main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Portraits


A. de Tocqueville before America

1827-1830, the magistracy at Versailles: Tocqueville, hearing judge at the Versailles court
« I am beginning to get used to my new position. It isn't life as one imagines it at sixteen, full of emotions and illusions, but it is unfortunately the life most natural to man, and the one in which he still goes most tranquilly to his grave. »
(Letter to his brother Edouard,
July 5, 1827)

Alexis de Tocqueville was still traveling in Italy when his father secured a position for him at the Court of the First Instance in Versailles. It would appear that his appointment to the post of apprentice magistrate on April 6, 1827 had more to do with the fact that he was related to the great Malesherbes - a detail persistently mentioned in each letter of request - and that his father was Prefect for Seine-et-Oise at the time than with his personal qualities. In June 1827, Alexis de Tocqueville yielded to the wishes of his family and unenthusiastically took up the position that they had obtained for him. His duties were in fact rather simple: the post of apprentice magistrate was really just an unpaid internship while a candidate waited for a more settled position. Deprived of a salaried job, Tocqueville took advantage of the experience to become acquainted with the reality of legal practice, which interested him much more than theory, even if he was only moderately successful at it - a fact that he attributed to his lack of mastery of the art of oratory.

« [...] To become with time a law machine, like most of my peers. I would rather burn my books than end up there. »
(Letter to Louis de Kergorlay, July 23, 1827)

Nevertheless, the three years he spent in the magistracy gave him a solid legal and administrative background, as well as a real scientific rigor in preparing cases, which would remain one of the distinctive traits of the man who later became a thinker and politician. Clearly, Alexis de Tocqueville had never dreamed of making a great career as a judge, and even dreaded seeing his mind restricted to a single legal domain. However, he certainly benefited from this training, and during his three years at the court in Versailles evidently took the opportunity to expand his observation of French society.

Presumed portrait of Alexis de Tocqueville

Presumed portrait of Alexis de Tocqueville
© Conseil de l'Ordre des avocats de Paris

Archives

Letter written by Hervé de Tocqueville in support of the candidacy of his son

Letter written by Hervé de Tocqueville in support of the candidacy of his son
© CHAN

Letter from the Parquet to the Minister of Justice © CHAN

Letter from the Parquet to the Minister of Justice
© CHAN

Letter from the Duke de Damas © CHAN

Letter from the Duke de Damas
© CHAN

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

Portraits


A. de Tocqueville avant l'Amérique

1827-1830, la magistrature à Versailles : Tocqueville, juge-auditeur au tribunal de Versailles
« Je commence à me faire à ma nouvelle position. Ce n'est pas là la vie telle qu'on se la figure à seize ans, pleine d'émotions et d'illusions, mais c'est, malheureusement, la vie la plus naturelle à l'homme et celle où il atteint encore le plus tranquillement le grand fossé. »
(Lettre à son frère Édouard,
5 juillet 1827)

Alexis de Tocqueville est encore occupé à visiter l'Italie lorsque son père obtient pour lui une place au tribunal de première instance de Versailles. Il semble d'ailleurs que sa filiation avec le grand Malesherbes rappelée instamment dans tous les courriers de sollicitation, ainsi que le rôle de préfet de Seine-et-Oise tenu à cette époque par son père aient pesé plus lourds en faveur de sa nomination le 6 avril 1827 à un poste de juge-auditeur que ses qualités personnelles. Au mois de juin 1827, Alexis de Tocqueville cèdera à la volonté de sa famille en acceptant sans enthousiasme de prendre les nouvelles fonctions qu'elle a obtenues pour lui et qui ne sont d'ailleurs que modestes : le rôle de juge-auditeur est celui d'un stagiaire non rétribué de la magistrature, en attente d'un poste stable. Faute d'obtenir jamais ce poste rémunéré, Tocqueville se contentera de profiter de cette expérience pour se confronter avec la réalité de la pratique du droit qui l'intéresse bien davantage que sa théorie, même s'il n'y connaît que des succès très modérés, faute selon lui d'une plus grande maîtrise de l'art oratoire.

« [...] Devenir avec le temps une machine à droit, comme la plupart de mes semblables [...].
J'aimerai cependant mieux brûler mes livres que d'en arriver là. »
(Lettre à Louis de Kergorlay, 23 juillet 1827)

Il doit néanmoins à ces trois années de magistrature une solide culture juridique et administrative et une véritable rigueur scientifique dans l'instruction de ses dossiers qui restera l'un des traits distinctifs du penseur et de l'homme politique. Alexis de Tocqueville n'a donc vraisemblablement jamais rêvé de faire une grande carrière dans la magistrature, il redoutait même de voir son esprit se limiter au seul domaine juridique, mais il a certainement su tirer profit de cette formation de magistrat et à l'évidence saisi l'opportunité d'élargir durant ces trois années passées au tribunal de Versailles son spectre d'observation de la société française.

Portrait présumé d'Alexis de Tocqueville © Conseil de l'Ordre des avocats de Paris

Portrait présumé d'Alexis de Tocqueville
© Conseil de l'Ordre des avocats de Paris

Archives

Lettre d'Hervé de Tocqueville pour soutenir la candidature de son fils au poste de juge-auditeur daté du 28 février 1827 © CHAN

Lettre d'Hervé de Tocqueville pour soutenir la candidature de son fils
© CHAN

Lettre du Parquet au garde des sceaux © CHAN

Lettre du Parquet au garde des sceaux
© CHAN

Lettre du duc de Damas © CHAN

Lettre du duc de Damas
© CHAN

Haut de page