main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Voyages


America

Journey down the Mississippi:
New Orleans
« As far as I can judge, the republic does not seem to me a social state as natural and appropriate to the South as it is to the North of the United States. . In the South, there is something feverish, chaotic, revolutionary, and passionate in the way things are going, something that does not leave you with the same impression of force and duration. »
(Travels in America)

Having completed their trip down the Mississippi, Tocqueville and Beaumont landed in New Orleans on January 1, 1832. According to Tocqueville's notes, they were surprised at the feverish activity of the port, and especially by the mixture of architectural styles, languages, and "persons of every shade of color". Tocqueville was particularly sensitive to traces of the former French presence, to the old French residents themselves, and to their relationship to the dominating English presence. And yet, he found no traces of feelings of frustration and defeat, as he had observed among the French Canadians: the old French residents of New Orleans seemed completely comfortable with their new situation. But what struck him the most about New Orleans was the difference in customs, which were, by all evidence, much more relaxed in the South than in the North. He attributed this to the difference in climate, but this difference in latitude seemed to have modified the entire appearance of society.  play sound extractlire l'extrait sonore
He thought that slavery, for example, radically altered a society's output, because not only did it overburden the slaves, but it also relieved their owners of all work and all desire to work.

Photographie de la ville de la Nouvelle-Orléans

Jackson Square and the Saint Louis Cathedral , S.T. Blessing
© New Orleans Public Library

Ohio was the dividing line between the North, where "all is activity and industry", and where "work is an honor" and "there are no slaves", from the Southern states like Kentucky or Tennessee; there, "the spirit of enterprise comes to a halt", and "work is not only a trial, it is a shame". The South was still home to a race of aristocratic men who "placed many things above work" but it would, Tocqueville thought, end up being dominated by the North.

see the map

Map of New Orleans

Map of New Orleans, Vinache © Historic New Orleans Collection

Various images about the growing and harvesting of cotton

Various images about the growing and harvesting of cotton © BNF

Travel notebookaccess to Travel Notebook with Flash

Down the Mississipi

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

Voyages


L'Amérique

La descente du Mississipi :
La Nouvelle-Orléans
« Autant que j'en puis juger, la république ne me paraît pas un état social aussi naturel et approprié au Sud qu'il l'est au Nord des Etats-Unis. [...] Au Sud, il y a dans la marche des affaires quelque chose de fébrile, de désordonné, de révolutionnaire, de passionné qui ne laisse pas la même impression de force et de durée. »
(Voyage en Amérique)

Tocqueville et Beaumont, après avoir descendu le Mississipi, débarquent à La Nouvelle-Orléans le 1er janvier 1832. D'après les notes prises par Tocqueville, ils sont étonnés par l'activité fébrile du port et surtout par le mélange serré des styles architecturaux, des langues parlées et des "figures de toutes les nuances de couleurs". Tocqueville est également particulièrement sensible aux traces de l'ancienne présence française, aux anciens Français eux-mêmes et au rapport qu'ils entretiennent avec la domination anglaise. Pourtant, il ne retrouve chez eux aucun des sentiments de frustration et de défaite qu'il avait observés chez les Français du Canada : les anciens Français semblent s'être tout à fait accommodés de leur nouvel état. Mais ce qui le marque le plus à La Nouvelle-Orléans est la différence des mœurs qui sont, selon toute évidence, beaucoup plus relâchées dans le Sud des États-Unis que dans le Nord. Il attribue ce fait à la différence de climat mais c'est en vérité la totalité de la physionomie de la société qui semble être modifiée par cette différence de latitude.  écouter l'extrait sonorelire l'extrait sonore  

Photographie de la ville de la Nouvelle-Orléans

Jackson Square et la Cathédrale Saint-Louis, S.T. Blessing
© New Orleans Public Library

Selon lui, l'esclavage par exemple modifie considérablement le rendement d'une société, puisque non seulement il accable l'esclave mais il ôte en outre à son maître toute activité, tout désir d'entreprendre. C'est ainsi que l'Ohio sépare au Nord une société où "tout est activité, industrie", où "le travail est un honneur" et "où il n'y a pas d'esclaves" d'États du Sud comme le Kentucky ou le Tennessee ; là, "l'esprit d'entreprise cesse tout à coup", là, "le travail n'est pas seulement une peine, c'est une honte", là encore est établie une espèce d'hommes aristocratiques qui "mettent beaucoup de choses avant l'argent" mais dont il juge que, selon toute vraisemblance, elle finira par être dominée par le Nord.

voir la carte

Plan de la ville de la Nouvelle-Orléans

Carte de La Nouvelle Orléans, Vinache
© Historic New Orleans Collection

Différentes images sur la culture et la récolte du coton

Différentes images sur la culture et la récolte du coton © BNF

Carnet portatifimage : accéder au module flash carnet

La descente du Mississipi

Haut de page