main menu - summary - content - site map - politique d'accessibilité

Portraits


His friends

Victor Lanjuinais
« In sum, he was a very trustworthy associate and, all in all, the most honest man I met in public life, as well as the least apt, to my mind, to mingle his love of the public good with particular or self-interested views. »
(A. de Tocqueville Souvenirs,
part 3, chap. 1)

When Tocqueville was approached about being appointed Minister of Foreign Affairs under the Second Republic, he appeared to attach only a single condition to his entry into the government: that his friend Victor Lanjuinais would also be given a portfolio. This indicates the trust he placed in his friend, who was none other than the son of the famous member of National Convention, Jean-Denis Lanjuinais. Victor was born in 1802, and belonged to the same generation as Alexis. Their professional paths were fairly similar: after starting his career at the bar, Lanjuinais, who wanted to enter politics, was elected Deputy for the Loire-Inférieure in 1838. He held this seat until 1848, and owed his parliamentary career to his encounter with Tocqueville, who shared his liberal views, and who involved him in a number of his political projects. It was thus that Victor Lanjuinais took part in the adventure of the newspaper Commerce, and became passionately interested in the constitutional project of the Young Left party. He also shared Tocqueville's taste for traveling; like him, he worried about the fate of the French colony of Algeria, where the two friends met up in 1846.

« His temperament was as calm and tranquil as mine was anxious and agitated. Methodical, slow, lazy, cautious, and even meticulous, he found it quite difficult to embark on any enterprise, but once started he never drew back and to the end showed himself to be as resolute and stubborn as a Breton peasant. »
(A. de Tocqueville Souvenirs,
part 3, chap. 1)

Above all, however, it was under the Second Republic, in a political landscape made particularly complex by France's particular situation, that he became one of Tocqueville's most faithful allies, to the point of being summoned to support him under Second Minister Barrot. In his Recollections, Tocqueville described how he had needed Lanjuinais's loyalty and friendship, and that France could only benefit from his concern for public interests. As Lanjuinais had always been an avid student of economic science and monetary policy, he was appointed Minister of Commerce. After December 2, 1851, having decided - like most of Tocqueville's political allies - to retire from public life, he returned to his beloved economic studies and continued to travel. He also continued to visit the Tocqueville household often, and remained a regular correspondent. Before his death in 1869, he reentered political life under the Empire, as a deputy of the liberal opposition.

Portrait of Victor Lanjuinais

Portrait of Victor Lanjuinais, anonymous; Département des Estampes
© BNF

Caricature of Victor Lanjuinais

Caricature of Victor Lanjuinais, Cham
© Olivier Ménard

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

Portraits


Ses amis

Victor Lanjuinais
« En somme, c'était un associé très sûr et, à tout prendre, le plus honnête homme que j'aie rencontré dans la vie publique et celui de tous qui m'ait paru mêler à son amour du bien public le moins de vues particulières ou intéressées. »
(A. de Tocqueville Souvenirs,
IIIe partie, chap. 1)

À l'heure où il est pressenti pour devenir ministre des Affaires étrangères sous la Seconde République, Tocqueville ne semble poser qu'une seule condition à son entrée dans le gouvernement : que son ami Victor Lanjuinais obtienne également un portefeuille ministériel. C'est assez dire quelle confiance il place chez cet ami qui n'est autre que le fils du célèbre conventionnel Jean-Denis Lanjuinais. Né en 1802, il appartient à la même génération que lui et leurs parcours sont largement semblables : après avoir commencé sa carrière au barreau, Lanjuinais, qui désire entrer en politique, est élu député de Loire-Inférieure en 1838. Il occupe ce siège jusqu'en 1848 et doit à sa vie parlementaire d'avoir rencontré Tocqueville, qui partage ses opinions libérales et qui l'implique dans la plupart de ses projets politiques : Victor Lanjuinais participe ainsi à l'aventure du Commerce en prenant des parts dans la société d'exploitation du journal et s'intéresse vivement au projet de constitution d'un parti de la "Jeune Gauche". Il partage également avec Tocqueville son goût des voyages et s'inquiète comme son ami du sort de la colonie française d'Algérie, où les deux amis se retrouvent d'ailleurs en 1846.

« Son humeur était aussi calme et aussi paisible que la mienne était inquiète et troublée. Méthodique, lent, paresseux, prudent, méticuleux même, il n'entrait que très difficilement dans une entreprise ; mais, une fois entré, n'y reculait jamais et s'y montrait jusqu'au bout résolu et têtu comme un paysan breton. »
(A. de Tocqueville Souvenirs,
IIIe partie, chap. 1)

Mais c'est surtout sous la Seconde République, dans un paysage politique que la situation particulière du pays rend très complexe, qu'il devient l'un de ses plus fidèles alliés au point d'être appelé à son soutien dans le second ministère Barrot. Tocqueville écrira dans ses Souvenirs qu'il avait besoin de la fidélité de son amitié et que la France ne pourrait que bénéficier de son souci de l'intérêt public. Comme il a toujours été féru de sciences économiques et de politique monétaire, il est nommé au poste de ministre du Commerce. Après le 2 décembre 1851, décidé comme la plupart des amis politiques de Tocqueville à se retirer de la vie publique, il retourne à ses chères études économiques et multiplie ses voyages ; il continue également à fréquenter régulièrement les Tocqueville, dont il reste l'un des correspondants réguliers. Il finit cependant par reprendre la vie politique comme député de l'opposition libérale sous l'Empire, avant de s'éteindre en 1869.

Portrait de Victor Lanjuinais, anonyme ; Département des Estampes © BNF

Portrait de Victor Lanjuinais, anonyme ; Département des Estampes
© BNF

Caricature de Victor Lanjuinais

Caricature de Victor Lanjuinais, Cham
© Olivier Ménard

Haut de page