main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Portraits


A. de Tocqueville before America

The Revolution of 1830: The oath to Louis-Philippe
« I despise the new king, I believe that his right to the throne is more than dubious, and yet I shall support him more resolutely, I think, than those who have cleared the way for him and who will soon become either his masters or his enemies. »
(Letter to Charles Stöffels,
August 26, 1830)

Although Tocqueville still felt "the remains of a hereditary affection" for Charles XCharles X (1757 - 1836)
Brother of Louis XVI and Louis XVIII, he was king of France from 1824 to 1830. When he proposed to eliminate freedom of the press, dissolve the Chamber, and change the mode of election and the method of calling elections, he was overthrown in a three-day insurrection, July 27-29, 1830. The conquest of Algeria began during his reign that same year.
at the moment when the July Revolution overwhelmed his reign (while acknowledging that the Bourbons "had acted like cowards" and that they had not merited the blood that had been shed for them), he took great care to establish the feelings he had for the new regime and its leader, the former Duc d'Orléans, who became Louis-Philippe I after having sworn allegiance to the Charter. Indeed, although the more liberal trend sought by the July Monarchy should have been attractive to the young judge, the loyalty to the Restoration and to the last king of France, shown by most of his family and some of his closest friends, including Louis de Kergorlay stirred up contradictory feelings in him. This ambivalence was made manifest in the problems he had with swearing an oath to the new Charter, which was mandatory for all civil servants and members of the military. He nevertheless made up his mind to do so on August 16, 1830, but not without difficulty, and was finally swayed by the advice of both Gustave de Beaumont and his father, who urged him to listen to the voice of reason.   play sound extractlire l'extrait sonore   In all probability, it seems that Tocqueville considered the new regime to be a lesser evil compared with the threat that a reactionary or republican regime would pose to the country. It is certain, though, that he felt particularly uncomfortable in the face of this new triumph of the French bourgeoisie, and this discomfort explains his desire to spread his wings and cross the Atlantic in search of new political solutions that could be applied to France.

King Louis-Philippe I swears to uphold the Charter, August 9, 1830 (sketch)

King Louis-Philippe I swears to uphold the Charter, August 9, 1830 (sketch), Eugène Devéria;
© RMN/Droits réservés

Archives

Transcript of the oath sworn by Alexis de Tocqueville to Louis-Philippe, August 16, 1830

Transcript of the oath sworn by Alexis de Tocqueville to Louis-Philippe, August 16, 1830; private collection
© AD Manche/A. Poirier

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

Portraits


A. de Tocqueville avant l'Amérique

La Révolution de 1830 : le serment à Louis-Philippe
« Je méprise le nouveau Roi, je crois son droit au trône plus que douteux, et cependant je le soutiendrai avec plus de fermeté, je le pense, que ceux qui lui ont aplani les voies et qui ne tarderont pas à être
ses maîtres ou ses ennemis. »
(Lettre à Charles Stöffels,
26 août 1830)

Si Tocqueville avoue ressentir encore un "reste d'affection héréditaire" pour Charles XCharles X (1757 - 1836)
Frère de Louis XVI et de Louis XVIII, il fut roi France de 1824 à 1830. Faisant suite aux quatre ordonnances qu'il prévoyait : suppression de la liberté de la presse, dissolution de la Chambre, modification du mode d'élection et convocation de nouvelles élections, Charles X est renversé après les journées insurrectionnelles du 27, 28 et 29 juillet 1830. La conquête de l'Algérie débuta sous son règne cette même année.
au moment où la Révolution de Juillet a raison de son règne (tout en reconnaissant que les Bourbons "se sont conduits comme des lâches" et qu'ils n'ont pas mérité le sang versé pour eux), il est nettement plus délicat d'établir la nature des sentiments qu'il éprouve à l'égard du nouveau régime en place et de son homme fort, l'ancien duc d'Orléans devenu Louis-Philippe Ier après avoir prêté serment à la Charte. En effet la tendance plus libérale revendiquée par la Monarchie de Juillet aurait pu séduire le jeune magistrat, la fidélité à la Restauration et au dernier roi de France qu'affichent une grande partie de sa famille ainsi que certains de ses plus proches amis comme Louis de Kergorlay, lui inspire des sentiments opposés. Cette ambivalence est rendue manifeste par la difficulté qu'il éprouve à prêter serment à la nouvelle Charte comme devaient le faire tous les fonctionnaires et militaires du pays. Il s'y résout pourtant le 16 août 1830, mais non sans peine, cédant par là-même aux conseils de Gustave de Beaumont et de son père qui l'incitaient à suivre la voix de la raison.   écouter l'extrait sonorelire l'extrait sonore   En définitive il est très probable que Tocqueville ait considéré ce nouveau régime comme un moindre mal comparé aux menaces que feraient peser selon lui sur la France un régime réactionnaire ou républicain, mais il est certain qu'il se sent particulièrement mal à l'aise face au nouveau triomphe de la France bourgeoise. Son désir de prendre le large pour aller s'enquérir outre-Atlantique de nouvelles solutions politiques applicables en France s'explique à l'évidence par ce malaise.

Le roi Louis-Philippe Ier prête serment de maintenir la Charte le 9 août 1830 (esquisse) par Eugène Devéria ; ©  RMN / Droits réservés

Le roi Louis-Philippe Ier prête serment de maintenir la Charte le 9 août 1830 (esquisse) par Eugène Devéria ;
© RMN / Droits réservés

Archives

Procès-verbal du serment prêté par Alexis de Tocqueville au roi Louis-Philippe, le 16 août 1830

Procès-verbal du serment prêté par Alexis de Tocqueville au roi Louis-Philippe, coll. privée
© AD Manche / Poirier

Haut de page