main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Œuvre


Democracy in America

The "First Democracy" (1835):
Origins and Reception
« I confess that in America I saw more than America: I looked for an image of democracy itself, its penchants, its character, its prejudices, and its passions. I wanted to know it, if only to know what we ought to hope or fear from it. »
(Democracy in America, I, Introduction)

To write a book about the institutions and social organization of the United States as a way of garnering his first public recognition was an idea that inspired Alexis de Tocqueville even before he left for America. and remained with him throughout his stay. While ostensibly on a tour of American prisons, he therefore set out to investigate American democracy in all its detail, analyzing, discussing, and reflecting on what he learned from a select group of informants about the operation of the courts, the role of associations, the decentralization of institutions, the place of religion, and so on-all of this was supposed to provide him with the material needed to write his book. Tocqueville thus returned from his travels with trunks filled with documents and a mind filled with observations and reflections, and he immediately set to work on his book, leaving it to Beaumont to draft most of the report on the American penitentiary system by himself. Nevertheless, he took time out for a first visit to England in order to gauge what part the British legacy played in American institutions before finally throwing himself fully into the drafting of the first volume of his work in September 1833. He started by working his way through the many notes he had taken during his trip. These would form the basis of the first volume of Democracy in America, although Tocqueville eventually supplemented his notes with such an abundance of documents as to constitute what he himself described as almost "a second voyage to America."

« I am working as much as I can on my America, and it has put me in a good frame of mind. . From morning until dinner I lead a purely cerebral existence, and at night I go to Marie's. . The next day I begin again, and so on day after day, with surprising regularity. »
(Letter to Louis de Kergorlay, November 11, 1833)

The manuscript was finished on August 14, 1834, after eleven months of intensive work in an attic room on the rue de Verneuil, where Tocqueville toiled alone with his "American obsession." Gustave de Beaumont then agreed to read and correct the text carefully prior to its publication on January 23, 1835, by Gosselin, who also published the great poet Lamartine. Gosselin had little hope for the success of the book, which he had not read, and cautiously ordered a print run of only about five hundred copies. Success was immediate, however, and no fewer than four editions of the text appeared in 1835 alone. Beyond any doubt, Democracy in America was that year's publishing sensation, and it earned its author not only invitations to all the literary salons and political gatherings of the capital, along with the admiration of Royer-Collard, Chateaubriand, Lamartine and Lamennais, but also election to the Académie des Sciences Morales et Politiques on January 6, 1838.

The Print Shop, Jean-Charles Develly

The Print Shop, Jean-Charles Develly, preliminary sketch
© RMN

Archives

Letter from Louis de Lamennais to Alexis de Tocqueville

Letter from Louis de Lamennais to Alexis de Tocqueville, private collection
© AD Manche

Preliminary report by Alexis de Tocqueville and Gustave de Beaumont

Preliminary report by Alexis de Tocqueville and Gustave de Beaumont
© CHAN

Tocqueville's academician's sword

Tocqueville's academician's sword, private collection
© AD Manche/A. Poirier

Haut de page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

Œuvre


De la démocratie en Amérique

La "première Démocratie" (1835) :
genèse et réception
« J'avoue que dans l'Amérique j'ai vu plus que l'Amérique ; j'y ai cherché une image de la démocratie elle-même, de ses penchants, de son caractère, de ses préjugés, de ses passions ; j'ai voulu la connaître, ne fût-ce que pour savoir du moins ce que nous devions espérer ou craindre d'elle. »
(De la démocratie en Amérique, I, introduction)

Écrire un ouvrage sur les institutions et l'organisation sociale des États-Unis pour en tirer une première forme de reconnaissance publique est une idée qui anime Alexis de Tocqueville dès avant son départ pour l'Amérique et qui le ne le quitte guère durant son séjour outre-Atlantique. Par-delà la mission pénitentiaire, l'enquête minutieuse auquel il soumet la démocratie américaine dans son ensemble - analysant, pesant et discutant à l'envi avec les interlocuteurs les plus pertinents le fonctionnement de la justice, le rôle joué par les associations dans le jeu démocratique, la décentralisation des institutions, la place occupée par la religion, etc. - doit ainsi lui fournir toute la matière nécessaire à la rédaction de cet ouvrage. Aussi Tocqueville rentre-t-il de son voyage les malles pleines de documentation et l'esprit d'observations et de réflexions et il a hâte d'en tirer l'œuvre dont il distingue de plus en plus nettement les contours ainsi que les grandes principes d'organisation, préférant laisser à Beaumont le soin de rédiger seul le rapport sur le système pénitentiaire américain. Il prend cependant le temps de se rendre pour la première fois en Angleterre dans le but de mesurer la part de l'héritage anglo-saxon dans les institutions américaines, avant de se jeter à corps perdu à partir du mois de septembre 1833 dans la rédaction du premier volume de son ouvrage. Il commence tout d'abord par se plonger dans les nombreuses notes prises au cours de son voyage qu'il a consignées dans ses petits carnets portatifs : elles constitueront le véritable matériau de base de son travail pour ce premier volume de La démocratie en Amérique, même si elles seront complétées par de très nombreuses lectures documentaires qui représenteront presque à ses yeux un "second voyage en Amérique".

« Je travaille tant que je puis à mon Amérique et je m'en trouve bien quant au moral. J'ai depuis le matin jusqu'au dîner une existence toute de tête et le soir je vais chez Marie. Le lendemain je recommence et ainsi de suite avec une régularité surprenante. »
(Lettre à Louis de Kergorlay, 11 novembre 1833)

Le manuscrit est achevé dès le 14 août 1834, après onze mois de travail acharné, passés par Tocqueville dans une mansarde de la rue de Verneuil, seul face à sa "monomanie américaine". Gustave de Beaumont se charge alors de le relire et de le corriger très minutieusement avant que l'ouvrage ne paraisse le 23 janvier 1835 chez Gosselin, l'éditeur du grand Lamartine. Gosselin ne croit guère au succès du livre, qu'il n'a d'ailleurs pas lu et qu'il choisit par prudence de faire paraître à un tout petit nombre d'exemplaires (environ cinq cents). Pourtant le succès est immédiat et d'une telle ampleur que ce ne sont pas moins de quatre éditions du texte qui se succèdent en cette année 1835. De la démocratie en Amérique est, à n'en pas douter, le succès de librairie de cette année-là et il vaut à son auteur, outre la fréquentation de tous les salons littéraires et des milieux politiques de la capitale ainsi que l'admiration de Royer-Collard, de Chateaubriand, de Lamartine ou de Lamennais, de faire son entrée à l'Académie des Sciences morales et politiques le 6 janvier 1838.

L'imprimerie, Jean-Charles Develly

L'imprimerie, Jean-Charles Develly, dessin préparatoire
© RMN

Archives

Lettre de Louis de Lamennais à Alexis de Tocqueville

Lettre de Louis de Lamennais à Alexis de Tocqueville ; collection particulière
© AD Manche

Pré-rapport d'Alexis de Tocqueville et de Gustave de Beaumont

Pré-rapport d'Alexis de Tocqueville et de Gustave de Beaumont
© CHAN

Épée d'académicien d'Alexis de Tocqueville

Épée d'académicien d'Alexis de Tocqueville, collection privée
© AD Manche/A. Poirier

Haut de page