main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Voyages


Germany and Switzerland

Travels in Switzerland

When Tocqueville left for Switzerland on July 7, 1836, accompanied by his wife, he seemed to be doing so as a tourist, even though he chose to stop on July 24th at Berne, where the Federal Diet assembled. Marie fell gravely ill at the end of July, however, and Tocqueville was obliged to follow her to Baden - a fashionable spa town at the time - where the couple stayed until their return to France on September 15th, after a brief stop in Geneva.   play sound extractlire l'extrait sonore   Although he was a bit disappointed by the turn things had taken, and little enjoyed his spa holiday, he nevertheless seized the opportunity offered by this excursion into Swiss territory to turn his political analysis on Switzerland: Was it a democracy? A confederation?

« I am traveling here much more as a lover of beautiful nature than as a philosopher. . Nevertheless, when I find myself by chance obliged to read a newspaper or engage in a reasonable conversation, I try to understand what I am being told. »
(Letter to Francisque de Corcelle, July 27, 1836)

As was his habit, he compared its political regime to those in England and America and concluded that the democratic revolution was not finished in Switzerland, and that the cantonal institutions functioned more like bourgeois aristocracies than like republics. It was only in 1848, after the crisis of the previous four years had brought about a change in the federal pact, that Tocqueville acknowledged Switzerland as a fully democratic nation.

The Close of Day, Auguste Baud-Bovy

The Close of Day, Auguste Baud-Bovy © RMN/Hervé Lewandowski

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

Voyages


L'Allemagne et la Suisse

Voyage en Suisse

Lorsque Tocqueville part en Suisse le 7 juillet 1836 en compagnie de son épouse, ses intentions semblent être touristiques, même s'il choisit de s'arrêter en premier lieu le 24 juillet à Berne, où se réunit la diète fédérale. Toutefois, Marie tombe gravement malade dès la fin du mois de juillet, et Tocqueville se voit contraint de la suivre à Baden - la station thermale à la mode - où le couple doit séjourner jusqu'à son retour en France le 15 septembre après un bref séjour à Genève.   écouter l'extrait sonorelire l'extrait sonore   S'il est quelque peu déçu de la tournure prise par son voyage et s'il goûte peu sa villégiature thermale, il saisit néanmoins l'occasion offerte par cette incursion en terre helvétique d'exercer son esprit d'analyse politique sur le cas de la Suisse : est-elle une démocratie ? une confédération ?

« Je voyage ici beaucoup plus en amateur de la belle nature qu'en philosophe . Cependant quand je me trouve par hasard forcé de lire un journal ou de faire une conversation raisonnable, je tâche de comprendre ce qu'on m'apprend. »
(Lettre à Francisque de Corcelle, 27 juillet 1836)

Procédant par comparaison, conformément à son habitude, avec les régimes d'Angleterre et d'Amérique, il en arrive à la conclusion que la révolution démocratique n'est pas encore achevée dans ce pays et que les institutions cantonales fonctionnent davantage comme des aristocraties bourgeoises que comme des républiques. Ce n'est qu'en 1848, après la crise décisive des années 1844-1848 qui amène la révision du pacte, que Tocqueville reconnaîtra dans la Suisse une nation démocratique à part entière.

La fin d'un jour, Auguste Baud-Bovy

La fin d'un jour, Auguste Baud-Bovy
© RMN/Hervé Lewandowski

Haut de page