main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Voyages


America

Journey down the Mississippi: The return
« Here I see successful institutions that would surely turn France upside down, while other institutions, which suit us, would obviously be destructive in America, yet unless I am seriously mistaken, man here is no different or better than in France. But he is differently situated. »
(Letter to his father, June 3, 1831)

Back in New York in the month of February 1832, Tocqueville and Beaumont were anxious to return to their loved ones in France - especially as they were extremely worried about the cholera epidemic that was sweeping Europe at the time. They boarded a ship, the Henri IV, on February 20th. Due to the loss of the Le Havre maritime registries for the spring of 1832, we do not know the exact date of their arrival, but we know tha the two men who landed on the French coast had been deeply marked by their American experience. Their journey had only lasted ten months, during which time the pair knew they could only glimpse the reality of American society and institutions, but it had a powerful effect on the development of the two friends' thought and on their respective careers. Initially, their mission for the Ministry of the Interior made them the authors of the report entitled The Penal System in America and its application in France, which was awarded the Monthyon Prize in 1833. In addition, the "universe's number one prisoners" (as Beaumont) put it) returned with their bags filled with documentation and their minds nourished by enough observations and reflections for dreaming up more ambitious literary projects, after both of them had quit the legal profession. Beaumont's trip to America gave him the material for a novel, Marie, or slavery in the United States, which was an immediate best-seller when it was published in 1835. As for Tocqueville, he gave his trip its full meaning by publishing his masterpiece, Democracy in America.

Le Soleil couronné, Gustave Le Gray

Le Soleil couronné, Gustave Le Gray
© RMN/Patrice Schmidt

Continually nourished by his experience in the New World, the work was founded on the various observations that he made during the trip: according to him, the American people owed as much, if not more, of their prosperity to the country's extremely favorable conditions than to any particular government or its particular set of virtues. This prohibited one from thinking that the development of the United States could in any way constitute a "model" to follow. On the other hand, the American example should serve as a warning to France that equality of conditions - towards which all modern societies historically moved - have a "prodigious influence" not only on "the progress of society", but also on political customs and the government.
In fact, it seemed as though American had made a modern politician out of Tocqueville, by uprooting him from an outmoded way of thinking and projecting him into the future

see the map

Map of the United States

Map of the United States and the Declaration of Independence on July 17, 1776 (title page), anonymous © BNF

Archives

Note accompanying the submission of the report on the 'American penal system'

Note accompanying the submission of the report on the American penal system © CHAN

resignation of Tocqueville from his post of apprentice magistrate

Administrative document acknowledging the resignation of Tocqueville from his post of apprentice magistrate at the court of Versailles © CHAN

Travel notebookaccess to Travel Notebook with Flash

Down the Mississipi

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

Voyages


L'Amérique

La descente du Mississipi : le retour
« Je vois réussir ici des institutions qui bouleverseraient infailliblement la France ; d'autres qui nous conviennent seraient évidemment malfaisantes en Amérique ; et cependant, ou je me trompe fort, ou l'homme n'est pas autre ou meilleur ici que chez nous. Seulement il est différemment placé. »
(Lettre à son père, 3 juin 1831)

De retour à New York au mois de février 1832, Tocqueville et Beaumont ont d'autant plus hâte de retrouver leurs proches en France que la nouvelle de l'épidémie de choléra qui sévit alors en Europe les inquiète grandement. Ils s'embarquent à bord du vaisseau Henri IV le 20 février et si la perte des registres maritimes tenus au port du Havre concernant le printemps de l'année 1832 nous empêche de connaître la date exacte de leur arrivée, on peut assurer en revanche que les deux hommes qui débarquent sur les côtes françaises ont été profondément marqués par leur expérience américaine. Leur séjour outre-Atlantique n'a certes duré que dix mois, durant lesquels ils ont conscience de n'avoir qu'entrevu la réalité de la société et des institutions américaines, mais il a eu de puissants effets sur le développement de la pensée des deux amis et sur leurs carrières respectives. Leur mission pour le ministère de l'Intérieur a d'abord fait d'eux les auteurs du rapport intitulé Du système pénitentiaire aux États-Unis et de son application en France, qui reçoit le prix Monthyon dès sa parution en 1833. En outre, les "premiers pénitenciers de l'univers" (selon l'expression de Beaumont) reviennent les malles pleines de documentation et l'esprit nourri de suffisamment d'observations et de réflexions pour imaginer de plus ambitieux projets littéraires, après avoir tous deux quitté leur fonction judiciaire : Beaumont tirera de son voyage aux États-Unis le roman Marie ou l'esclavage aux États-Unis, qui connaît un succès de librairie immédiat en 1835, tandis que Tocqueville donnera tout son sens à cette équipée en publiant son chef-d'œuvre, De la démocratie en Amérique.

Le Soleil couronné par Gustave Le Gray

Le Soleil couronné, Gustave Le Gray
© RMN/-Patrice Schmidt

Incessamment nourri par son expérience du Nouveau Monde, cet ouvrage est fondé sur les différents constats qu'il dresse durant son voyage : selon lui, le peuple américain doit autant, sinon davantage, sa prospérité aux conditions extrêmement favorables dans lesquelles il est placé qu'à un gouvernement particulier ou à des vertus qui lui seraient propres, ce qui interdit de penser que le développement des États-Unis puisse constituer un "modèle" à suivre. En revanche, l'exemple américain doit pouvoir prévenir la France que l'égalité des conditions, vers laquelle tendent historiquement toutes les sociétés modernes, exerce une "influence prodigieuse" non seulement sur "la marche de la société" mais aussi sur les mœurs politiques et le gouvernement.
En fait, tout se passe comme si l'Amérique avait fait de Tocqueville un homme politique moderne, en l'arrachant à un mode de penser du passé et en le projetant vers l'avenir.

voir la carte

Carte des Etats-Unis

Carte des États-Unis et déclaration de l'indépendance des États-Unis d'Amérique le 17 juillet 1776 (frontispice), anonyme © BNF

Archives

Lettre d'envoi du 'Système pénitentiaire aux États-Unis'

Lettre d'envoi du Système pénitentiaire aux États-Unis
© CHAN

Démission de Tocqueville de sa fonction de juge-auditeur

Document administratif faisant état de la démission de Tocqueville de sa fonction de juge-auditeur du tribunal de Versailles © CHAN

Carnet portatifimage : accéder au module flash carnet

La descente du Mississipi

Haut de page