Alexis de Tocqueville
CLOSE

"The property is called Les Trésorières and located about three kilometers from Tours on the road to Saumur, in the valley of La Choisille. It stands on a featureless plateau and has no view whatsoever. That is its chief defect, to which it owes its principal quality, a steady, mild temperature. Ill winds never disturb its peace. . It is furnished and in fairly good condition. . There is more than enough to feel at home here. The floors are parquet. There is a small park and a vegetable garden, as well as stables and outbuildings. For anyone who likes the sun and detests wind, I can imagine nothing more perfect. But one is imprisoned in an oasis, and there is nothing for the eye to look at beyond the rather nice garden, which is not large enough for what I would call grounds but just big enough to grow herbs and vegetables and to accommodate a few shaded paths for short walks. It is a good place to bask in the sun, with shade when one wants it. . I believe it is the only place in the Loire basin so well protected against wind from the north, the northwest, and even the west.
(Letter to Gustave de Beaumont to Alexis de Tocqueville, April 19, 1853)

"Imagine an old house flanked by two stout towers, where little has been provided for the sake of convenience and still less to please the eye. Dark rooms, vast fireLieux that offer more cold than heat, armchairs that can easily hold three people, damp walls, and corridors through which the wind whistles as cheerfully as of an autumn evening. That is an unvarnished picture of my home. Add to that a clump of woods whose birth preceded my grandfather's and whose death I shall not live to see, and a long stretch of pasture that merges with the sea at the horizon, and there you have it. No, I am wrong, your imagination has not yet conceived the profound tranquility that exists here. None of life's tumult reaches your ears. No carriage has entered the courtyard for centuries, for the simple reason that no decent road leads here. . Now, tell me, why is it that I am not at all unhappy in such an unpleasant spot? To tell the truth, I have no idea. I believe that it is quite simply the spirit of possession. This place is full of memories for me. I live here in a world of wonders. Did you know that from the top of the tower I can see the port where William embarked on his conquest of England? Did you know that all these Lieux bear names well known in your history or ours? Do you know that on the horizon lies the country in which you were born, Mary, and, if so, can you still be surprised that even in my solitude I do not feel alone?
(Letter to Mary Mottley, July 1833)

"I intend, finally, that my wife shall enjoy the broadest and most extensive use of all the buildings included in the usufruct. She may, in particular, make any changes in the assignment and use of buildings as she may see fit; initiate new construction; alter the disposition of the gardens; create new ones; change the crops and rotations; cut down any natural growth forests, reserves, planted woodlands, and scattered growth, particularly trees which in Normandy are customarily allowed to grow amid hedges; dispose as she wishes of the trees thus cut without being required to account for them; make any new plantings; and negotiate and renew all leases. All the foregoing provisions I intend to eliminate any question of conflict of interest or business arrangements between my wife and my heirs so as to preserve between them no relations other than those of friendship and family.
(Will of Alexis de Tocqueville)

"My long walks take me to a delightful little spot near the castle. It is a hill that stands between a magnificent forest and an area of recent cutting. Below the hill lies a valley, at the bottom of which is one of those cool green meadows that are so common in this region. A little farther on, the turrets of the old castle rise above the trees, and beyond them lies the ocean. It all has an out-of-the-way look, which captivated me immediately, and while one does see a little of the world, it is only a small corner, and what one sees is admirable. It occurred to me that if I ever wish to live in Tourlaville, I would build a cottage on this hill. The castle is out of the question: it is completely unlivable.
(Letter to Mary Mottley, July 28, 1833)

Alexis de Tocqueville
FERMER

"Elle se nomme Les Trésorières ; à environ trois kilomètres de Tours aussi par la route de Tours à Saumur, dans la vallée de la Choisille : occupant un plateau uni, elle manque absolument de vue ; c'est là son grand défaut ; elle doit à ce défaut sa principale qualité, qui est de posséder une température d'une douceur inaltérable : pas un souffle de mauvais vent n'y peut pénétrer. C'est meublé et en assez bon état. il y aurait assez et au-delà de ce qu'il vous faut pour vous loger ; tout aussi est parqueté ; il y a un petit parc et potager qui serait compris dans la location ; écuries et remises. Pour qui aimerait le soleil et voudrait ne jamais recevoir un souffle de mauvais vent, je n'imaginerais rien de plus parfait ; mais on est emprisonné dans une oasis et l'oil ne voit rien au-delà d'un assez joli jardin, qui n'est pas assez grand pour que je l'appelle un parc, et qui cependant est assez grand pour ceci : contenir un bon potager et quelques petites promenades bien ombragées. C'est une lézardière avec des ombres quand on en veut. (.) C'est, je crois, sur le bassin de la Loire le seul point qui soit au même degré abrité contre tous les vents du Nord, du Nord-Ouest et même de l'Ouest."
(Lettre de Gustave de Beaumont à Alexis de Tocqueville, 19 avril 1853)

"Figurez-vous une vieille maison flanquée de deux lourdes tours, où rien ne semble fait pour la commodité et encore moins pour l'agrément de l'oil. Des chambres obscures, de vastes cheminées qui donnent plus de froid que de chaud, des fauteuils où l'on tiendrait trois à l'aise, des murs humides et des corridors où le vent siffle aussi gaiement qu'il peut le faire dans une soirée d'automne. Voici le tableau fidèle de mon habitation. Ajoutez à cela un bouquet de bois que mon grand-père n'a pas vu naître, et que je ne verrai pas mourir, et une longue prairie que la mer termine à l'horizon et vous aurez tout : je me trompe, vous n'imaginez pas encore la tranquillité profonde qu'on goûte en ces lieux. Point de bruit de vie n'arrive jusqu'aux oreilles ; jamais, depuis des siècles, une voiture n'est entrée dans la cour du château. La raison en est simple. Aucun chemin praticable ne saurait y mener. [...]. Maintenant, dites-moi, qu'est-ce qui fait que je ne me déplais point dans un lieu si peu agréable ? En vérité, je l'ignore. Je crois que c'est tout simplement l'esprit de propriété. Ce lieu est pour moi plein de souvenirs. J'y vis dans un monde de chimères. Savez-vous que du haut de la tour j'aperçois le port où Guillaume s'est embarqué pour aller conquérir l'Angleterre ? Savez-vous que tous ces lieux portent des noms fameux dans notre histoire ou dans la vôtre ? Enfin pensez-vous qu'à l'horizon est le pays où vous êtes née, Marie, et vous étonnerez-vous après cela que ma solitude soit peuplée ?"
(Lettre à Marie Mottley, juillet 1833)

"J'implique enfin que ma femme aura la jouissance la plus large et la plus étendue de tous les immeubles contenus dans l'usufruit. Elle pourra, notamment, faire dans les bâtiments tous les changements de distribution et de destination que bon lui semblera ; faire toutes constructions nouvelles ; changer la disposition des jardins ; en faire de nouveaux ; changer les cultures et les assolements ; abattre toutes futaies, réserves, plantations et arbres épars, particulièrement, les arbres qu'il est d'usage en Normandie de laisser croître sur les haies ; disposons ainsi qu'elle avisera, des arbres ainsi abattus et sans en être comptable ; faire toutes plantations nouvelles ; passer et renouveler tous baux.
Toutes les dispositions qui précèdent ont pour but, dans ma pensée, de supprimer en quelque sorte, tous rapports d'intérêts et d'affaires entre ma femme et mes héritiers afin de ne laisser subsister, entre eux, que des rapports d'amitié et de famille."
(Testament d'Alexis de Tocqueville)

"Mes longues courses à pied m'ont amené dans un délicieux petit coin, près du château. C'est une colline placée entre un bois magnifique et une nouvelle taille. La colline descend jusqu'à une vallée au fond de laquelle se trouve une de ces fraîches et vertes prairies comme il y en a tant en ce pays. En avant, les tourelles du vieux château s'élèvent d'entre les arbres et plus loin est la mer ; le tout a un air retiré qui m'a séduit tout d'abord, on y aperçoit cependant le monde, mais ce n'est que par un petit coin et ce qu'on en voit est admirable. J'ai pensé que si je voulais jamais habiter Tourlaville je ferais bâtir un petit cottage sur cette colline. Il ne faut pas songer au château, il est décidément inlogeable."
(Lettre à M. Mottley, 28 juillet 1833)