Alexis de Tocqueville
CLOSE

"Among the new things that attracted my attention during my stay in the United States, none struck me more forcefully than the equality of conditions. I readily discovered what a prodigious influence this basic fact exerts on the workings of society. . I quickly recognized that the influence of this same fact extends well beyond political mores and laws and that it holds no less sway over civil society than over government. . A great democratic revolution is taking place among us. Everyone sees it, but not everyone judges it in the same way. There are those who regard it as something new and, believing it to be an accident, still hope to arrest it, while others deem it irresistible because in their view it is the oldest, most continuous, most permanent fact known to history. . This entire book was written in the grip of a kind of religious terror occasioned in the soul of the author by the sight of this irresistible revolution, which for centuries now has surmounted every obstacle and continues to advance amid the ruins it has created.
(Democracy in America, I)

"I see an innumerable host of men, all alike and equal, endlessly hastening after petty and vulgar pleasures with which they fill their souls. Each of them, withdrawn into himself, is virtually a stranger to the fate of all the others. For him, his children and personal friends comprise the entire human race. As for the remainder of his fellow citizens, he lives alongside them but does not see them. He touches them but does not feel them. He exists only in himself and for himself, and if he still has a family, he no longer has a country. . Over these men stands an immense tutelary power, which assumes sole responsibility for securing their pleasure and watching over their fate. It is absolute, meticulous, regular, provident, and mild. It would resemble paternal authority if only its purpose were the same, namely, to prepare men for manhood. But on the contrary, it seeks only to keep them in childhood irrevocably. It likes citizens to rejoice, provided they think only of rejoicing. It works willingly for their happiness but wants to be the sole agent and only arbiter of that happiness. It provides for their security, foresees and takes care of their needs, facilitates their pleasures, manages their most important affairs, directs their industry, regulates their successions, and divides their inheritances. Why not relieve them entirely of the trouble of thinking and the difficulty of living?"
(Democracy in America, II)

"I bequeath all my papers to my wife, and, knowing her excellent judgment and good taste, I authorize her, in accord with such of my friends or relatives as she may choose, to decide if there is anything to be published in such manuscripts as I may leave after me. She knows that my intention is that the manuscript entitled Souvenirs is not to be published until such time as its publication will not aggrieve anyone with whom I had good relations. This work is in any case only a first draft, that may require cuts before it worthy to appear before the public. In it I offer many judgments of other people. I authorize my wife alone to eliminate any she may deem unduly severe."
(Will of Alexis de Tocqueville)

"What the Revolution was less than anything else was fortuitous. True, it took the world by surprise, and yet it was merely the complement of the lengthiest of labors, the sudden and violent end of an effort to which ten generations of human beings contributed. Had it not taken place, the old social edifice would have fallen anyway, here sooner, there later, only it would have fallen piece by piece instead of collapsing all at once. With a convulsive, painful effort, without warning or precaution or consideration, it suddenly finished off something that would eventually have finished itself off little by little. That was its accomplishment."
(The Old Regime and the Revolution, I)

"Imagine, if you will, the French peasant of the eighteenth century. . See him as he is portrayed in the documents I have cited, so passionately enamored of the land that he spends all his savings to acquire it, no matter what the cost. . The little patch of earth that is the only thing in the whole wide world he can call his own fills him with pride and independence. Yet the same neighbors come to drag him away from his fields and force him to work elsewhere for no pay. If he tries to defend his seed against their game, they prevent him from doing so. The same people again wait at the river crossing to collect a toll from him. . No matter what he does, these troublesome neighbors stand in his way, disrupting his pleasure, impeding his labor, eating his produce, and when he has finished with them, others clad in black arrive to claim the better part of his harvest. Imagine the condition, the needs, the character, and the passions of this man, and calculate if you can the wealth of hatred and long that he has amassed in his heart."
(The Old Regime and the Revolution)

Alexis de Tocqueville
FERMER

"Parmi les objets nouveaux qui, pendant mon séjour aux États-Unis, ont attiré mon attention, aucun n'a plus vivement frappé mes regards que l'égalité des conditions. Je découvris sans peine l'influence prodigieuse qu'exerce ce premier fait sur la marche de la société [...]. Bientôt je reconnus que ce même fait étend son influence fort au-delà des mours politiques et des lois, et qu'il n'obtient pas moins d'emprise sur la société civile que sur le gouvernement [...]. Une grande révolution démocratique s'opère parmi nous ; tous la voient, mais tous ne la jugent point de la même manière. Les uns la considèrent comme une chose nouvelle, et, la prenant pour un accident, ils espèrent pouvoir encore l'arrêter ; tandis que d'autres la jugent irrésistible, parce qu'elle leur semble le fait le plus continu, le plus ancien et le plus permanent que l'on connaisse dans l'histoire [...]. Le livre entier [...] a été écrit sous l'impression d'une sorte de terreur religieuse produite dans l'âme de l'auteur par la vue de cette révolution irrésistible qui marche depuis tant de siècles à travers tous les obstacles, et qu'on voit encore aujourd'hui s'avancer au milieu des ruines qu'elle a faites."
(De la démocratie en Amérique, I)

"Je vois une foule innombrable d'hommes semblables et égaux qui tournent sans repos sur eux-mêmes pour se procurer de petits et vulgaires plaisirs, dont ils emplissent leurs âmes. Chacun d'eux, retiré à l'écart, est comme étranger à la destinée de tous les autres : ses enfants et ses amis particuliers forment pour lui toute l'espèce humaine ; quant au demeurant de ses concitoyens, il est à côté d'eux, mais il ne les voit pas ; il les touche et ne les sent point ; il n'existe qu'en lui-même et pour lui seul, et, s'il lui reste encore une famille, on peut dire du moins qu'il n'a plus de patrie ? [...] Au-dessus de ceux-là s'élève un pouvoir immense et tutélaire, qui se charge seul d'assurer leur jouissance et de veiller sur leur sort. Il est absolu, détaillé, régulier, prévoyant et doux. Il ressemblerait à la puissance paternelle si, comme elle, il avait pour objet de préparer les hommes à l'âge viril ; mais il ne cherche au contraire, qu'à les fixer irrévocablement dans l'enfance ; il aime que les citoyens se réjouissent, pourvu qu'ils ne songent qu'à se réjouir. Il travaille volontiers à leur bonheur mais il veut en être l'unique agent et le seul arbitre ; il pourvoit à leur sécurité, prévoit et assure leurs besoins, facilite leurs plaisirs, conduits leurs principales affaires, dirige leur industrie, règle leurs successions, divise leurs héritages ; que ne peut-il leur ôter entièrement le trouble de penser et la peine de vivre ?"
(De la démocratie en Amérique, II)

"Je lègue à ma femme tous mes papiers, connaissant son grand jugement et son bon goût, je l'autorise, d'accord avec ceux de mes amis ou de mes parents qu'elle choisira, à décider s'il y a quelque chose à publier dans les manuscrits que je pourrais laisser après moi. Elle sait que mon intention est que le manuscrit intitulé : Souvenirs, ne soit publié qu'à une époque où sa publication ne puisse contrister aucun de ceux avec lesquels j'ai eu de bons rapports. Cet ouvrage n'est du reste qu'un premier jet qui nécessiterait quelques coupures pour être digne de paraître devant le public. J'y porte beaucoup de jugements sur les hommes ; j'autorise ma femme seule à supprimer ceux qui lui paraîtront trop sévères."
(Testament d'Alexis de Tocqueville)

"Ce que la Révolution a été moins que toute autre chose, c'est un événement fortuit. Elle a pris, il est vrai, le monde à l'improviste, et cependant elle n'était que le complément du plus long travail, la terminaison soudaine et violente d'une oeuvre à laquelle dix générations d'hommes avaient travaillé. Si elle n'eût pas eu lieu, le vieil édifice social n'en serait pas moins tombé partout, ici plus tôt, là plus tard ; seulement il aurait continué à tomber pièce à pièce au lieu de s'effondrer tout à coup. La Révolution a achevé soudainement, par un effort convulsif et douloureux, sans transition, sans précaution, sans égards, ce qui se serait achevé peu à peu de soi-même à la longue. Telle fut son oeuvre."
(L'Ancien Régime et la Révolution, I)

"Imaginez-vous, je vous prie, le paysan français du XVIIIe siècle.Voyez-le tel que les documents que j'ai cités l'ont dépeint, si passionnément épris de la terre qu'il consacre à l'acheter toutes ses épargnes et l'achète à tout prix. [...] Ce petit coin du sol qui lui appartient en propre dans ce vaste univers, le remplit d'orgueil et d'indépendance. Surviennent pourtant les mêmes voisins qui l'arrachent à son champ et l'obligent à venir travailler ailleurs sans salaire. Veut-il défendre sa semence contre leur gibier : les mêmes l'en empêchent ; les mêmes l'attendent au passage de la rivière pour lui demander un droit de péage. [...] Quoiqu'il fasse, il rencontre partout sur son chemin ces voisins incommodes, pour troubler son plaisir, gêner son travail, manger ses produits ; et quand il a fini avec ceux-ci, d'autres, vêtus de noir se présentent, qui lui prennent le plus clair de sa récolte. Figurez-vous la condition, les besoins, le caractère, les passions de cet homme, et calculez, si vous le pouvez, les trésors de haine et d'envie qui se sont amassés dans son coeur"
(L'Ancien Régime et la Révolution)