main menu - summary - content - site map - politique d'accessibilité

Œuvre


The Old Regime and the Revolution

Birth of the work
« Without you and your archives, I would never have been able to write the book that I am now publishing. Everything that my subsequent research has taught me is connected to you and them. By your side, I found the sequence of ideas that I had been seeking [...]. It is precisely in our conversations that I anchored in my mind the ideas that have since become the source of all the rest. »
(Letter to Charles de Grandmaison, August 9, 1856)

In the period between 1852 and 1856, the time when Tocqueville was engaged in writing his book about the Revolution, the year 1853 marked a turning point. Health problems had forced him to take a rest in Touraine, and it was during this time that he was able to make significant progress with his project. This was thanks to the archives in Tours and the richness of their holdings in materials relating to the Ancien Régime, as well as the help afforded him by the archivist, Grandmaison, who had just finished ordering the archives of his predecessor when Tocqueville came to visit him for the first time, needed only a few discussions with the great academician to understand the nature of his project, to judiciously orient his research towards the Ancien Régime, and to provide him with documents that would allow him not only to study the rules governing the administration of the Ancien Régime, but also to understand the practices and customs that, in addition to the official texts, were in force at the time. After having made daily visits to this brilliant archivist during the entire summer of 1853, and taken hundreds of pages of notes from the material that Grandmaison had supplied, Tocqueville was finally ready, in the fall of that same year, to begin writing his book, in particular the two introductory chapters that were originally meant to be the only ones to discuss the Ancien Régime. It is striking to consider that the object of these two chapters, as described by Tocqueville in a letter to his friend Jean-Jacques Ampère on January 1, 1854, correspond exactly to that of the two major parts that would soon constitute the entire work: he foresaw that he would successively deal with "the real goal of the Revolution" and the "particular traits that characterized this Revolution as one of the great upheavals of man" and then with "what caused this general revolution to begin in France rather than elsewhere", and "what it gave us in terms of particular traits that distinguish it from all the other revolutions that sprang from it". Although the writing of the book was far from complete when Tocqueville left Touraine, the entire project, including both the subject of study and the plan to follow in order to deal with it, had definitively been chosen.
Nearly three years of writing and rewriting, trial and error, and corrections would be needed for Tocqueville to extract, from the mass of examples that he had analyzed, the rigorous and clear formulation of his thought that slowly emerged during the work's creation. During this period, he also felt the need to travel to Germany, with the intention of finding "a living Ancien Régime", in order to refine the comparison that he wanted to make between the situation of France and that of Germany. Despite the relative failure of this trip from an intellectual point of view, a trace of it remains in The Old Regime and the Revolution, if only because Germany is used as a useful counterpoint for the analysis of the situation in France.
The book was finally finished early in the moth of June 1856, and since its publication was delayed for a week by the death of Hervé de Tocqueville, it was published on June 16, 1856 by
Michel LévyMichel Lévy (1821-1875)
A bookseller turned publisher, Michel Lévy published nearly every important author of the second half of the 19th century, including Dumas, Balzac, Hugo, Sand, Flaubert, Baudelaire, Stendhal, etc
. It was an immediate success, and remained so until Tocqueville's death, since in 1858 the work had already been reprinted four times in a total of nine thousand copies. Although the author had several misgivings at the idea of reappearing before the public, they were quickly banished by the glowing reception that the book was given, and which has not changed in subsequent generations.

The Prefecture of Indre-et-Loire that houses the Archives

The Prefecture of Indre-et-Loire that houses the Archives
© AD de Indre-et-Loire

Archives

Manuscript pages from 'The Old Regime and the Revolution'

Manuscript pages from The Old Regime and the Revolution; private collection
© AD Manche/A. Poirier

Haut de page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

Œuvre


L'Ancien Régime et la Révolution

Genèse de l'œuvre
« Sans vous et sans vos archives, je n'aurais pu faire le livre que je viens de publier. Tout ce que mes études antérieures m'avaient appris n'était point lié. Près de vous, j'ai trouvé l'enchaînement des idées que je cherchais [...].
C'est précisément dans nos conversations que j'ai arrêté mon esprit dans des idées qui depuis sont devenues la source de tout le reste. »
(Lettre à Charles de Grandmaison, 9 août 1856)

L'année 1853 marque un tournant décisif dans la période durant laquelle, de 1852 à 1856, Tocqueville travaille véritablement à la rédaction de son travail sur la Révolution. C'est en effet durant le séjour que ses problèmes de santé le contraignent à faire en Touraine, que son projet va faire des progrès décisifs, grâce à la richesse des Archives de Tours concernant la période de l'Ancien Régime ainsi qu'à l'aide bienfaitrice que lui apporte l'archiviste des lieux, Charles de Grandmaison. Ce dernier, qui achève justement le classement des archives de l'ancienne intendance lorsque Tocqueville vient lui rendre visite pour la première fois, n'a besoin que de quelques discussions avec le grand académicien pour comprendre la nature de son projet, pour orienter judicieusement ses recherches vers la période de l'Ancien Régime et pour prendre soin, selon le désir de Tocqueville, de lui présenter des documents qui lui permettent non seulement d'étudier les règlements régissant l'administration de l'Ancien Régime mais aussi d'appréhender les pratiques et les mœurs qui, par-delà les textes officiels, y étaient en vigueur. Après avoir quotidiennement rendu visite à ce brillant archiviste durant tout l'été 1853 et avoir noirci des centaines de feuillets de notes prises en dépouillant les différentes liasses d'archives que lui avait soumises Grandmaison, Tocqueville est enfin, à l'automne 1853, en mesure d'entamer la rédaction de son ouvrage, et notamment celle des deux premiers chapitres introductifs qui devaient initialement être les seuls à traiter de l'Ancien Régime. Or il est frappant de considérer que l'objet respectif de ces deux chapitres, tels que Tocqueville les décrit à son ami Jean-Jacques Ampère dans une lettre datée du 1er janvier 1854, correspond très exactement à celui des deux grandes parties qui constitueront par la suite l'ensemble du futur ouvrage : il prévoit ainsi d'y traiter successivement du "but véritable de la Révolution" et des "traits particuliers qui caractérisent cette Révolution parmi les grandes agitations des hommes" puis de "ce qui fait que cette révolution générale a commencé en France plutôt qu'ailleurs", de "ce qui lui a donné chez nous les traits particuliers qui la distinguent au milieu de toutes les révolutions qui sont sorties d'elle". Si la rédaction de l'ouvrage est donc loin d'être achevée lorsque Tocqueville quitte la Touraine, l'ensemble du projet, l'objet d'étude tout comme le plan à suivre pour le traiter, sont en revanche définitivement arrêtés.
Près de trois ans d'écriture et de réécriture, de tâtonnements et de corrections seront nécessaires à Tocqueville pour abstraire de la masse d'exemples analysés la formulation rigoureuse et claire de sa pensée qui s'éprouve peu à peu dans l'exercice de la rédaction. Il ressent également durant cette période le besoin de se rendre en Allemagne avec l'intention d'y retrouver "l'Ancien Régime tout vivant", afin d'affiner la comparaison qu'il veut établir dans son ouvrage entre la situation de la France et celle de l'Allemagne. Malgré l'échec relatif de ce voyage du point de vue intellectuel, L'Ancien Régime et la Révolution en porte néanmoins la trace, ne serait-ce que parce que l'Allemagne y fait figure de contrepoint utile pour l'analyse de la situation de la France.
Le livre est finalement achevé au début du mois de juin 1856, et puisque sa publication est retardée d'une semaine à cause de la mort d'Hervé de Tocqueville, il paraît le 16 juin 1856 chez
Michel LévyMichel Lévy (1821-1875)
Libraire puis éditeur, Michel Lévy édita presque tous les auteurs importants de la seconde moitié du XIXe siècle : Dumas, Balzac, Hugo, Sand, Flaubert, Baudelaire, Stendhal etc.
. Son succès est incontestable et il ne se démentira pas jusqu'à la mort de Tocqueville, puisque en 1858 l'ouvrage a déjà été réédité à quatre reprises et que ce sont en tout pas moins de neuf mille exemplaires du volume qui ont été imprimés. Si l'auteur nourrissait quelques angoisses à l'idée de reparaître devant le public, elles furent donc vite effacées par l'accueil élogieux qui fut réservé à son ouvrage et qui ne fut jamais remis en cause par la postérité.

La préfecture d'Indre-et-Loire abritait les Archives

La préfecture d'Indre-et-Loire abritait les Archives
© AD de Indre-et-Loire

Archives

Pages manuscrites de L'Ancien Régime et la Révolution

Pages manuscrites de L'Ancien Régime et la Révolution ; collection particulière
© AD Manche/A. Poirier

Haut de page