main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Travels


Algeria

The discovery of Algeria (1841)

View of Toulon, Departure of the Algerian Expedition

View of Toulon, Departure of the Algerian Expedition, anonymous © BNF

Tocqueville had been interested in the question of Algeria ever since its conquest by France in 1830. His friend Louis de Kergorlay had performed brilliantly in the military campaign, and had meticulously described the operations in his correspondence. According to Tocqueville, the future of France was at stake, because Algeria represented a chance for France to regain some of its lost glory. He was very taken with the idea that France could simultaneously be master of the Mediterranean, make it safe by means of a regular presence, and rival the particularly efficient British colonial policy. These hopes did not, however, calm his fears about the direction that colonization had taken, and the tyrannical nature of the French domination in Algeria - fears that were heightened by the appointment of Marshal Bugeaud as Governor-General.

« I hope that this trip will be useful to us and to the country. It would be hard to take a stranger journey. Never in my life have I seen anything more bizarre than my first sight of Algiers. It is like something out of the Thousand and One Nights. »
(Letter to his father, May 12, 1841)

After having researched and analyzed the data relating to the problem of colonization - but without having left France - Tocqueville finally decided in the spring of 1841 to go and see for himself. He set sail on May 4, 1841 from Toulon with his brother Hippolyte and his friend Gustave de Beaumont, and met up in Algiers with Francisque de Corcelle, who was also visiting the colony. After being impressed by the energy that the city seemed to give off   play sound extractlire l'extrait sonore  , Tocqueville visited Sahel and then, from May 15 to 22, traveled with Bugeaud as far as Mostaganem. This stop gave them the chance to meet Lamoricière, a friend of Louis de Kergorlay, whom they questioned at length about the situation of France in Algeria, using their favorite investigative method. At this point, however, Tocqueville's health began to show signs of weakness, and kept him - to his great distress - from accompanying Corcelle and Hippolyte on the military expedition to Tagdempt led by Bugeaud. Beaumont renounced the trip as well in order to look after his friend, and they returned to Algiers, passing through Oran on the way.

see the map

Panorama of Algiers

Panorama of Algiers, anonymous © BNF

Mostaganem

Mostaganem, anonymous
© BNF

Archives

Map of the city of Algiers

Map of the city of Algiers
© CAOM

Map of Algeria

Map of Algeria © CAOM

Travel Notebookaccess to Travel Notebook with Flash

Algerian Journeys

top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

Voyages


L'Algérie

À la découverte de l'Algérie (1841)

Vue de Toulon, départ de l'expédition d'Alger

Vue de Toulon, départ de l'expédition d'Alger, anonyme © BNF

La question de l'Algérie intéresse Tocqueville dès l'époque de sa conquête par la France en 1830, alors que son ami Louis de Kergorlay participe brillamment à la campagne militaire et qu'il décrit minutieusement le déroulement des opérations dans les lettres qu'il lui adresse. Selon Tocqueville, l'enjeu en est essentiel pour le devenir de la France, car l'Algérie représente pour elle une chance de retrouver un peu de sa grandeur perdue : il est en effet très séduit par l'idée que la France puisse à la fois régner en maître sur les eaux de la Méditerranée, les sécuriser par sa présence régulière et rivaliser avec la politique coloniale des Anglais qui est particulièrement efficace. Ces espoirs ne l'empêchent néanmoins pas d'être inquiet de la tournure prise par la colonisation et de craindre le caractère tyrannique de la domination française en Algérie, crainte encore accentuée par la nomination du martial maréchal Bugeaud comme gouverneur général.

« J'espère que ce voyage sera utile à nous et au pays. On n'en saurait faire un plus curieux. Je n'ai jamais rien vu dans ma vie de plus bizarre que le premier aspect d'Alger. C'est un conte des Mille et une Nuits. »
(Lettre à son père, 12 mai 1841)

Après s'être documenté et efforcé d'analyser les données exactes du problème posé par la colonisation mais sans quitter la France, Tocqueville décide finalement au printemps 1841 de se rendre sur place. Il s'embarque par conséquent le 4 mai 1841 à Toulon en compagnie de son frère Hippolyte et de son ami Gustave de Beaumont, et retrouve à Alger Francisque de Corcelle qui visite lui aussi la colonie. Après avoir été impressionné par l'énergie qui se dégage de cette ville   écouter l'extrait sonorelire l'extrait sonore  , Tocqueville visite le Sahel puis, du 15 au 22 mai, accomplit un périple en compagnie de Bugeaud jusqu'à Mostaganem. Cette halte leur donne l'occasion de rencontrer Lamoricière, un ami de Louis de Kergorlay, qu'ils interrogent longuement sur la situation de la France en Algérie, selon la méthode d'investigation qui leur est chère. Mais dès ce moment, la santé de Tocqueville donne quelques signes de faiblesse qui l'empêchent, à son grand désarroi, de suivre avec Corcelle et Hippolyte l'expédition militaire menée sur Tagdempt par Bugeaud. Beaumont, quant à lui, y renonce pour veiller sur son ami. Tous deux regagnent Alger en passant par Oran.

voir la carte

Panorama d'Alger

Panorama d'Alger, anonyme
© BNF

Mostaganem

Mostaganem, anonyme
© BNF

Archives

Plan de la ville d'Alger

Plan de la ville d'Alger
© CAOM

Carte de l'Algérie

Carte de l'Algérie © CAOM

Carnet portatifimage : accéder au module flash carnet

Voyages algériens

Haut de page