main menu - summary - content - site map - politique d'accessibilité

Portraits


His friends

Jules Armand Dufaure
« He remained aloof, not only from intrigues but also from contact with the parties, because he detested the agitation of assemblies and dreaded the rostrum, though it was his only strength, yet for all that he was ambitious, albeit in his own measured and rather subaltern manner, in that he sought to manipulate affairs rather than to dominate them. »
(A. de Tocqueville Souvenirs,
part 3, chap. 3)

Jules Armand Dufaure, whom Tocqueville often referred to in their correspondence as his "dear colleague", belonged to the same generation and held the same political convictions as his friend. He was born on December 4, 1798 at Saujon in the department of Charente-Maritime. Having started his career at the bar, he was elected deputy in 1834. He openly declared himself to be a liberal, and became Minister of Public Works under the SoultJean de Dieu Soult
(1769 - 1851)

A marshal of the Empire, Soult became minister of war under Louis XVIII. Named a peer of France under Charles X, he played his greatest political role under Louis-Philippe. Serving first as minister of war and then as president of the Council, he was named ambassador of France in April 1838. From 1840 to 1847 he held the post of minister of foreign affairs.
ministry in 1839. It was shortly after this when he met Tocqueville, probably on the benches of the Chamber of Deputies. The two men, whose political views were often quite similar (whether about Algeria or the need to found a new political party, the "Young Left"), appear to have rapidly become friends, and their later political trajectories took parallel paths. Just like Tocqueville, Dufaure refused to take part in the "Campagne des Banquets" to contest the authority of Louis-Philippe, but nevertheless rallied behind the Republic in 1848. He was also part of the commission in charge of drafting the constitution, and was even appointed Minister of the Interior by CavaignacLouis Eugène Cavaignac
1802-1857)

A general and republican politician, Cavaignac was a graduate of the Ecole polytechnique and officer in the engineer corps. In 1832 he was assigned to Algeria, and in 1844 he was named marshal. In 1848 he was appointed governor general of Algeria. In that same year he became minister of war. On December 2, 1851, he was arrested and imprisoned for a month. Elected to the legislature in 1852, he refused to take the oath and was dismissed.
. He was appointed to this post again under Second Minister Barrot, under whom Tocqueville was appointed Minister of Foreign Affairs. It was Dufaure, as Minister of the Interior, who declared a state of siege and put down the attempted revolutionary coup of June 13, 1849.

« I would say straightaway that he was a man of stone, as immutable as he was impassive. »
(Letter to Louis de Lamoricière,
November 24, 1852)

As one of those contested the coup d'etat of December 2, 1851, he decided to abandon political life. He had a second political career under the Third Republic, however, playing a role in its foundation along with his friend Adolphe Thiers. He served as Council President in 1876, and again from 1877 to 1879, when he distinguished himself by his defense of the principle of parliamentary republic. He died on June 27, 1881 at Rueil, after more than forty years of political life in which he remained faithful to his liberal convictions, his political integrity, and his independent spirit.

Portrait of Jules-Armand-Stanislas Dufaure

Portrait of Jules-Armand-Stanislas Dufaure, anonymous; Département des Estampes
© BNF

Caricature of Jules-Armand Dufaure

Caricature of Jules-Armand Dufaure, Cham
© Olivier Ménard

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

Portraits


Ses amis

Jules Armand Dufaure
« Il se tenait à part, non seulement des intrigues, mais du contact des partis, détestant le mouvement des assemblées, redoutant la tribune qui était pourtant sa seule force, ambitieux pourtant à sa manière, mais d'une ambition mesurée et un peu subalterne, qui visait au maniement des affaires plutôt qu'à leur domination. »
(A. de Tocqueville Souvenirs,
IIIe partie, ch. 3)

Jules Armand Dufaure, que Tocqueville appelle souvent dans leur correspondance "mon cher collègue", appartient à la même génération et à la même race d'hommes politiques que ce dernier. Il est né le 4 décembre 1798 à Saujon en Charente-Maritime et, après avoir commencé sa carrière au barreau, est élu député en 1834. Il s'affiche clairement comme un libéral et devient ministre des Travaux publics dans le ministère SoultJean de Dieu Soult
(1769 - 1851)

Maréchal d'Empire, Soult devient ministre de la Guerre sous Louis XVIII. Pair de France sous Charles X, il joue son plus grand rôle politique sous Louis-Philippe. D'abord ministre de la Guerre puis président du Conseil, il est l'ambassadeur de la France en avril 1838. Il occupe le poste de Ministre des Affaires étrangères de 1840 à 1847.
en 1839. C'est peu après cette époque que Tocqueville fait sa connaissance, vraisemblablement sur les bancs de la Chambre des députés. Les deux hommes, dont les vues sont souvent très proches (que ce soit sur l'Algérie ou sur la nécessité de fonder le nouveau parti de la "Jeune Gauche"), semblent s'être rapidement liés d'amitié, et ils s'engagent par la suite dans des trajectoires politiques parallèles. Tout comme Tocqueville, Dufaure refuse de participer à la "campagne des banquets" qui conteste l'autorité de Louis-Philippe, mais se rallie néanmoins à la République en 1848. Il fait également partie de la commission chargée de rédiger la constitution, et il est même appelé au ministère de l'Intérieur par CavaignacLouis Eugène Cavaignac
( 1802-1857)

Général et homme politique républicain, Cavaignac est un ancien élève de l'École polytechnique et officier du Génie. En 1832, il est affecté en Algérie et devient Maréchal de Camp en 1844. Il est nommé gouverneur général de l'Algérie en 1848. La même année, lui est confié le ministère de la Guerre à Paris. Le 2 décembre 1851, il est arrêté et emprisonné durant un mois. Élu au corps législatif en 1852, il refusa de prêter serment et fut déclaré démissionnaire.
. Il retrouve ce poste dans le second ministère Barrot, dans lequel Tocqueville occupe le siège de ministre des Affaires étrangères. Il est amené durant ce ministère à décréter l'état de siège et à organiser la répression de la tentative révolutionnaire du 13 juin 1849.

« Je dirais volontiers de celui-là que c'est un homme de pierre, aussi immuable et impassible. »
(Lettre à Louis de Lamoricière,
24 novembre 1852)

Après avoir fait partie des députés contestant le coup d'État du 2 décembre 1851, il décide d'abandonner la vie politique. Il connaît cependant une seconde carrière après l'instauration de la IIIe République, dont il a participé à la fondation aux côtés de son ami Adolphe Thiers : il en sera notamment le président du Conseil en 1876, puis entre 1877 et 1879, où il s'illustre en défendant le principe de la république parlementaire. Il s'éteint le 27 juin 1881 à Rueil, après plus de quarante années de vie politique, durant lesquelles il est toujours resté fidèle à ses convictions libérales, à son intégrité politique et à son indépendance d'esprit.

Portrait de Victor Lanjuinais, anonyme ; Département des Estampes © BNF

Portrait de Jules Armand Stanislas Dufaure, anonyme ; Département des Estampes
© BNF

Caricature de Jules Armand Dufaure

Caricature de Jules Armand Dufaure, Cham
© Olivier Ménard

Haut de page