main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Portraits


His family

His brothers: Édouard

Edouard de Tocqueville as a young man

Edouard de Tocqueville as a young man
© AD Manche/A. Poirier

Edouard was clearly the brother to whom Alexis felt the closest. He was only five years older and though he had, like Hippolyte, embarked on a military career at the beginning of the Restoration, he was obliged to resign in 1822 due to poor health, a condition he shared with Alexis. He overcame this setback by a successful bourgeois marriage to Alexandrine Ollivier, whom he married in June 1829. She was none other than the daughter of "baron" Ollivier, the governor the Banque de France, who was also a deputy and then a peer under the Restoration. This marriage brought him an immense fortune and made him the overseer of an enormous agricultural domain in the Oise: the domaine de Baugy. Edouard willingly threw himself into dealing with questions of agronomy and horticulture.

« His five children, eight grandchildren, a wife in the saddest of conditions, fish, leeches, and good works fill his life so completely that it would in a sense be stealing his soul to take him away from his home. »
(Letter to Gustave de Beaumont, December 24, 1858)

But what brought Edouard and Alexis together was a sort of intellectual complicity, which ended only at the establishment of the Second Empire, when Edouard decided - against the advice of his brother, who was determined to leave political life - to stand for office in the Legislature.

Family portrait (detail of Edouard and his mother)

Family portrait; Anonymous, private collection
© AD Manche/A. Poirier

Photographic portrait of Edouard de Tocqueville

Photographic portrait of Edouard de Tocqueville
© AD Manche/A. Poirier

The conflict erupted violently, and Alexis de Tocqueville condemned and rejected his elder brother's actions in no uncertain terms. Nevertheless, the ultimate defeat of Edouard's candidacy quickly smoothed things over.

« Nothing-not the destruction of liberty or my renunciation of public life or my country's debasement or my friends' exile or self-imposed banishment-has ever caused me as much bitterness as this profound disagreement between us. »
(Letter to Edouard, Feburary 14, 1852, Tocqueville Archives)

Of the three brothers, Edouard was thus the only one to have not managed to hold public office, but he was also the only one to have founded a family, on which he lavished great attention. Alexis sometimes spoke ironically of the large role that family matters played in the life of his brother, even though he willingly considered this family as his own. Of his five nieces and nephews, he felt particularly close to the eldest, Hubert, who was also his godson, and to whom he enjoyed giving profuse "paternal" advice to help him select a career and a wife. Alexis seems to have considered Hubert his spiritual heir, and saw him as the one who would carry on the family tradition.

Archives

Admission to the Maison Militaire du Roi

Admission to the Maison Militaire du Roi, 1816
© Archives de l'armée de terre

Note from the First Bureau concerning the state of Edouard de Tocqueville's health

Note from the First Bureau concerning the state of Edouard de Tocqueville's health, 1821
© Archives de l'armée de terre

Certificate given to Edouard de Tocqueville after his visit to the hospital

Certificate given to Edouard de Tocqueville after his visit to the hospital
© Archives de l'armée de terre

Report to the minister concerning Edouard de Tocqueville

Report to the minister concerning Edouard de Tocqueville
© Archives de l'armée de terre

Resignation from the office of Regent of the Banque de France

Resignation of M. Ollivier from the office of Regent of the Banque de France, 1827
© Banque de France

Resignation of Ollivier d'Augustin-Charles-Alexandre

Resignation of Ollivier d'Augustin-Charles-Alexandre, 1827
© Banque de France

Marriage contract between Louis Edouard de Tocqueville and Alexandrine Denise Ollivier

Marriage contract between Louis Edouard de Tocqueville and Alexandrine Denise Ollivier
© CHAN

Death certificate from Louis Édouard de Tocqueville

Death certificate from Louis Édouard de Tocqueville, private collection
© AD Manche / Poirier

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

Portraits


Sa famille

Ses frères : Édouard

Édouard de Tocqueville, jeune homme

Édouard de Tocqueville, jeune homme, coll. privée
© AD Manche/A. Poirier

Édouard est à l'évidence celui de ses deux frères dont Alexis s'est toujours senti le plus proche. Il n'est son aîné que de cinq ans et s'il entame, tout comme Hippolyte, une carrière militaire à l'aube de la Restauration, il doit y mettre un terme en 1822 en raison de la fragilité de sa santé, faiblesse qu'il partage également avec Alexis. Il efface cet échec en réussissant un très riche mariage bourgeois en juin 1829 lorsqu'il épouse Alexandrine Ollivier, qui n'est autre que la fille du "baron" Ollivier, un des régents de la Banque de France qui fut aussi député puis pair de France sous la Restauration. Ce mariage lui apporte une immense fortune et fait de lui le gestionnaire d'un très vaste domaine agricole dans l'Oise : le domaine de Baugy. Édouard se penchera désormais avec prédilection sur les questions d'agronomie et d'horticulture.

« Ses cinq enfants, ses huit petits-enfants, sa femme qui est dans le plus triste état, ses poissons, ses sangsues et ses bonnes œuvres, remplissent si bien sa vie que ce serait en quelque sorte, l'arracher à lui-même que de l'ôter de chez lui. »
(Lettre à Gustave de Beaumont, 24 décembre 1858)

Mais ce qui rapproche le plus Édouard d'Alexis c'est une forme de complicité intellectuelle, qui ne s'est rompue qu'au moment de l'instauration du Second Empire, lorsque Édouard décide, contre l'avis de son frère, résolu pour sa part à quitter la vie politique, de présenter sa candidature au Corps législatif.

Scène de famille (détail d'Edouard et de sa mère)

Scène de famille; Anonyme, coll. privée
© AD Manche/A. Poirier

Portrait photographique d'Édouard de Tocqueville

Portrait photographique d'Édouard de Tocqueville
© AD Manche/A. Poirier

Le conflit éclate violemment et les termes que Tocqueville choisit pour condamner et rejeter la conduite adoptée par son aîné sont explicites. Toutefois, la défaite sans appel de la candidature d'Édouard apaise rapidement ce différend.

« La ruine de la liberté, mon renoncement à la vie publique, l'abaissement de mon pays, l'exil de mes amis ou leur dispersion volontaire ne m'avaient pas, je crois, causé un sentiment aussi amer que cette profonde dissidence entre nous. »
(Lettre à Edouard, 14 février 1852, Collection privée)

Des trois frères, Édouard est donc le seul à ne pas être parvenu à embrasser de carrière politique ; mais il est également le seul à avoir fondé une famille, à laquelle il consacre une grande attention. Alexis ironise parfois sur l'importance prise par la vie de famille dans l'existence de son frère, bien qu'il considère lui-même volontiers cette famille comme la sienne. De ses cinq neveux et nièces, il se sent surtout très proche de l'aîné, Hubert, qui est également son filleul et auquel il aime prodiguer des conseils "paternels" pour l'aider à choisir aussi bien sa carrière que son épouse. Alexis semble l'avoir tenu pour son héritier spirituel et regardé comme celui qui devait reprendre le flambeau de la tradition familiale.

Archives

Admission dans la maison militaire du roi

Admission dans la maison militaire du roi, 1816
© Archives de l'armée de terre

Note du 1er bureau sur la santé d'Édouard de Tocqueville, 1821

Note du 1er bureau sur la santé d'Édouard de Tocqueville, 1821
© Archives de l'armée de terre

Certificat de réforme d'Édouard de Tocqueville

Certificat de réforme d'Édouard de Tocqueville
© Archives de l'armée de terre

Admission à la réforme sans traitement

Admission à la réforme sans traitement
© Archives de l'armée de terre

Lettre de démission de M. Ollivier au gouverneur de la Banque de France

Lettre de démission de M. Ollivier au gouverneur de la Banque de France, 1827
© Banque de France

Démission d'Augustin-Charles-Alexandre Ollivier (beau-père d'Edouard) du poste de Régent de la Banque de France

Démission d'Augustin-Charles-
Alexandre Ollivier, 1827
© Banque de France

Contrat de mariage de Louis Édouard de Tocqueville avec Alexandrine Denise Ollivier

Contrat de mariage de Louis Édouard de Tocqueville avec Alexandrine Denise Ollivier
© CHAN

Avis de décès de  Louis Édouard de Tocqueville

Avis de décès de Louis Édouard de Tocqueville, coll. privée
© AD Manche / Poirier

Haut de page