main menu - summary - content - site map - politique d'accessibilité

Portraits


His friends

Pierre Paul Royer-Collard
« M. Royer-Collard was an admirable example to all of France, a great mind . but for me he was something else as well. He made me look upon him almost as a father. »
(Letter to Madame Royer-Collard,
August 9, 1845)

Pierre-Paul Royer-Collard was already seventy-two years old when he met Alexis de Tocqueville in 1835. He held a seat in the Chamber of Deputies as the representative from Vitry-le-François, having finally rallied to the support of the July Monarchy, considering it to be a lesser evil in its role as a rampart against political anarchy. He cultivated his independence with respect to other deputies, and was seen as a grand old man of another age, wreathed in memories of the great political debates under the Restoration, in which his talents as a JansenistJansenism
A theological movement inspired by the Dutch bishop Cornelius Jansenius (1585-1638). Jansenism won adherents in France, the Netherlands, and Italy up to the end of the eighteenth century. Opposed to Scholastic theology, it was presented as the authentic doctrine of Saint Augustine concerning predestination and divine grace in relation to man's free will.
orator were revealed. And indeed, since the time of the French Revolution - with the exception of the imperial period, when he taught the history of philosophy at the Sorbonne - Royer-Collard had always been at the forefront of the political scene. In particular, he played a key role under the Restoration as deputy from the Marne, president of the State Education Committee (1815-1820), and leader of the Doctrinaires Party.
Nevertheless, after the July Revolution, Royer-Collard was more taken up with the Académie Française - to which he had been named in 1827 - than the Chamber of Deputies. It was thus that he passionately defended Democracy in America before his fellow academicians. He was one of the book's most enthusiastic readers, and sought out Tocqueville in order to meet him. He was no doubt drawn to Tocqueville by their similar opinions about the inevitable progress of democracy in the modern world, but the two men's friendship revealed many other intellectual affinities that lay behind their master-disciple - and even father-son - relationship. Such ties also explain how their relations were not entirely free of misunderstandings, reprimands, and humiliations, as well as political differences when, starting in 1839, both were members of the same Chamber. Their mutual intellectual esteem, however, bridged all of these disagreements, and Royer-Collard was one of the few readers of the second volume of Democracy in America to appreciate its true value. When he died in 1845, Tocqueville paid homage to one of his best friends, and perhaps the one who had understood his work the best.  play sound extractlire l'extrait sonore  

Portrait of Pierre-Paul Royer-Collard

Portrait of Pierre-Paul Royer-Collard, anonymous; Département des Estampes
© BNF

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

Portraits


Ses amis

Pierre Paul Royer-Collard
« M. Royer-Collard a été pour la France entière un admirable exemple, un grand esprit (...) ; mais, pour moi, il est autre chose encore. Il m'avait accoutumé à voir en lui presque un père. »
(Lettre à Madame Royer-Collard,
9 août 1845)

Lorsqu'en 1835 Tocqueville rencontre Pierre Paul Royer-Collard, celui-ci est déjà âgé de soixante-douze ans et siège encore à la Chambre des députés comme représentant de Vitry-le-François, après s'être finalement rallié à la Monarchie de Juillet, qu'il considère comme un moindre mal dans son rôle de rempart à l'anarchie politique. Cultivant son indépendance parmi les autres députés, il fait figure de grand homme du passé, auréolé du souvenir des profonds débats de la vie politique sous la Restauration, qui ont révélé ses talents d'orateur jansénisteJansénisme
Courant théologique inspiré de l'évêque hollandais Cornélius Jansénius qui se développe en France, aux Pays-Bas et en Italie jusqu'à la fin du XVIIIe siècle. Le jansénisme se présente comme la doctrine authentique de Saint Augustin sur la prédestination et la grâce divine dans leur rapport au libre arbitre de l'homme.
. Il est vrai que, depuis la Révolution française et à l'exception de l'époque impériale, où il devient professeur d'histoire de la philosophie à la Sorbonne, Royer-Collard occupe le devant de la scène politique. Il joue notamment un rôle éminent sous la Restauration en tant que député de la Marne, en tant que président de la commission de l'Instruction publique (de 1815 à 1820) et chef du parti des doctrinaires. À compter de la Révolution de Juillet toutefois, Royer-Collard s'occupe davantage de l'Académie française - à laquelle il a été élu en 1827 - que de la Chambre des députés. Aussi commence-t-il par défendre ardemment devant ses pairs académiciens De la démocratie en Amérique, dont il est d'emblée l'un des lecteurs les plus enthousiastes, puis sollicite-t-il Tocqueville pour le rencontrer. La proximité de leurs jugements concernant les progrès inéluctables de la démocratie dans le monde moderne, l'a certainement séduite, mais la relation entre les deux hommes met au jour de nombreuses autres affinités intellectuelles qui sous-tendent des rapports de maître à disciple, voire de père à fils. De tels liens expliquent également que leurs rapports n'échappent pas toujours aux malentendus, aux remontrances et aux vexations ainsi qu'aux divergences politiques lorsqu'ils sont, à partir de 1839, tous deux membres de la même Chambre. Leur estime intellectuelle réciproque saura néanmoins dépasser tous ces dissentiments, et Royer-Collard comptera parmi les rares lecteurs du deuxième tome De la démocratie en Amérique à avoir su l'apprécier à sa juste valeur. Lorsqu'il s'éteint en 1845, Tocqueville rend d'ailleurs hommage à l'un de ses meilleurs amis, peut-être même à celui de ses amis qui a le mieux compris son œuvre.   écouter l'extrait sonorelire l'extrait sonore  

Portrait de Pierre Paul Royer-Collard

Portrait de Pierre Paul Royer-Collard, anonyme ; Département des Estampes
© BNF

Haut de page