main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Voyages


Germany and Switzerland

Travels in Germany
« I shall return to France with a fairly good knowledge of what took place in Germany a hundred years ago but without the slightest idea of what people here are doing and thinking today. »
(Letter to Francisque de Corcelle,
August 29, 1854)

For a long time, Tocqueville had hoped to complete his understanding of the European political situation with an in-depth study of the case of Germany. He was certainly encouraged in this by his friend Jean-Jacques Ampère, who was a great expert on the subject. He even shared with Beaumont a subscription to the Augsburger allgemeine Zeitungand then the Kölnische Zeitung, both to improve his knowledge of German and to keep up with the latest news from across the Rhine.
Neither of the two trips he made to Germany, however, really satisfied his expectations. The first took place in the spring of 1848. At this time, Tocqueville, accompanied by his wife, wanted to flee the burdens of the current election campaign, and he was curious to examine the rapid changes taking place in the German political situation. The country was divided between upholding the Constitution that was born of the events of 1848, and the old royalists who were attempting to regain power. Tocqueville predicted "the victory of the Princes" but, after having learned of his re-election to the National Assembly, and especially after learning that Barrot would remain as prime minister, he had to hasten back to France, where he hoped for a ministerial appointment.

« As I drew closer to the border, I was gripped by a profound sadness and a powerful desire to turn back. I had just spent three months in a country that might, compared to ours, be called a land of liberty, and the idea of breathing again the air of a France so servile and so content in its servitude oppressed me. »
(Letter to Gustave de Beaumont, October 1, 1854)

In June 1854, when he crossed the Rhine for a second time, his motivations had changed: he was in the middle of writing
The Old Regime and the Revolution, and he was looking for information on 18th-century feudal Germany, which he found in the very rich holdings of the library of the University of Bonn. He planned to go from Bonn to Dresden and then to Berlin, where memories of the old feudal world were much more vivid, but his wife's health did not permit this. In mid-August, they traveled to Wildbald, a small spa town in the Black Forest not far from Baden-Baden, and abandoned their plans. They returned to France at the end of September 1854, without Tocqueville having been able to deepen his knowledge of Germany as much as he had wished - a country that impressed him as being a haven of freedom in comparison with France under the Second Empire.

Memories of the banks of the Rhine, between Coblenz and Mayence, Pierre Justin Ouvrié

Memories of the banks of the Rhine, between Coblenz and Mayence, Pierre Justin Ouvrié
© RMN/Gérard Blot

Saint Cassius and Saint Florentius Cathedral in Bonn, Germany

Saint Cassius and Saint Florentius Cathedral in Bonn, Anonymous © BNF

View of Coblenz, Germany

View of Coblenz, Germany, Anonymous © BNF

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

Voyages


L'Allemagne et la Suisse

Voyages en Allemagne
« Je reviendrai en France sachant assez bien ce qui se passait en Allemagne, il y a cent ans, mais n'ayant pas la moindre idée de ce qu'on y fait et de ce qu'on y pense aujourd'hui. »
(Lettre à Francisque de Corcelle,
29 août 1854)

Tocqueville a longtemps espéré pouvoir compléter sa compréhension de la situation politique européenne par l'étude approfondie du cas de l'Allemagne. Il est sûrement incité en cela par son ami Jean-Jacques Ampère qui en est un grand spécialiste et a même partagé avec Beaumont un abonnement au Augsburger allgemeine Zeitung puis au Kölnische Zeitung, à la fois pour améliorer sa maîtrise de la langue de Goethe et pour se tenir au fait de l'actualité outre-Rhin.
Aucun des deux voyages qu'il entreprend dans ce pays n'a cependant comblé toutes ses attentes. Le premier se déroule au printemps de l'année 1849, alors qu'il veut fuir en compagnie de son épouse les tracas de la campagne électorale et qu'il est curieux d'observer sur le vif l'évolution de la situation politique allemande. Le pays est alors divisé entre le maintien de la Constitution née des événements de 1848 et les anciens Monarques qui tentent de recouvrer le pouvoir. Tocqueville prédit "la victoire des Princes" mais, après avoir appris sa réélection à l'Assemblée nationale et surtout après avoir appris que le ministère Barrot devait être remanié, il doit rapidement rentrer en France où il espère obtenir un ministère.

« A mesure que j'approchais de la frontière, j'étais saisi d'une profonde tristesse et d'une grande envie de retourner en arrière. Je venais de passer trois mois dans un pays qui, comparé au nôtre, peut être appelé un pays de liberté et l'idée de respirer de nouveau l'air de cette France si asservie et si contente de sa servitude m'oppressait. »
(Lettre à Gustave de Beaumont, 1er octobre 1854)

Lorsqu'en juin 1854 il traverse à nouveau le Rhin, ses motivations ont changé : en pleine période de rédaction de L'Ancien Régime et la Révolution, il recherche surtout des informations sur l'Allemagne féodale du XVIIIe siècle qu'il trouve dans la très riche bibliothèque de l'université de Bonn. Il projette de quitter ensuite Bonn pour Dresde puis pour Berlin, où les souvenirs de l'ancien monde féodal sont autrement plus vivaces, mais les problèmes de santé de son épouse l'en empêchent : à la mi-août, ils doivent gagner Wildbald, une petite ville thermale de la Forêt-Noire, non loin de Baden-Baden, et renoncer à tout autre projet. Ils rentrent en France à la fin du mois de septembre 1854 sans que Tocqueville ait pu approfondir autant qu'il l'aurait souhaité sa connaissance de l'Allemagne, dont il retient avant tout qu'elle est un appréciable lieu de liberté comparé à la France du Second Empire.

Souvenir des bords du Rhin, entre Coblentz et Mayence, Pierre Justin Ouvrié

Souvenir des bords du Rhin, entre Coblentz et Mayence, Pierre Justin Ouvrié
© RMN/Gérard Blot

Cathédrale saint-Cassius et saint-Florentius à Bonn, Allemagne

Cathédrale saint-Cassius et saint-Florentius à Bonn, anonyme © BNF

Vue de Coblentz, Allemagne

Vue de Coblentz, Allemagne, Anonyme
© BNF

Haut de page