main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Voyages


America

The West and the North: the Indians

Indian Moccasins, Gustave de Beaumont

Indian Moccasins, Gustave de Beaumont © AD Manche

The first time that Tocqueville and Beaumont came face to face with Indians, they were in the city of Buffalo. They were tremendously disappointed: far from the romantic images of savages "upon whom nature had left the trace of some of those virtues from which the spirit of freedom was born," they found instead drunken, depraved creatures, dressed in European garb although still adorned with feathers and shells, and who appeared to have lost all of their nobility after contact with civilization. This dire impression was, however, quickly rectified by other encounters that corresponded more exactly to the two travelers' expectations. Certainly, they found it easy to point out, with a smile on their lips, the huge gap between the canons of Indian beauty and the legendary and Chateaubriand's very romantic Atala. And yet, they also discovered, in the heart of the virgin wilderness, the amazing agility of their Chippewa guides The two young Indians, aged fourteen and eighteen, moved through the forest almost like animals, instinctively avoiding pitfalls, while the two Europeans were practically unable to move.

« And what has become of the Indians? » I asked. « I'm not really sure where the Indians have gone, » our host responded, « somewhere out beyond the Great Lakes. They're a dying race. They aren't made for civilization: it kills them »
(Two Weeks in the Wilderness)

But Tocqueville also found the Indians independent, proud, and majestic in their wisdom and temperance, as well as serious and remarkably resilient - manly qualities that made these Old World inhabitants' behavior comparable to the aristocratic values of the Old Regime. And ultimately, weren't both these worlds destined to disappear? Tocqueville was aware of this, and although he showed real interest in the ways and customs of the various Indian tribes, he had no doubt that this "ancient people" - which he never saw as inferior - would yield to civilization in a generalized and shameful indifference.   play sound extractlire l'extrait sonore  

see the map

Portrait de chef indien : 'Wa-ta-wa-buck-a-nack'

Paintings by Georges Catlin

Title page of 'Travels in North America', Karl Bodmer

Title page of "Travels in North America" by Prince de Wied, Karl Bodmer
© RMN/Philippe Bernard

Indian with rifle, Jules-Emile Saintin

Indian with rifle, Jules-Emile Saintin
© RMN/Gérard Blot

Archives

Letter to his cousin Eugénie de Grancey about Indians

Letter to his cousin Eugénie de Grancey about Indians © AD Manche

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

Voyages


L'Amérique

L'Ouest et le Nord : les Indiens

Chaussons indiens, Gustave de Beaumont

Chaussons indiens, Gustave de Beaumont © AD Manche

La première fois que Tocqueville et Beaumont croisent des Indiens sur leur route, ils se trouvent dans la ville de Buffalo et leur déception est immense : loin des images romantiques d'hommes sauvages "sur la figure desquels la nature a laissé la trace de quelques-unes de ces vertus hautaines qu'enfante l'esprit de liberté", ils découvrent des êtres avinés et dépravés, vêtus à l'européenne bien que toujours parés de leurs plumes et de leurs coquillages, et qui semblent avoir perdu toute leur noblesse au contact de la civilisation. Cette funeste impression est cependant vite corrigée par d'autres rencontres qui répondent davantage aux attentes des deux voyageurs. Ils auront certes beau jeu de souligner, le sourire aux lèvres, l'écart béant qui sépare les canons de la beauté indienne de la légendaire et très romanesque Atala, mais ils ont également l'occasion de découvrir, au cœur de la forêt vierge, combien leurs guides Chippaways, deux jeunes gens de quatorze et dix-huit ans, font preuve d'une agilité stupéfiante, presque animale, dans la nature dont ils prévoient et déjouent les pièges instinctivement, alors qu'eux-mêmes sont incapables de s'y mouvoir.

« - Et que sont devenus les Indiens, disais-je ? - Les Indiens, reprenait notre hôte, ils ont été je ne sais trop où, par-delà les Grands Lacs. C'est une race qui s'éteint ; ils ne sont pas faits pour la civilisation : elle les tue.»
(Quinze jours dans le désert)

Et telle n'est pas leur unique qualité aux yeux de Tocqueville qui les trouve également indépendants, fiers et majestueux dans leur sagesse et leur tempérance, mais aussi graves et remarquablement endurants, autant de mâles qualités qui semblent rapprocher dans son esprit ces habitants de l'Ancien Monde des valeurs aristocratiques de l'Ancien Régime. Ces deux mondes ne sont-ils finalement pas voués à disparaître ? Tocqueville en a conscience et s'il montre un intérêt réel pour les us et coutumes des tribus indiennes, il ne doute pourtant pas que ce "peuple antique", qu'il ne considère jamais comme inférieur, ne manquera pas de succomber à la civilisation dans une indifférence générale et coupable.   écouter l'extrait sonorelire l'extrait sonore  

voir la carte

Portrait de chef indien : 'Wa-ta-wa-buck-a-nack'

Peintures de Georges Catlin

Projet de frontispice pour les 'Travels in North America', Karl Bodmer

Frontispice pour les "Travels in North America" du Prince de Wied, Karl Bodmer
© RMN/Philippe Bernard

Indien au fusil, Jules-Emile Saintin

Indien au fusil, Jules-Emile Saintin
© RMN/Gérard Blot

Archives

Lettre à sa cousine Eugénie de Grancey sur les Indiens

Lettre à sa cousine Eugénie de Grancey sur les Indiens
© AD Manche

Haut de page