main menu - summary - content - site map - politique d'accessibilité

Portraits


His wife, Marie Mottley

Life together

Portrait of Alexis de Tocqueville dedicated to his wife in 1844 by Théodore Chassériau

Portrait of Alexis de Tocqueville dedicated to his wife in 1844 by Théodore Chassériau; Paris, Musée Carnavalet
© PMVP/Ladet

Although Marie Mottley kept her character a secret - in particular by destroying those of her letters to Alexis that he had kept - we know a few things about the considerable role she played in Alexis's life. She looked after all of the practical aspects of their life together, and it was she who held the purse strings, to the point that her husband referred to her as a particularly strict "finance minister". It was also Marie who oversaw all of the renovation work done at the chateau de Tocqueville, where she often spent more time than Alexis, when he had to go to Paris because of parliamentary duties. Nevertheless, Marie Mottley bore their lengthy separations with difficulty, which made her fear, sometimes with reason, her husband's infidelity, and which fed extreme crises of jealousy in her.

« Oh! That is your great talent, Mary: you always reconcile me with the world and with myself. »
(Letter to Mary Mottley, July 1832)

To protect herself against such risks, she often accompanied her husband in his various travels; this was the case during his second trip to Algeria. Over time, the couple appeared more and more united, and the absence of children did not seem to undermine this relationship that was founded on a deep complicity.

« You alone have the key to my soul, and without you I truly would not want to live. Without you the world would be a wasteland, in which I would find myself as lonely as the first man. There would be no one left who spoke my language, and I would be forced to live alone with myself. »
(Letter to Mary Mottley,
August 8, 1844)

Both of them had fragile constitutions, and watched over one another with tenderness and patience, redoubling their precautions and attentions, as can been seen in the tenderness which fills every letter that he wrote her. Although this tenderness was sometimes meant to temper her difficult nature, the few lines addressed to her in his will suffice to convince us that she was absolutely his most faithful and continuous support that he had ever known.

La confidence, plaster sculpture, Jean-Baptise Carpeaux

La confidence, plaster sculpture, Jean-Baptise Carpeaux; Valenciennes, Musée des Beaux Arts
© RMN /René-Gabriel Ojéda/ Thierry le Mage

Study of the bust of a woman, head three quarters to the right, arms crossed, Théodore Chassériau

Study of the bust of a woman, head three quarters to the right, arms crossed, Théodore Chassériau; Paris, Musée du Louvre
© RMN/Michèle Bellot

Archives

Will of Alexis de Tocqueville

Will of Alexis de Tocqueville
© CHAN

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

Portraits


Son épouse, Marie Mottley

La vie à deux

Portrait d'Alexis de Tocqueville dédié à sa femme en 1844 par Théodore Chassériau

Portrait d'Alexis de Tocqueville par Théodore Chassériau ; Paris, musée Carnavalet
© PMVP / Ladet

Bien que Marie Mottley ait su garder le secret de sa personnalité - notamment en détruisant les lettres que son époux avait gardées d'elle - on possède quelques certitudes sur le rôle considérable qui est le sien aux côtés d'Alexis. Elle est en effet en charge de toutes les tâches pratiques de leur vie privée : c'est elle qui tient les cordons de la bourse au point de s'avérer selon son mari un "ministre des finances" particulièrement rigoureux. C'est également elle qui dirige tous les travaux d'aménagements entrepris dans le château de Tocqueville, où elle réside souvent plus longuement que lui quand ce dernier doit rentrer à Paris en raison de son activité parlementaire. Marie Mottley supporte néanmoins difficilement leurs longues séparations, qui lui font craindre, parfois avec raison, l'infidélité de son époux et qui alimentent chez elle de profondes crises de jalousie.

« Ah ! c'est là votre grand art, Marie, vous me réconciliez toujours avec le monde et avec
moi-même. »
(Lettre à Marie Mottley, juillet 1832)

Pour parer de tels risques, elle choisit même parfois d'accompagner son mari dans ses diverses pérégrinations, comme c'est le cas lors de son second voyage en Algérie. Leur couple présente donc, au fur et à mesure du temps qui passe, l'image d'une union de plus en plus soudée, que l'absence d'enfants ne semble pas avoir ébranlée et qui est fondée sur une immense complicité.

« Toi seule as la clef de mon âme et [...] sans toi, en vérité, je ne voudrais pas vivre. Sans toi le monde serait un désert où je me trouverais aussi isolé que le premier homme. Personne n'y parlerait plus ma langue et je serait contraint à ne plus vivre qu'en face de moi-même. »
(Lettre à Marie Mottley,
8 août 1844)

Tous deux de constitutions fragiles, ils veillent ainsi avec douceur et patience l'un sur l'autre, multipliant les précautions et les attentions, comme le montre la tendresse qui baigne toutes les lettres qu'il lui adresse. Si celle-ci était parfois destinée à tempérer son caractère difficile, les quelques lignes laissées à son attention dans son testament doivent nous convaincre qu'elle fut assurément le soutien le plus fidèle et le plus permanent de toute son existence.

La confidence, sculpture en plâtre, Jean-Baptise Carpeaux

La confidence, sculpture en plâtre, Jean-Baptise Carpeaux © RMN /René-Gabriel Ojéda/Thierry le Mage

Étude d'un femme vue en buste, la tête de trois quarts à droite, les bras croisés par Théodore Chassériau

Étude d'un femme vue en buste, la tête de trois quarts à droite, les bras croisés, Théodore Chassériau ; Paris, musée du Louvre
© RMN/Michèle Bellot

Archives

Testament d'Alexis de Tocqueville © CHAN

Testament d'Alexis de Tocqueville
© CHAN

Haut de page