main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Portraits


His family

His father, Hervé de Tocqueville: A great servant of the State under the Restoration

The count of Tocqueville

The count Hervé Bonaventure Clérel de Tocqueville
© AD Manche/Poirier

Under the First Empire, Hervé de Tocqueville's convictions kept him from the career of statesman that he had wanted. Beginning in 1804, he had to content himself with the office of mayor of Verneuil-sur-Seine, whose very local prerogatives were, to his way of thinking, much closer to feudalism than any delegation of centralized power. His hostility to the Napoleonic regime was evident, for example, when he performed nineteen hasty marriages in a row, thus allowing the young grooms to avoid conscription. It was said that he acted as an informer for the Count d'Artois. When Napoleon I fell, he seized the opportunity to play a role in the establishment of a new power by joining, along with his son Hippolyte the Horse Guard, in order to be able to take part in royalist rallies in favor of the restoration of the Bourbons.

« My father has just been elevated to the peerage. Four years ago he wanted this badly, and asked for it. Now that he no longer seeks it, he finds himself included in the group. So goes the world. He expressed his disapproval of the measure before it was taken. He has not changed his mind since, and I am convinced that he was right. »
(Letter to Louis de Kergorlay,
November 23, 1827)

On June 18, 1814, he was appointed Prefect of Maine-et-Loire, due in particular to his being the son-in-law of Monsieur de Malesherbes. This marked the beginning of his brilliant career as a prefect under the Restoration, interrupted only by the return of Napoleon during the Hundred Days, which forced him to quite his post and find refuge with his family at Lannion and then at Caen. After Waterloo, the royal power decided not to reappoint him to Angers, and instead named him Prefect of the Côte-d'Or on January 31, 1816, and then Prefect of Moselle on March 25, 1817. He remained in Metz for more than six years, which gave him time to complete the reforms he had undertaken, and for his administration to leave a lasting mark - both politically as well as economically. It was only in 1823, and against his wishes, that the administration brought him closer to Paris (and his spouse), in compliance with an old request that he had himself drawn up, and that had been supported by a petition of the marquis de Rosanbo, his brother-in-law.

The Saint-Etienne Cathedral in Metz

The Saint-Etienne Cathedral in Metz
© Bibliothèque de Metz

The Metz battlements

The Metz battlements
© Bibliothèque de Metz
















Reluctantly, he left the Moselle for the Somme, a department that pleased him little, and in 1826, he finally obtained the post that he had always desired: the very prestigious post of Prefect of Seine-et-Oise. He only occupied this position for a short time, however, as he was named a peer of France on November 4, 1827. A peerage was as unexciting to him as the post of Prefect of Versailles, to the point that his son admitted that he voiced his disappointment even before the nomination had become effective. Nevertheless, he took his new role very seriously, and frequently held the floor to deal with economic and political problems, and in 1829 published a brochure, De la Charte provinciale, in which he expressed his personal position on municipal and departmental law that he had helped to establish as a member of the commission dealing with such matters. But the Revolution of 1830 stripped him of his peerage, as well as any desire to take part in public life.

Archives

Letter dated May 17, 1812 from Hervé de Tocqueville, Mayor of Verneuil-sur-Seine

Letter dated May 17, 1812 from Hervé de Tocqueville, Mayor of Verneuil-sur-Seine
© AD Yvelines

Prefect of Maine-et-Loire

Prefect of Maine-et-Loire
© AD Maine-et-Loire

Prefect of the Somme

Prefect of the Somme
© AD Somme

Prefect of the Somme

Prefect of the Somme
© AD Somme

Prefect of the Seine-et-Oise

Prefect of the Seine-et-Oise
© AD Yvelines

Elévation to the peerage

Elévation to the peerage, private collection
© AD Manche/Poirier

Administrative description of Hervé de Tocqueville at the moment of his taking office

Administrative description of Hervé de Tocqueville at the moment of his taking office
© CHAN

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

Portraits


Sa famille

Son père, Hervé de Tocqueville : un grand serviteur de l'État sous la Restauration

Le comte de Tocqueville

Le comte Hervé Bonaventure Clérel de Tocqueville
© AD Manche / Poirier

Les convictions d'Hervé de Tocqueville l'empêchent de commencer sous le Premier Empire la carrière d'homme d'État qu'il souhaite. Tout juste se borne-t-il à exercer à partir de 1804 la charge de maire de Verneuil-sur-Seine, dont les prérogatives très locales relèvent à ses yeux davantage de l'ancienne féodalité que de la délégation d'un pouvoir central. Son hostilité au régime napoléonien se vérifie par exemple lorsqu'il célèbre, en toute hâte, dix-neuf mariages successifs pour permettre aux jeunes mariés d'échapper à la conscription.

« Voilà mon père arrivé à la pairie. Il l'a vivement désirée et demandée il y a quatre ans. Aujourd'hui il ne la sollicite point et s'est trouvé englobé dans la fournée. Voilà bien l'histoire de ce monde. Il a exprimé sa désapprobation de la mesure, avant qu'on l'eût prise ; il n'a pas changé d'opinion depuis et je suis convaincu qu'il avait raison. »
(Lettre à Louis de Kergorlay,
23 novembre 1827)


On lui prête même des activités clandestines d'informateur du comte d'Artois et, dès la chute de Napoléon Ier, il saisit l'occasion de prendre part à l'instauration d'un nouveau pouvoir lorsqu'il s'inscrit, en compagnie de son fils Hippolyte, dans la garde à cheval, pour participer aux manifestations royalistes en faveur de la restauration des Bourbons. Grâce notamment à son titre de petit-gendre de M. de Malesherbes, il est ensuite nommé préfet de Maine-et-Loire le 18 juin 1814. C'est ainsi que commence sa brillante carrière de préfet sous la Restauration qui, jusqu'en 1827, ne sera interrompue que par le retour de Napoléon durant les Cent-Jours qui le contraint à quitter son poste et à trouver refuge avec sa famille à Lannion puis à Caen. Après Waterloo, le pouvoir royal choisit de ne pas le renommer à Angers et de lui attribuer le 13 juillet 1815 le poste de préfet de l'Oise, qu'il n'occupe que sept mois. Il est ensuite nommé successivement préfet de la Côte-d'Or le 31 janvier 1816, puis de la Moselle où il s'installe le 25 mars 1817. Il reste plus de six ans à Metz, ce qui lui permet de mener à leur terme les réformes qu'il entreprend et de marquer d'une empreinte durable son administration, aussi bien au niveau politique qu'au niveau économique. Ce n'est qu'en 1823, et malgré lui, que l'administration le rapproche de Paris (et donc de son épouse), conformément à une ancienne demande qu'il avait lui-même formulée et qui fut également appuyée par une requête du marquis de Rosanbo, son beau-frère.

Cathédrale saint-Etienne de Metz

Cathédrale saint-Etienne de Metz
© Bibliothèque de Metz

Remparts de Metz

Remparts de Metz
© Bibliothèque de Metz
















Il quitte à contre-cœur la Moselle pour la Somme, département qui ne lui plait guère et, en 1826, obtient finalement le poste qu'il a toujours désiré, à savoir le très prestigieux poste de préfet de Seine-et-Oise. Il ne l'occupe cependant que peu de temps, puisqu'il est nommé pair de France le 4 novembre 1827. La pairie ne le séduit pourtant plus autant que le poste de préfet de Versailles, à tel point que son fils avoue qu'il aurait désapprouvé sa nomination avant qu'elle ne soit effective. Il prend cependant son nouveau rôle très au sérieux, monte fréquemment à la tribune pour traiter de problèmes économiques ou politiques et publie en 1829 une brochure intitulée De la Charte provinciale, où il expose sa position personnelle sur la loi municipale et départementale qu'il a contribué à créer en tant que membre de la commission idoine. Mais la révolution de 1830 le prive de son titre de pair, et lui ôte tout désir de prendre part à la vie publique.

Archives

Lettre du maire de Verneuil, 17 mai 1812

Lettre du maire de Verneuil, 17 mai 1812
© AD Yvelines

Préfet du Maine-et-Loire durant les cent jours

Préfet du Maine-et-Loire durant les Cent jours
© AD Maine-et-Loire

Préfet de la Somme

Préfet de la Somme
© AD Somme

Préfet de la Somme

Préfet de la Somme
© AD Somme

Préfet de Seine-et-Oise

Préfet de Seine-et-Oise
© AD Yvelines

L'élévation à la pairie

L'élévation à la pairie ; Collection privée
© AD Manche / Poirier

Descriptif du majorat d'Hervé de Tocqueville

Descriptif du majorat d'Hervé de Tocqueville
© CHAN

Haut de page