Alexis de Tocqueville
CLOSE

"The storm was already almost overhead. We saw several bolts of lightning strike the sea fairly close to us. We were in constant fear of going down. Suddenly a wave caught us broadside and hurled us bodily to one side of the ship. The wave overturned benches and burst into cabins. Frightened people cried out all around us, and a dog, which had taken refuge among some barrels, made the most mournful chord you can imagine with his howls. Our alarm was great, but it lasted only an instant, as the vessel righted itself. . I then looked to the sky . and saw clearly that clouds were gathering for another storm. . This time, I confess, I thought we were done for. . I folded my arms across my chest and began reviewing in my mind the few years I had lived."
(Travels in Sicily)

"We were living in a house perched in the foothills above the road, a short way from Sorrento. From the rooftop terrace you could see Naples and Vesuvius. A glance to the left revealed valleys filled with orange trees, their fruits sparkling in the sun, and sticking out above the trees were domes, belfries, and white villas. The view was magical. What good, fine, noble things I heard him say on that terrace! Later, we took long hikes in the mountains, for, frail as he was, he was a great hiker, and since his natural direction seemed to be to go in a straight line, he did not hesitate to negotiate a hedge, a ditch, or even a wall. We would stop in some beautiful spot with the sea in front of us and the sky of Naples over our heads. Out of breath, we would rest for a time, and our conservations resumed. . Heaven, which has since taken a harsher turn, bestowed its blessing on that winter, which was remarkably fine and mild even by Naples standards. We were able to take our priceless walks nearly every day, and for a few weeks we were joined by a man highly regarded in England and blessed with a tireless energy of mind, Mr. Senior. We would conclude our walks by gathering some of the large violets growing by the wayside to make a big bouquet for Mme de Tocqueville, whose indisposition forced her to remain on the terrace."
(OC, XI, p. 443)

"Suppose that, without resigning the post of magistrate or giving up my rights of seniority, I go to America; fifteen months elapse. Parties take shape in France. One sees clearly which of them is incompatible with the grandeur and tranquility of one's country. Thus one returns with a clear, sharp opinion, free of any commitment to anyone in the world. By itself the trip has plucked you out of the most common class. The knowledge you have acquired of this much-celebrated people further sets you apart from the multitude. You know precisely what a vast republic looks like and why it is workable here and not workable there. . If the moment is ripe, a publication of some sort might alert the public to your existence and focus the attention of the parties on you. If that doesn't happen, well, your trip has at least done you no harm, for you were as obscure in America as you would have been in France, and upon your return home you are just as apt to advance as if you had remained there."
(Letter to Charles Stöffels, November 4, 1830)

"A week ago, the sea was almost still. We made headway, though the wind seemed to have finished. It was a delightful spring evening. Someone proposed dancing. Beaumont went to look for his flute, and we leapt about as gaily as could be. It was a formal ball. If you want to know where our dance hall was located, you'll have to find a map and look for the intersection of the forty-second parallel with the thirty-fourth meridian! The place was somewhere in the vicinity. Man must be a very carefree animal indeed to cavort so with a bottomless abyss beneath his feet, death to the right and left, fore and aft, and nothing over his head but the sky. Of course it's more or less the same in the finest salon of the faubourg Saint-Germain, isn't it? And in any case one can get used to anything."
(Letter to his mother, April 28, 1831)

"At sunrise we approached New York. . We exclaimed in admiration at the sight of the city's environs. Imagine the most beautifully trimmed banks, slopes covered with grass and trees in flower right down to the sea, and, more than that, an incredible number of country houses, no bigger than chocolate boxes but well cared for. On top of that, picture if you can a sea white with sail, and you will have the entrance to New York from the Sound."
(Letter to his mother, April 26, 1831)

"It was truly a beautiful spectacle. A deep silence reigned over the assembly. As the Congress listened to the eloquent indictment of England's injustices and tyranny, a murmur of indignation could be heard in the room. When the speaker invoked the justice of the cause and expressed his generous resolve to liberate America or die trying, an electric current caused all hearts to beat in unison. This was no mere theatrical reenactment, I assure you. In this reading of the promises of independence, so abundantly fulfilled, in this remembrance of the birth of a nation by an entire people, in this union of the present generation with the one that is no longer, but whose generous passions everyone for a moment shared, there was something deeply felt and truly great."
(Letter to Ernest de Chabrol, July 16, 1831)

"A majestic order reigns above us, [. and] when the midday sun bathes the forest in its light, one often hears from its depths a long moan, a plaintive cry that carries a long way. This is the last gasp of the dying wind. Everything around you then subsides into a silence so deep, a stillness so complete, that the soul is gripped by a sort of religious terror. The traveler stops; he looks around. The trees, pressed one against the other, their branches intertwined, seem to form but a single mass, an immense and indestructible edifice, under whose vaults reigns an eternal darkness."
(Two Weeks in the Wilderness)

"Man can get used to anything: to death on the battlefield, to death in hospitals, to killing and suffering. He adapts to every spectacle. An ancient people, the first and legitimate master of the American continent, is melting away with each passing day like snow in the sun, vanishing from the face of the earth. In the same location, taking its place, another race is growing with even more astonishing rapidity. Through its handiwork, forests fall and swamps are drained while lakes as big as oceans and immense rivers vainly oppose its triumphant march. Wildernesses turn into villages and villages into cities. Americans, who witness these miracles daily, are not surprised by any of them. . To them, this incredible destruction and still more surprising growth seem like the normal course of events. They are used to it, as if it were the immutable order of nature."
(Letter to his cousin Eugénie de Grancey, Octobre 10, 1831)

"Thirty years ago, Cincinnati was still forest. This city today resembles no other that I know of. It is more like an outline for a city than a city. Yet in the midst of incomplete buildings one finds a raucous life, and people engaged in rather frenetic activity: such is Cincinnati today. It may no longer be the same tomorrow, because each passing day turns the city into something its own inhabitants no longer recognize."
(Letter to his mother, December 6, 1831)

"As these negotiations were proceeding on the river bank, an infernal music could be heard in the forest. One heard the sound of a drum, the neighing of horses, the barking of dogs. Finally a large band of Indians appeared, elderly men, women, and children, together with their baggage, with a European leading the way. . The poor Indians took their elderly relatives in their arms. The women hoisted their children onto their shoulders. At last the nation moved forward, carrying its greatest treasures with it. It abandoned forever the land on which its forebears had lived for perhaps a thousand years to settle in a wilderness in which the Whites will not leave them in peace for even ten years. Do you see where a high civilization leads? . In this whole spectacle there was an air of ruin and destruction, something that had the flavor of a final, irrevocable farewell. It was impossible to watch without feeling a pang in one's heart. The Indians were calm but somber and taciturn. One spoke English, and I asked him why the Choctaws were leaving their land. 'To be free,' he answered. I couldn't get anything else out of him."
(Letter to his mother, December 25, 1831)

"Our stay in New Orleans was quite interesting and very pleasant. If you meet anyone who tells you that the climate has no influence on a people's constitution, assure them that they're wrong. We saw the French of Canada: they are a tranquil, moral, religious people. In Louisiana we leave behind other Frenchmen, restless, dissolute, and lax in every sense. The two are separated by fifteen degrees of latitude. That is truly the best explanation I can give for the difference. What mores! My dear friend, the customs of Louisiana are those of a region of the South into which slavery has been introduced. It is a picture that confounds the imagination."
(Letter to Ernest de Chabrol, January 16, 1832)

"If you want an idea of man's power to predict future events, you must visit Washington. . Within twenty years Washington was supposed to be at the center of the Union's domestic and foreign commerce. It was said that a million people would soon live there. . The people did not come. . Today, Washington is an arid, sun-baked plain in which two or three sumptuous buildings are scattered, along with five or six villages, which constitute the city."
(Letter to his father, January 24, 1832)

"I arrived in this city last Saturday, the tenth. It would be difficult to describe any of my impressions since setting foot in this immense metropolis. I am constantly dizzy and have a deep sense of my nullity. We were big in America, we are hardly anything in Paris, but I assure you that you would have to go below zero to what mathematicians call the negative numbers to reckon what I amount to here. There are two reasons for this: first, the immensity of this city, which surpasses any image Paris might call to mind, and the host of celebrities one encounters here; second, the place occupied by the aristocracy, something of which I think I had no idea. The position afforded here by fortune coupled with birth still seems a million feet above all the rest here. You will appreciate that I cannot yet say anything about the spirit of the English people. What I can say is that what strikes me most thus far in their mores is their aristocratic exterior. The aristocratic spirit seems to me to reach down into all classes: every marquis wants pages, to put it mildly. In short, I see nothing of our America here. In any event, here I am, wandering about London like a gnat on a millstone."
(Letter to Gustave de Beaumont, August 13, 1833)

"But who could describe those outlying districts that are home to vice and misery, and whose hideous folds encompass the vast palaces of industry? . Yet the unfortunate souls who live in these hovels arouse the envy of certain of their fellow men. Beneath their miserable homes lies a row of cellars, accessible by way of a half-buried corridor. In each of those damp basements twelve to fifteen human creatures live cheek by jowl. You hear the roar of the furnaces and the whistle of steam. The huge factories prevent air and light from entering the human abodes they dominate; they envelop them in a perpetual fog. Here lives the slave, there the master. There, the riches of a few, here the misery of the many. Here, in the middle of this foul sewer, lies the source of the greatest river of human industry that exists, the river that will irrigate the world. Out of this filthy gutter flows pure gold. Here the human mind perfects and numbs itself; her civilization produces its marvels, and civilized man practically turns back into a savage."
(Travels in England and Ireland)

"No matter how hard you try, my dear cousin, I defy you to imagine the misery of this country's people. Every day we visit mud huts with thatched roofs, huts that contain not one stick of furniture, nothing but a pot for boiling potatoes. I would think I was back in the huts of my friends the Iroquois if only there were a hole to let out the smoke. Here the smoke exits through the door, which by my feeble lights gives Iroquois architecture a decided advantage. But I confess that what shocked me most at first was finding a pig living in one of these houses. I have no end of respect for pigs, but I cannot believe that Providence intended to make them man's regular companions. In any case, I can tell you that this close association has had the effect of making pigs noticeably more civilized. The Irish pig eagerly joins his host family in their innocent amusements. It is not uncommon to see the children of the house clinging to his neck. This does not bother the pig at all, and he signals his pleasure by grunting happily. This makes for a charming spectacle, a most touching portrait of rural contentment. If you're not used to it, though, it can be shocking, as I indicated earlier. This is a mistake. In Ireland it's the wealthy who are lucky enough to be able to sleep with a pig. While the animal sprawls happily in the middle of the room, the master of the household gazes on it proudly, and I have so completely accepted this way of looking at things that whenever I seek shelter from the rain, I am careful to choose a house with a pig. If I see only people, I look for another place."
(Letter to his cousin Eugénie de Grancey, July 26, 1835)

"This is a place so bizarre, so different from anything else I've seen, so tumultuous and full of contrasts, that my imagination is still in turmoil and I am not sure what to think or say about it. Imagine a sampling of every race, every manner of dress, and every tongue. Europeans, Asians, Arabs, Moors, Berbers, Negroes-each with his own attitude and all confined in a space too small to hold them, scurrying about the labyrinth of Algiers' streets, where some houses lie in ruins and others are still being built. Imagine this colorful multitude as a swarm and you will still have only an incomplete idea of my first impression of this singular city, which seems, despite the disorder that reigns everywhere, remarkably vital, a picture of chaos from which a world is about to emerge."
(Letter to his wife, May 9, 1841)

"Suppose for a moment that the Emperor of China were to land in France at the head of a powerful army and conquer our largest cities and our capital. Suppose, further, that after destroying all our public records without bothering to read them, he were to shut down or disperse all our government bureaus without asking what they did, and arrest all our officials from the head of state down to the game warden, including all our senators and representatives and the whole ruling class, and deport them all at once to some remote country. Wouldn't this great prince, despite his powerful army, his fortresses, and his riches, soon find himself in great difficulty in his efforts to administer the country he had conquered? Wouldn't his new subjects, deprived of all who had led or might be capable of leading them, prove to be incapable of governing themselves, while he, having arrived from the antipodes and being unfamiliar with the religion, the language, the laws, the habits, and the administrative customs of the country, and having dispatched all who might have been able to teach him about these things, would find himself in no position to rule? You will have no trouble, I trust, seeing that while the parts of France physically occupied by the conqueror would obey him, anarchy would soon overtake the rest of the country. . In Algeria we did exactly what I have assumed the Emperor of China would do in France."
(Second Letter on Algeria)

"Imagine if you will a rather deep ravine, to the top of which cling three or four houses inhabited by bathers. At the bottom of the ravine, a torrent roars over a bed of rocks, fed by any number of small streams of hot water, which people have obliged to flow through pipes and eventually to emerge through faucets. Immerse all this in a tepid and slightly sulphurous atmosphere and you will have a fairly accurate picture of this place. You no doubt pity me already, and I confess that I would regard myself as pitiable if I had not, before leaving Paris, tossed into the bottom of my chest a certain number of books chosen at random, which I am pleased to find now that I am here."
(Letter to Royer-Collard, August 25, 1836)

Alexis de Tocqueville
FERMER

"Déjà l'orage était presque sur nos têtes. Plusieurs fois nous avions vu le tonnerre tomber dans la mer assez près de nous. A chaque instant nous craignions de sombrer. Tout à coup une vague nous prend en travers et nous jette entièrement sur le côté. La lame renverse les bancs, pénètre dans les cabines ; des cris affreux s'élèvent de toutes parts ; et un chien, qui s'était réfugié entre des tonnes, poussa un hurlement qui forma l'accord le plus lugubre qu'on puisse imaginer. L'alarme fut vive, mais ne dura qu'un instant ; le vaisseau se remit sur sa quille. [...] J'examinai alors le ciel [...] et je vis clairement qu'un nouvel orage s'annonçait. [...] Cette fois, je l'avoue je crus que nous étions perdus sans ressource. [...] Je croisai mes bras sur ma poitrine et je me mis à repasser dans mon esprit le peu d'années que j'avais vécues."
(Voyage en Sicile)

"Nous habitions une maison située au-dessus de la route, un peu avant Sorrente, sur les premières pentes de la montagne ; d'un toit en terrasse, l'on voyait Naples et le Vésuve ; à gauche, l'œil plongeait dans des vallons remplis d'orangers, dont les fruits étincelaient au soleil et d'où sortaient des dômes, des clochers, de blanches villas ; c'était une perspective enchantée. Que de choses bonnes, fines, élevées je lui ai entendu dire sur cette terrasse ! Puis nous faisions de longues promenades à pied dans la montagne, car, tout frêle qu'il était, il était grand marcheur ; et, pour suivre la ligne droite qui semblait sa direction naturelle, il franchissait au besoin une haie, un fossé, un mur parfois. Nous nous arrêtions dans quelque bel endroit, ayant en face de nous la mer et le ciel de Naples sur nos têtes. Alors, essoufflés, nous nous reposions quelques moments, et les entretiens recommençaient. Cet hiver-là, par une bénédiction du ciel, qui depuis s'est montré plus rigoureux, fut un hiver remarquablement beau et doux, même pour le climat de Naples. Presque chaque jour, nous pûmes faire ces promenades sans prix à nos yeux, auxquelles vint se joindre, pendant quelques semaines, un homme fort considéré en Angleterre, et d'un entrain d'esprit infatigable, M. Senior. Nos promenades se terminaient en faisant, des larges violettes qui croissaient au bord des chemins, un gros bouquet pour Mme de Tocqueville, retenue sur sa terrasse, où une faiblesse de santé la confinait."
(OC, XI, p. 443)

"Supposez que, sans cesser d'être magistrat et de faire courir mes droits d'ancienneté, je passe en Amérique ; quinze mois s'écoulent. Les partis se dessinent en France ; on voit clairement quel est celui qui est incompatible avec la grandeur et la tranquillité de son pays ; on revient donc avec une opinion nette et prononcée et libre de tout engagement avec qui que ce soit au monde. Ce voyage, à lui seul, vous a tiré de la classe la plus vulgaire. Les connaissances que vous avez acquises chez un peuple si célèbre achèvent de vous sortir de la foule. Vous savez ce que c'est au juste qu'une vaste République, pourquoi elle est praticable ici, impraticable là. [...] Si le moment est favorable, une publication quelconque peut avertir le public de votre existence et fixer sur vous l'attention des partis. Si cela n'arrive pas, eh bien votre voyage au moins ne vous a pas nui, car vous avez été obscur en Amérique comme vous l'eussiez été en France et au retour dans votre pays vous êtes tout aussi apte à avancer que si vous étiez resté."
(Lettre à Charles Stöffels, 4 novembre 1830)

"Il y a huit jours, la mer était presque immobile ; nous marchions cependant, mais sans qu'il semblât faire un souffle de vent : c'était une délicieuse soirée de printemps. On proposa de danser ; Beaumont alla chercher sa flûte et nous sautâmes le plus gaiement du monde. C'était un bal en règle. Si vous voulez savoir où était en ce moment la salle de danse, il faut chercher sur la carte le point de section que forme le quarante-deuxième degré de latitude avec le trente-quatrième degré de longitude ! C'est là, ou aux environs, que se trouve la place. Il faut que l'homme soit un animal bien insouciant du lendemain pour pouvoir cabrioler ainsi, avec un abîme sans fond sous les pieds, la mort à droite, à gauche, en arrière et en avant, et rien que la calotte du ciel sur la tête. Après tout, n'en est-il pas de même à peu près dans le salon le mieux bâti du faubourg Saint-Germain ? Et puis on s'accoutume à tout. [...]"
(Lettre à sa mère, 28 avril 1831)

"Au lever du soleil, nous nous approchâmes de New York. Je ne sais si l'aspect peu séduisant du pays que nous avions déjà vu et nos trente-cinq jours de mer nous faisaient illusion, mais ce qu'il y a de certain c'est que nous fîmes des cris d'admiration en apercevant les environs de la ville. Imaginez-vous les rivages les plus heureusement découpés, des pentes couvertes de gazon et d'arbres en fleurs qui descendent jusqu'à la mer ; et plus que tout cela, une multitude incroyable de maisons de campagne, grandes comme des bonbonnières, mais d'un travail aussi soigné. Ajoutez à cela, si vous pouvez, une mer couverte de voiles, et vous aurez l'entrée de New York du côté de Sound."
(Lettre à sa mère, 26 avril 1831)

"Ce fut vraiment là un beau spectacle ; un profond silence régnait sur l'assemblée. Quand, dans son plaidoyer éloquent, le Congrès retraçait les injustices et la tyrannie de l'Angleterre, on entendait un murmure d'indignation et de colère circuler autour de nous dans l'auditoire. Quand il en appelait à la justice de la cause et exprimait la résolution généreuse de succomber ou d'affranchir l'Amérique, il semblait qu'un mouvement électrique faisait vibrer les cœurs. Ce n'était point là, je vous assure, une représentation théâtrale. Il y avait dans la lecture de ces promesses d'indépendance si bien tenues, dans ce retour de tout un peuple vers les souvenirs de sa naissance, dans cette union de la génération présente à celle qui n'est plus, et dont, pour un moment, elle partageait toutes les passions généreuses, il y avait dans tout cela quelque chose de profondément senti et de vraiment grand."
(Lettre à Ernest de Chabrol, 16 juillet 1831)

"Un ordre majestueux règne au-dessus de votre tête [. et] lorsque au milieu du jour le soleil darde ses rayons sur la forêt, on entend souvent retentir dans ses profondeurs comme un long gémissement, un cri plaintif qui se prolonge au loin. C'est le dernier effort du vent qui expire. Tout rentre alors autour de vous dans un silence si profond, une immobilité si complète que l'âme se sent pénétrée d'une sorte de terreur religieuse. Le voyageur s'arrête ; il regarde : pressés les uns contre les autres, entrelacés dans leurs rameaux, les arbres de la forêt semblent ne former qu'un tout, un édifice immense et indestructible, sous les voûtes duquel règne une obscurité éternelle."
(Quinze jours dans le désert)

"L'homme s'accoutume à tout. À la mort sur les champs de bataille, à la mort dans les hôpitaux, à tuer et à souffrir. Il se fait à tous les spectacles. Un peuple antique, le premier et le légitime maître du continent américain, fond chaque jour comme la neige aux rayons du soleil et disparaît à vue d'œil de la surface de la terre. Dans les mêmes lieux et à sa place, une autre race grandit avec une rapidité plus étonnante encore. Par elle les forêts tombent, les marais se dessèchent ; des lacs semblables à des mers, des fleuves immenses s'opposent en vain à sa marche triomphante. Les déserts deviennent des villages, des villages deviennent des villes. Témoin journalier de ces merveilles, l'Américain ne voit dans tout cela rien qui l'étonne. [...] Cette incroyable destruction, cet accroissement plus surprenant encore lui paraît la marche habituelle des événements de ce monde. Il s'y accoutume comme à l'ordre immuable de la nature."
(Lettre à sa cousine Eugénie de Grancey, 10 octobre 1831)

"Le lieu où est situé Cincinnati était encore couvert de forêts il y a trente ans. Le spectacle que présente aujourd'hui cette ville ne ressemble à rien que je connaisse, tout y ressent la précipitation de l'accroissement : de belles maisons et des chaumières, des rues à peine pavées, imparfaitement alignées, encombrées de matériaux de construction ; des places sans nom, des maisons sans numéro, en un mot une ébauche de ville plutôt qu'une ville. Mais au milieu de ces édifices imparfaits, un bruit de vie, une population dont l'activité a quelque chose de fébrile : voilà Cincinnati aujourd'hui. Peut-être ne sera-t-il plus ainsi demain ; car chaque jour le rend méconnaissable à ses propres habitants."
(Lettre à sa mère du 6 décembre 1831).

"Comme on parlementait ainsi sur le rivage, on entendit une musique infernale retentir dans la forêt ; c'était un bruit de tambour, de hennissements de chevaux, d'aboiements de chiens. On vit enfin paraître une grande troupe d'Indiens, vieillards, femmes, enfants, bagages, le tout conduit par un Européen. Les pauvres Indiens prennent leurs vieux parents dans leurs bras ; les femmes chargent leurs enfants sur leurs épaules ; la nation se met enfin en marche, emportant avec elle ses plus grandes richesses. Elle abandonne pour toujours le sol sur lequel, depuis mille ans peut-être, ont vécu ses pères, pour aller s'établir dans un désert où les Blancs ne la laisseront pas dix ans en paix. Remarquez-vous les résultats d'une haute civilisation ?. Il y avait, dans l'ensemble de ce spectacle, un air de ruine et de destruction, quelque chose qui sentait un adieu final et sans retour ; on ne pouvait y assister sans avoir le cœur serré ; les Indiens étaient tranquilles, mais sombres et taciturnes. Il y en avait un qui savait l'anglais et auquel je demandai pourquoi les Chactas quittaient leur pays. " Pour être libres ", me répondit-il ". Je ne pus jamais en tirer autre chose."
(Lettre à sa mère, 25 décembre 1831)

"Le séjour de La Nouvelle-Orléans. a été fort curieux et fort agréable. Quand vous verrez des gens qui vous diront que le climat ne fait rien sur la constitution des peuples, assurez-les qu'ils se trompent. Nous avons vu les Français du Canada : c'est un peuple tranquille, moral, religieux ; nous quittons à la Louisiane d'autres Français, inquiets, dissolus, relâchés en toutes choses. Il y a entre eux quinze degrés de latitude : c'est en vérité la meilleure raison que je puisse donner de la différence. Quelles mœurs ! mon cher ami, ce sont celles d'un pays du Sud où l'esclavage est introduit. C'est un tableau qui confond l'imagination."
(Lettre à Ernest de Chabrol, 16 janvier 1832)

"Si l'on veut avoir une idée de la puissance que possèdent les hommes pour calculer les événements à venir, il faut visiter Washington. Washington devait se trouver en vingt ans, à la tête du commerce intérieur et extérieur de l'Union. On lui promettait un million d'habitants, qui devaient arriver sous peu. La population ne vint point . Aujourd'hui, Washington offre l'image d'une plaine aride et brûlée par le soleil, sur laquelle se trouvent dispersés deux ou trois somptueux édifices et cinq ou six villages qui composent la ville."
(Lettre à son père, 24 janvier 1832)

"Je suis arrivé dans cette ville samedi dernier 10. Il me serait difficile de vous rien dire sur les impressions que j'éprouve depuis que j'ai mis le pied dans cette immense métropole. C'est un étourdissement continuel et un sentiment profond de ma nullité. Nous étions beaucoup en Amérique, nous ne sommes guère à Paris, mais je vous assure qu'il faut arriver au-dessous de zéro et prendre ce que les mathématiciens appellent les nombres négatifs pour compter ce que je suis ici. Ceci tient à deux causes : d'abord à l'immensité de cette ville qui dépasse tout ce que Paris a pu faire imaginer, et à la multitude de célébrités diverses qui s'y rencontrent ; secondement à la place qu'y occupe l'aristocratie ; chose dont il me semble que je n'avais pas d'idée. La position que donne la fortune jointe à la naissance me paraît être ici encore ici à un million de pieds au-dessus de tout le reste. Vous sentez que je ne puis parler encore de l'esprit du peuple anglais ; ce que je puis dire, c'est que ce qui me frappe le plus jusqu'à présent dans les mœurs, est leur extérieur aristocratique. L'esprit aristocratique me paraît descendu dans toutes classes, tout marquis veut avoir des pages, c'est le cas de le dire. En somme, je ne reconnais en aucun point ici notre Amérique. Quoi qu'il en soit, me voilà errant sur la surface de Londres comme un moucheron sur une meule de foin."
(Lettre à Gustave de Beaumont, 13 août 1833)

"Mais qui pourrait décrire l'intérieur de ces quartiers placés à l'écart, réceptacles du vice et de la misère, et qui enveloppent et serrent de leurs hideux replis les vastes palais de l'industrie ? . Cependant les êtres infortunés qui occupent ces réduits excitent encore l'envie de quelques-uns de leurs semblables. Au-dessous de leurs misérables demeures se trouve une rangée de caves à laquelle conduit un corridor demi-souterrain. Dans chacun de ces lieux humides et repoussants sont entassés pêle-mêle douze ou quinze créatures humaines. . Levez la tête, et tout autour de cette place, vous verrez s'élever les immenses palais de l'industrie. Vous entendrez le bruit des fourneaux, les sifflements de la vapeur. Ces vastes demeures empêchent l'air et la lumière de pénétrer dans les demeures humaines qu'elles dominent, elles les enveloppent d'un perpétuel brouillard ; ici est l'esclave, là le maître. Là, les richesses de quelques-uns ; ici, la misère du plus grand nombre. C'est au milieu de ce cloaque infect que le plus grand fleuve de l'industrie humaine prend sa source et va féconder l'univers. De cet égout immonde, l'or pur s'écoule. C'est là que l'esprit humain se perfectionne et s'abrutit, que la civilisation produit ses merveilles et que l'homme civilisé redevient presque sauvage."
(Voyage en Angleterre et en Irlande)

"Je vous défie, ma chère cousine, quelques efforts d'imagination que vous fassiez, de vous figurer la misère de la population de ce pays. Nous entrons tous les jours dans des maisons de boue, couvertes en chaumes, qui ne contiennent pas un seul meuble, sinon une marmite pour cuire les pommes de terre. Je me croirais revenu dans les huttes de mes amis les Iroquois, si je voyais un trou préparé pour laisser passer la fumée ; ici la fumée sort par la porte, ce qui donne un avantage décidé, selon mes faibles lumières, à l'architecture iroquoise. Mais je confesse que ce qui me choquait le plus dans le commencement était de trouver un cochon établi au milieu de la famille. Je respecte infiniment les cochons, mais je ne puis croire que les vues de la providence aient été d'en faire les compagnons habituels de l'homme. Du reste je vous dirai que de cette société résulte un progrès sensible dans la civilisation du cochon. Le cochon irlandais se prête aux jeux innocents de la famille de son hôte avec une aménité parfaite. Il n'est pas rare de voir les enfants de la maison pendus à [son] cou. Loin de s'en indigner, il témoigne sa satisfaction par un grognement plein de douceur. C'est un spectacle charmant. Un tableau très touchant du bonheur champêtre. Mais quand on n'y est pas habitué, il vous choque, comme [je] le disais tout à l'heure. On a tort. Ce sont les riches en Irlande qui sont en état de coucher avec un cochon. Quand il se vautre complaisamment au milieu de la chambre, le maître de la maison le considère avec orgueil et je suis si bien entré moi-même dans ce sentiment que quand je veux chercher un abri contre la pluie, j'ai bien soin de choisir un appartement où se trouve un cochon. Quand je n'aperçois que des hommes, je vais ailleurs."
(Lettre à sa cousine Eugénie de Grancey, 26 juillet 1835)

"C'est un lieu si bizarre, si différent de tout ce que j'ai vu, si tumultueux et si plein de contrastes que j'en ai encore moi-même l'imagination toute troublée et que je ne sais trop qu'en penser et qu'en dire. Imagine-toi un échantillon de toutes les races, de tous les costumes, de toutes les langues, Européens, Asiatiques, Arabes, Maures, Kabyles, Nègres, chacun avec son attitude propre et tous renfermés dans un lieu trop petit pour les contenir, s'agitant au milieu du labyrinthe des rues d'Alger, parmi des maisons en ruine et d'autres qui s'élèvent ; figure-toi le grouillement de toute cette multitude bigarrée et tu n'auras encore qu'une idée incomplète de la première vue de cette ville singulière qui, au milieu du désordre qui y règne, semble pourtant douée d'une vitalité singulière et présente l'image d'un chaos dont un monde va sortir."
(Lettre à son épouse, 9 mai 1841)

"Je suppose, Monsieur, pour un moment que l'Empereur de Chine, débarquant en France à la tête d'une puissante armée, se rende maître de nos plus grandes villes et de notre capitale. Et qu'après avoir anéanti tous les registres publics avant même de s'être donné la peine de les lire, détruit ou dispersé toutes les administrations sans s'être enquis de leurs attributions diverses, il s'empare enfin de tous les fonctionnaires depuis le chef du gouvernement jusqu'aux gardes-champêtres, des pairs, des députés et en général de toute la classe dirigeante; et qu'il les déporte tous à la fois dans quelque contrée lointaine. Ne pensez-vous pas que ce grand prince, malgré sa puissante armée, ses forteresses et ses trésors, se trouvera bientôt fort embarrassé pour administrer le pays conquis; que ses nouveaux sujets, privés de tous ceux qui menaient ou pouvaient mener les affaires, seront incapables de se gouverner eux-mêmes, tandis que lui, qui, venant des antipodes, ne connaît ni la religion, ni la langue, ni les lois, ni les habitudes, ni les usages administratifs du pays, et qui a pris soin d'éloigner tous ceux qui auraient pu l'en instruire, sera hors d'état de les diriger. Vous n'aurez donc pas de peine à prévoir, Monsieur, que si les parties de la France qui sont matériellement occupées par le vainqueur lui obéiront, le reste du pays sera bientôt livré à une immense anarchie. [...] Nous avons fait en Algérie précisément ce que je supposais que l'Empereur de la Chine ferait en France."
(Seconde lettre sur l'Algérie)

"Figurez-vous, je vous prie, monsieur, un ravin assez profond sur lequel pendent trois ou quatre maisons habitées par des baigneurs ; au fond, un torrent qui roule très bruyamment sur des cailloux et vers lequel accourent de tous côtés de petits ruisseaux d'eau chaude qu'on force de passer à travers des conduites et de sortir enfin par des robinets ; entourez tout cela d'une atmosphère tiède et légèrement sulfureuse et vous aurez un tableau assez exact du lieu. Vous me plaignez déjà, et j'avoue que je me considèrerais moi-même comme à plaindre, si, en partant de Paris, je n'avais jeté à tous hasards au fond de ma malle un certain nombre de livres que je retrouve ici avec plaisir."
(Lettre à Royer-Collard, 25 août 1836)