main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Portraits


His ancestors

A family devastated under the Terror

Appel des dernières victimes de la Terreur

Appel des dernières victimes de la Terreur Charles Louis Müller
© RMN/Gérard Blot

But more than all of its noble titles, the de Tocqueville family's real legacy to Alexis - who never got the chance to use his title of count - was the trauma that it had experienced under the Terror. This marked was the end of the old world of his parents and grandparents, and world that would never be his. Hervé de Tocqueville's Mémoires faithfully retrace the unfolding of these events, which began on the evening of December 17, 1793, when the entire family was assembled in the dining room at the chateau de Malesherbes. The concierge burst in and said, "Citizen Rosanbo, there are citizens from Paris who are asking for you". The arrest of the former president of the Paris Parliament was accompanied by a warrant to search his house in Paris, where the representatives of the Committee of Public Safety found what they had been looking for: the original document by the Parliament protesting its abolition. The Committee then ordered that the papers of other family members assembled at Malesherbes be searched, and confiscated a set of letters concerned with emigration. On December 20, the entire family was arrested, presented to the members of the Revolutionary Committee of the Bondy Section, and then separated and placed in various houses of detention, which Hervé de Tocqueville described with horror.   play sound extractlire l'extrait sonore  
The family was later reunited at the Port-Libre prison, until Monsieur de Rosanbo was brought before the revolutionary tribunal on April 20, 1794, along with other members of the Paris Parliament, "a few hours before they ceased to exist" as Hervé de Tocqueville tersely stated it, before continuing his tragic narrative. "On April 21, an official with a very mean expression entered our chamber and pronounced these terrible words: 'Citizen Malesherbes, Citizen Rosanbo, Chateaubriand husband and wife, your presence is requested at the court.' This overwhelming news left us with barely the time to reflect and understand the horror of such a moment; our misfortune was beyond anything the imagination could devise".

« The revolutionary blade hovered over everyone's head. . The fate of each of us seemed to have been fixed: sooner or later the scaffold would get us all. »
(Memoirs, Hervé de Tocqueville)

Without forgetting to pay homage to the courage of these men and women faced with the announcement of their imminent death, Hervé de Tocqueville narrative also emphasizes the unjust and arbitrary nature of the charges drawn up against them, and the decrease in the number of hasty trials in the closing days of the Terror. He and his wife were to have been judged on the 12th of Thermidor, but the fall of Robespierre resulted in their freedom. There were nine of them who entered "this house of sorrow", but only four - Hervé de Tocqueville and his wife, and the Le Peletier couple - who left. They would be forever marked in body and soul by the horror and fright that they had experienced every day of their ten months of detention.

Attend the trial
of Louis XVI

The tragic end of Louis XVI

The tragic end of Louis XVI, executed on January 21, 1793, Pierre-André Le Beau after Fious
© PMVP

Bas relief depicting Chrétien-Guillaume Lamoignon de Malesherbes and Louis XVI

Bas relief depicting Chrétien-Guillaume Lamoignon de Malesherbes and Louis XVI
© A.Hoffer

Archives

Correspondence seized by the Committee of Public Safety

Correspondence seized by the Committee of Public Safety
© CHAN

Bill of indictment against Malesherbes, dated 3 Floréal Year II

Bill of indictment against Malesherbes, dated 3 Floréal Year II
© CHAN

Judgement against Malesherbes and his family, dated 3 Floréal Year II

Judgement against Malesherbes and his family, dated 3 Floréal Year II
© CHAN

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

Portraits


Son ascendance

Le traumatisme de la Révolution française : une famille décimée sous la Terreur

Appel des dernières victimes de la Terreur

Appel des dernières victimes de la Terreur, Charles Louis Müller
© RMN/Gérard Blot

Mais plus que tous ses titres de noblesse, ce que cette famille a véritablement légué à Alexis, lui qui n'a jamais tenu à porter son titre de comte, c'est l'expérience traumatisante qui fut la sienne sous la Terreur et qui marque la fin d'un ancien monde, celui de ses parents et de ses grands-parents, qui ne pourra être le sien. Les Mémoires d'Hervé de Tocqueville retracent fidèlement le déroulement de ces funestes événements, qui commencent au soir du 17 décembre 1793, alors que toute la famille est réunie dans la salle à manger du château de Malesherbes et que le concierge fait irruption pour déclarer : "Citoyen Rosanbo, il y a des citoyens de Paris qui vous demandent". L'arrestation de l'ancien président au parlement de Paris est accompagné d'un ordre de perquisition dans son hôtel parisien, où les commissaires du Comité de sûreté générale saisissent le document original de la protestation du Parlement contre son abolition, la pièce qu'ils recherchaient. Le Comité ordonne alors que l'on fouille les papiers des autres membres de la famille réunis à Malesherbes et saisit de la correspondance d'émigration : le 20 décembre, la famille toute entière est arrêtée, présentée aux membres du Comité révolutionnaire de la section de Bondy, puis séparée et emmenée dans différentes maisons de détention, dont Hervé de Tocqueville décrit l'atmosphère avec effroi.   écouter l'extrait sonorelire l'extrait sonore  
La famille sera par la suite réunie à la prison de Port-Libre, jusqu'à ce que M. de Rosanbo soit traduit au tribunal révolutionnaire le 20 avril 1794 avec d'autres membres du parlement de Paris. "Quelques heures après ils avaient cessé d'exister" conclut laconiquement Hervé de Tocqueville avant de poursuivre son tragique récit. "Le 21 avril, un guichetier de la mine la plus féroce entra dans notre chambre et prononça ces terribles mots : "Citoyen Malesherbes, citoyenne Rosanbo, Chateaubriand mari et femme, on vous demande au greffe." Cette accablante nouvelle nous laissa à peine le temps de réfléchir et de sentir l'horreur d'un pareil moment ; car notre infortune dépassait toutes les limites que l'imagination avait pu concevoir."

« La hache révolutionnaire planait sur toutes les têtes. La destinée de chacun de nous semblait être fixée et cette destinée était l'échafaud, qui ne pouvait manquer de nous atteindre dans un délai plus ou moins long. »
(Mémoires, Hervé de Tocqueville)

Sans oublier de rendre hommage au courage de ces hommes et de ces femmes face à l'annonce de leur mort certaine, Hervé de Tocqueville insiste également dans son récit sur le caractère injuste et arbitraire des accusations qui leur sont faites, et sur la démultiplication des procès expéditifs qui accompagnent les derniers jours de la Terreur. Lui-même et son épouse devaient être jugés le 12 Thermidor, lorsque la chute de Robespierre leur rend la liberté. Mais ils étaient rentrés neuf dans "cette maison de douleur", et ils n'en sortaient que quatre, avec le couple des Le Peletier d'Aunay, marqués à jamais dans leur chair et dans leur âme par les sentiments d'horreur et d'effroi qui ne les ont quitté durant ces dix mois de détention.

Voir le procès
de Louis XVI

Fin tragique de Louis XVI

Fin tragique de Louis XVI exécuté le 21 janvier 1793,
Pierre-André Le Beau d'après Fious
© PMVP

Bas relief représentant Chrétien-Guillaume Lamoignon de Malesherbes et Louis XVI

Bas relief représentant Chrétien-Guillaume Lamoignon de Malesherbes et Louis XVI
© A.Hoffer

Archives

Correspondance saisie par les Comités de sûreté générale

Correspondance saisie par les Comités de sûreté générale
© CHAN

Acte d'accusation contre Malesherbes

Acte d'accusation contre Malesherbes, 3 floréal an II
© CHAN

Jugement contre Malesherbes et sa famille

Jugement contre Malesherbes et sa famille, 3 floréal an II
© CHAN

Haut de page