main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Voyages


America

New York! The survey of penal institutions
«For the past week we have been living in the small village of Sing Sing, in which the largest penitentiary in the United States is located. And except for sleeping in a cell and being whipped with ropes, we are leading almost the same life as the prisoners. That's what I call throwing yourself into the penitentiary system»
(Letter to Félix Le Peletier d'Aunay, June 7, 1831)

Very quickly, the survey of the American penal system - the required pretext for making their voyage an official one - became a chore for both Tocqueville and Beaumont, which they tried to dispose of as quickly as possible. Thus, for the first few months of their trip, they concentrated most of their investigation on penal institutions in the northeastern part of the States. They were, of course, proud to have been personally invited by the mayor of New York to discover the homes for delinquent minors, whose principle and operation they found very convincing. During their visit to Sing Sing prison, where they were housed with local families, they even found a certain charm and interest. But the penal survey became rapidly relegated to second place in comparison with the interest in studying American society as a whole. Nevertheless, they completed their original task in all seriousness, and did not balk at interviewing prisoners one-on-one. Although they regretted not being able to find statistics about recidivism - a crucial indicator for judging the efficiency of a penal system - their survey was still fruitful. For one thing, it allowed them to re-examine certain prejudices concerning the virtues of American prisons that were popular in French philanthropic circles - although they seemed very inexpensive to run, it was because prisoners were obliged to work from morning to night, and although they worked calmly and in silence, without exhibiting the least rebelliousness, it was because they feared the lash.

« The Americans have tried to isolate the prisoners here from one another to the point where each man can count only on his own individual strength and therefore always feels weaker than the guards who watch over him. They achieve this by means of silenceand constant work. »
(Letter to Félix Le Peletier d'Aunay, June 7, 1831)

This was the secret of the American system, that Tocqueville thought would be difficult to transpose onto French soil. He was also interested by the principle of solitary confinement, which was practiced by certain establishments, and which seemed to him to have several distinct advantages: by isolated prisoners from each other and forcing them to confront their own thoughts in silence, it kept prisons from turning into schools of crime. This, according to Tocqueville, was the principal lesson that France could learn in order to improve its own penal system.

see the map

Sing Sing Prison and Tappan Sea

Sing Sing Prison and Tappan Sea, anonymous
© BNF

Layout of the Pennsylvania Prison

Layout of the Pennsylvania Prisone, Private collection © AD Manche

Archives

Draft report by Alexis de Tocqueville and Gustave de Beaumont

Draft report by Alexis de Tocqueville and Gustave de Beaumont © CHAN

Letter from the French legation to Dannery, consul at Philadelphia

Letter from the French legation to Dannery, consul at Philadelphia
© Archives diplomatiques de Nantes

Letter concerning the mission of Beaumont and Tocqueville

Letter concerning the mission of Beaumont and Tocqueville © Archives diplomatiques de Nantes

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

Voyages


L'Amérique

New York ! L'enquête pénitentiaire
« Depuis huit jours, nous habitons le petit village de Sing Sing où se trouve le plus vaste établissement pénitentiaire des Etats-Unis. Et, excepté de coucher dans une cellule et de recevoir des coups de corde nous menons à peu près la vie des détenus. C'est ce que j'appelle
se donner du système pénitentiaire
à cœur joie. »
(Lettre à Félix Le Peletier d'Aunay,
7 juin 1831)

De prétexte nécessaire pour donner un caractère officiel à leur voyage, l'enquête sur le système pénitentiaire américain devient rapidement pour Tocqueville et Beaumont un pensum, dont ils cherchent à se débarrasser au plus vite. Aussi concentrent-ils la majeure partie de leur programme d'investigation dans les établissements du Nord-Est des États-Unis durant les premiers mois de leur voyage. Ils ressentent certes de la fierté à être invité par le maire de New York en personne à venir découvrir les maisons de refuge pour les délinquants de moins de seize ans, qu'ils jugent dans leur principe comme dans leur fonctionnement très convaincantes. À l'occasion de leur visite du célèbre pénitencier, ils trouvent même un charme et un intérêt certains à leur séjour à Sing-Sing, durant lequel ils logent chez l'habitant. Mais l'enquête pénitentiaire elle-même leur semble rapidement accessoire par rapport à l'intérêt supérieur que représente à leurs yeux l'étude de la société américaine dans son ensemble. Ils s'en acquittent pourtant avec le plus grand sérieux, n'hésitant pas à interroger seul à seul les prisonniers, et s'ils regrettent de ne pouvoir trouver des statistiques fiables concernant le taux de récidive - indice crucial lorsqu'il s'agit de juger l'efficacité d'un système pénitentiaire - leur enquête est néanmoins fructueuse et leur permet de remettre en cause certains des préjugés répandus parmi les cercles philanthropiques français sur les vertus des prisons américaines : si elles s'avèrent si peu onéreuses, c'est que les prisonniers sont obligés de travailler du matin jusqu'au soir, et s'ils travaillent dans le calme et le silence, sans jamais esquisser le moindre geste de rébellion, c'est qu'ils craignent le fouet.

« Les Américains ont entrepris d'isoler ici les détenus les uns des autres au point que chacun ne pouvant compter que sur sa force individuelle se sentît toujours plus faible que les gardiens qui veillent sur lui. Ils y parviennent par le silence et le travail continuel. »
(Lettre à Félix Le Peletier d'Aunay,
7 juin 1831)

Tel est le secret de la méthode américaine, que Tocqueville croit difficile de transposer en France. Il est davantage intéressé par le principe de l'emprisonnement cellulaire, qui est en vigueur dans certains établissements et qui présente selon lui plusieurs avantages indéniables : en isolant les détenus les uns des autres et en les obligeant à se confronter au silence et à leur propre méditation, il évite aux prisons de se transformer en véritables écoles du crime. Telle est, selon Tocqueville, la principale leçon que la France peut retenir pour l'amélioration de son propre système pénitentiaire.

voir la carte

Prison de Sing Sing et Tappan Sea

Prison de Sing Sing et Tappan Sea, anonyme
© BNF

Plan de la prison de Pennsylvannie

Plan de la prison de Pennsylvannie
Coll. privée © AD Manche

Archives

Pré-rapport d'Alexis de Tocqueville et de Gustave de Beaumont

Pré-rapport d'Alexis de Tocqueville et de Gustave de Beaumont
© CHAN

image : accéder au module flash archives

Lettre de 1831 de la légation de France à Dannery © Archives diplomatiques de Nantes

image : accéder au module flash archives

Lettre du 19 mai 1831 sur la mission de Beaumont et de Tocqueville © Archives diplomatiques de Nantes

Haut de page