley qu'il épousera dès son retour en France. De plus, au lieu de se consacrer à l'Angleterre verte des châteaux et des grandes propriétés foncières, ce voyage sera l'occasion de découvrir l'Angleterre industrielle du Nord et de l'Ouest. C'est enfin le statut de Tocqueville lui-même qui a changé depuis qu'il a publié le premier tome de La Démocratie en Amérique : il est désormais accueilli dans tous les salons avec estime et respect, comme l'est Beaumont grâce au succès immédiat de son roman Marie.

« En face d'une minorité qui possède, se trouve une immense majorité qui ne possède pas ; et nulle part la question n'est posée d'une manière plus redoutable entre ceux qui ont tout et ceux qui n'ont rien. »
(Lettre à M. le comte Molé,
19 mai 1835)

Les deux amis arrivent dans la capitale anglaise le 23 avril 1835 et trouvent à s'établir dans Regent Street. Même si tous deux déclarent vouloir "se mêler à toutes les classes" et essayer tous les contacts", c'est en réalité plutôt une certaine élite sociale qu'ils fréquentent à Londres et ce voyage est l'occasion de nouer des relations privilégiées avec Mr et Mrs. GroteGeorge Grote (1794-1871)
Historien anglais. Auteur de History of Greece (1846-1856). Banquier, fondateur de l'University College de Londres. Député whig de la City de 1832 à 1841.

Harriet Grote (1792-1878)
Epouse de George Grote. Amie intime de la famille Senioret, par leur intermédiaire, de Tocqueville. C'est à elle que Tocqueville adresse le minutieux Nuit des événements du 2 décembre 1851 pour qu'il soit publié dans le Times.
, Henry Reeve (le futur traducteur de La Démocratie en Amérique en anglais, qui deviendra également un ami de Tocqueville) ainsi que John Stuart Mill. Ce dernier, enthousiasmé par la lecture de l'essai, propose à Tocqueville de devenir un collaborateur régulier de la London and Westminster Review qu'il vient de fonder. À la fin du mois de juin 1835, les deux voyageurs décident de quitter la capitale anglaise et de visiter successivement les villes de Coventry, Birmingham, Manchester et Liverpool qu'ils atteignent le 3 juillet. Les paysages industriels qu'ils découvrent dans ces villes à la pointe de la révolution industrielle sont fascinants, mais ils font surtout naître en eux un sentiment d'effroi. Tocqueville retranscrit dans une page de ses notes de voyage le paysage apocalyptique que forment les quartiers infects de Manchester où, en face de véritables "palais de l'industrie", croupissent les ouvriers entassés les uns sur les autres.   écouter l'extrait sonorelire l'extrait sonore  
Cette vision fait prendre conscience à Tocqueville que l'Angleterre n'échappera peut-être pas, comme il l'avait d'abord pensé, à une révolution politique car parallèlement à l'émergence d'une nouvelle aristocratie fondée sur l'argent apparaît le spectre d'une féodalité d'un type nouveau, aux effets dévastateurs, une féodalité industrielle, qui pourrait porter en elle le germe d'une révolution démocratique, qui serait cette fois-ci prolétarienne.

Manchester

Manchester, Anonyme
© BNF

Liverpool

Liverpool, Anonyme
© BNF

Haut de page