main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Voyages


America

The West and the North: Canada
« In Canada I have just seen a million fine, intelligent Frenchmen, who should have formed the nucleus of a great French nation in America but have somehow ended up living as strangers in their own land. . The die is now cast: all of North America will speak English. »
(Letter to his brother Edouard, November 26, 1831)

Before entering Canada, Tocqueville and Beaumont were offered the opportunity to sail across the Great Lakes aboard the Superior to Green Bay, a far-flung region at the far end of Lake Michigan. They jumped at the chance, and also made the inevitable detour to see Niagara Falls, which was no less spectacular in person than it had been in their imaginations. They spent August 17th and 18th there, and on August 20th boarded a ship at Buffalo for Montreal and Quebec, where they stayed until August 30th. Tocqueville's surprise at this tiny piece of old France buried in the midst of the North American continent was immense. Canada - and more particularly Bas-Canada, where the French presence was concentrated - was a veritable revelation for him. Above all, he was greatly moved by the faithful way in which the Canadians had transplanted not only the language of France, but also its customs and architecture. He found, between the villages he and Beaumont traveled though, and even Montreal itself, a striking analogy with the French countryside, and - what was even more moving - with the French countryside of the XVIIIe century.

« They are as French as you and I. Indeed, they are more like us than the Americans of the United States are like the English. I cannot tell you how pleasant it was to find ourselves among these people. We felt at home, and everywhere people received us as compatriots. »
(Letter to Abbé Lesueur,
September 7, 1831)

They received a particularly warm welcome from the Canadians, which only served to strengthen the bonds between the two friends and the local population. Their very great curiosity led them to study this French outpost and the fate of its inhabitants, to the point that they questioned the residents of the little village of Beauport as they emerged from Sunday mass. Nevertheless, the conclusions that Tocqueville reached were mostly bleak, because even though they represented for him "the most handsome offshoot of the European family in the New World," the French Canadians were still a vanquished people who could only dream of their independence, surrounded as they were by Upper Canada and the United States. Following his travels in these lands, Tocqueville always remained convinced that France had a duty to have large colonies, and he tried, in the case of the colonization of Algeria, to learn the lessons of the Canadian failure so as not to repeat them.

see the map

The steamships

The steamships "Lady of the lake" and "Rochester", anonymous © BNF

The Saint Laurence Seaway, 'the thousand islands'

The Saint Laurence Seaway, "the thousand islands", anonymous
© BNF

Travel Notebookaccess to Travel Notebook with Flash

Canada and West America

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

Voyages


L'Amérique

L'Ouest et le Nord : le Canada
« Je viens de voir dans le Canada un million de Français, braves, intelligents, faits pour former une grande nation française en Amérique, qui vivent en quelque sorte en étrangers dans leurs pays. [...] Aujourd'hui le sort en est jeté, toute l'Amérique du Nord parlera anglais. »
(Lettre à son frère Édouard,
26 novembre 1831)

Avant de pénétrer vraiment au Canada, Tocqueville et Beaumont saisissent l'opportunité qui leur est offerte de monter à bord du Supérieur pour traverser les splendides spectacles offerts par les grands lacs et pour se rendre à Green Bay, contrée très reculée qui se trouve au fond du lac Michigan. Ils tiennent également à faire l'inévitable détour par les chutes du Niagara qui, pour être attendues, ne s'en révèlent pas moins prodigieuses à leurs yeux. Ils passent sur place les deux journées du 17 et du 18 août, et ce n'est donc que le 20 août qu'ils s'embarquent à Buffalo pour Montréal et pour Québec où ils s'établissent jusqu'au 31 août. La surprise de Tocqueville devant ce petit bout de l'ancienne France perdu au milieu du continent américain est grande et immédiate. En effet, le Canada, et plus précisément le Bas-Canada où se concentre la présence française, semble avoir été pour lui une véritable révélation : il est d'abord vivement touché par la fidélité avec laquelle les Canadiens ont transposé outre-Atlantique la langue, mais aussi les coutumes et l'architecture françaises, et il trouve dans les différents villages qu'il traverse avec Beaumont tout comme dans la ville de Montréal elle-même une analogie frappante avec la province française, voire, fait encore plus touchant, avec la province française du XVIIIe siècle.

« Ils sont aussi français que vous et moi. Ils nous ressemblent même bien plus que les Américains des Etats-Unis ne ressemblent aux Anglais. Je ne puis vous exprimer quel plaisir nous avons ressenti à nous retrouver au milieu de cette population. Nous nous sentions comme chez nous, et partout on nous recevait comme des compatriote [...]. »
(Lettre à l'abbé Lesueur,
7 septembre 1831)

L'accueil que leur réservent les Canadiens est en outre particulièrement chaleureux et attache un peu plus encore les deux amis au sort de la population locale. C'est donc poussés par une très vive curiosité qu'ils mènent l'enquête sur cette terre d'exception française et sur le sort réservé à ses habitants, au point d'aller par exemple interroger ceux du petit village de Beauport à la sortie de la messe dominicale. Cependant la plupart des conclusions auxquelles aboutit Tocqueville sont amères, car pour représenter selon lui "le plus beau rejeton de la famille européenne dans le Nouveau Monde", les Canadiens français n'en sont pas moins un peuple vaincu qui ne saurait rêver à son indépendance tel qu'il est encerclé par le Haut-Canada et par les États-Unis d'Amérique. Tocqueville gardera toujours de son passage sur ces terres la conviction que la France se doit d'avoir de grandes colonies et il tentera dans le cas de la colonisation de l'Algérie d'essayer de tirer les leçons de l'échec canadien afin d'éviter qu'il ne se reproduise.

voir la carte

Bâteaux à vapeur

Bâteaux à vapeur " Lady of the lake " et " Rochester ", anonyme © BNF

Le Fleuve Saint-Laurent, 'les mille îles'

Le Fleuve Saint-Laurent,
"les mille îles", anonyme
© BNF

Carnet portatifimage : accéder au module flash carnet

Le Canada et l'Amérique de l'Ouest

Haut de page