main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Politics & Views


The July Monarchy

The representative from La Manche

The Valognes church

The Valognes church, anonymous
© AD Manche

Although Tocqueville clearly did not enjoy his time in the Chamber of Deputies, he found much more satisfaction in the company of his Normandy constituents. The displays of joy each time he was re-elected, as well as the warm welcome that he received during his election tours seemed to reconcile him to his political plans. One could point out that among his constituency he had organized a particularly efficient form of political cronyism, attested to by the presence, among his papers, of many and various lists of voters, which list their political leanings, and details about their professional and private life. This would, however, give short shrift to Tocqueville's real attachment to his region of origin, as well as to the lives of its inhabitants. In the land of Tocqueville, he benefited from the prestige connected with the great politician from the region and, without being a dupe, re-connected with the tradition of the aristocratic era by taking on the role of Lord of the Manor. For example, he continued the work of his father, and organized the distribution of bread to the poorest families in the village of Tocqueville, and he did his utmost to find paid work for unemployed heads of households - a solution he preferred to private charity.

« What made me a thousand times happier than the election was the way in which the population greeted it. As soon as the results were known, many residents left their homes. An enormous crowd of people tried to accompany me home with joyful cries and hurrahs, which would have made me dizzy with joy had I been sure of being able to live up to such enthusiasm. I was obliged to say a few words to the crowd from my window. At the end there was a veritable ovation such as Valognes had never seen before. »
(Letter to Francisque de Corcelle,
March 6, 1839)

Faithful to the idea of decentralization, however, his works extended to the entire department of La Manche, and he attempted to improve the current situation and give it a future. Thus, in the elections of 1842, he was made councilor of the combined cantons of Montebourg and Sainte-Mère-Église, without even having to officially announce his candidature. He took his role in this assembly very seriously, adding his weight to discussions, studying every bill relating to the life of the department, and energetically drawing up the most significant reports, such as those concerned with the elimination of towers to accommodate orphans in hospitals, aid to young mothers, and the project of a railway line between Paris and Cherbourg. He was a fervent defender of this railway line both in Paris - where he emphasized the strategic and military interest of such a link - and in Saint-Lô, where he attempted to convince the other councilors of the economic interests that the railway would represent in terms of access to the Parisian market.

« From contact with all these people it is quite easy to see that, on the whole, the country is better than the people who run it. All these groups of people among whom I live share a relatively untutored but very eager taste for liberty and the rule of law. »
(Letter to Louis de Kergorlay, October 25, 1842)

In 1846, a law outlined the principle of this railway connection, but the complex study of the various possible routes delayed its concrete implementation for a long time. The question of financing for the second part of the line between Caen and Cherbourg was still on the agenda for the last session of the Departmental Council, chaired by Tocqueville in the spring of 1852. He had become Council president for La Manche in 1849, and remained there for three years, until his refusal to join the Second Empire forced him to resign, regretfully, this local mandate to which he had become quite attached. Tocqueville was aware that his local political action allowed him to act more easily on behalf of his fellow citizens, and for the future of a country that his considered as his own.

See
Political Figures

Map of Valognes

Map of the Valognes arrondissement, Bitouzé-Dauxmesnil, 1835
© AD Manche

Archives

Voter rolls

Voter rolls for the preparation of the legislative elections of 1842, private collection
© AD Manche/A. Poirier

Order by Louis-Philippe concerning the organization of the railroads

Order by Louis-Philippe concerning the organization of the railroads, 1842 © CHAN

Letter from the Western Railway Company

Letter from the Western Railway Company to the Eure Departmental Council, 1845 © CHAN

Map of the Paris-Caen-Cherbourg railway line

Map appended to the report on the Paris-Caen-Cherbourg railway line
© CHAN

Bill relating to the Western railways

Bill relating to the Western railways, Dated May 5, 1846 © CHAN

Minutes of the meeting on the railway committee

Minutes of the meeting on March 19, 1852 relating to the railway committee
© AD Manche

Minutes of the deliberations of the Manche Departmental Council

Minutes of the deliberations of the Manche Departmental Council © AD Manche

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

engagements


La monarchie de Juillet

Le représentant de la Manche

Église de Valognes

Église de Valognes, anonyme
© AD Manche

Si Tocqueville ne se plaît guère à la Chambre des députés, il trouve en revanche davantage de satisfactions dans la compagnie de ses électeurs normands : les manifestations de joie que suscite chacune de ses élections ainsi que l'accueil chaleureux qu'il reçoit lors de ses tournées électorales semblent le réconcilier avec ses desseins politiques. On pourrait certes lui reprocher d'avoir organisé dans son fief une forme de clientélisme électoral particulièrement efficace, dont témoignent aujourd'hui encore dans ses papiers les différentes et nombreuses listes d'électeurs, qui le renseignent sur leurs tendances politiques ainsi que sur les détails de leur situation professionnelle et familiale, mais ce serait omettre son réel attachement à sa terre d'origine ainsi qu'au sort de ses habitants. Il jouit dans le pays de Tocqueville du prestige attaché à la figure du grand homme politique de la région et renoue, sans en être dupe, avec la tradition des âges aristocratiques en endossant le rôle de châtelain du lieu : il poursuit par exemple les habitudes de son père en organisant la distribution de pain aux familles les plus démunies du village de Tocqueville et il s'évertue à trouver un travail rémunéré - solution à ses yeux préférable à la charité privée - aux chefs de famille qui en sont privés.

« Ce qui m'a rendu mille fois plus heureux que l'élection c'est la manière dont la population l'a accueillie. Dès que le résultat a été connu, une grande partie des habitants sont sortis de chez eux. Une foule énorme a voulu me reconduire jusque chez moi avec des cris de joie et des vivats dont j'aurais été étourdi et enivré, si j'avais été sûr de pouvoir justifier cet enthousiasme. Il a fallu adresser de ma fenêtre quelques paroles à la foule. C'était enfin une véritable ovation comme Valognes n'en avait jamais vu. »
(Lettre à Francisque de Corcelle,
6 mars 1839)

Mais fidèle à l'idée de décentralisation, son action s'étend également à l'ensemble du département de la Manche, dont il tient à améliorer la situation présente et à garantir l'avenir. Il est ainsi élu conseiller général des cantons jumelés de Montebourg et de Sainte-Mère-Église aux élections de décembre 1842, sans même avoir eu besoin de s'être porté officiellement candidat. Il prend son rôle à cœur dans cette assemblée, intervient avec poids dans les discussions, étudie tous les textes relatifs à la vie du département, et consacre son énergie à la rédaction des rapports les plus importants comme ceux qui concernent la suppression des tours pour accueillir les orphelins dans les hôpitaux, l'aide à apporter aux filles mères ou encore le projet d'une ligne de chemin de fer reliant Paris à Cherbourg. Il défend ce dernier projet avec ferveur aussi bien à Paris, où il ne manque pas de mettre en avant l'intérêt stratégique et militaire d'une telle liaison, qu'à Saint-Lô, devant les autres conseillers généraux, qu'il tente de convaincre grâce aux intérêts économiques que représenterait pour la région l'accessibilité du marché parisien.

« Il est bien facile de voir dans le contact de tous ces gens-là qu'à tout prendre le pays vaut mieux que ceux qui le dirigent. Toutes ces populations au milieu desquelles je vis ont un goût mal éclairé mais très vif pour la liberté et l'obéissance aux lois. »
(Lettre à Louis de Kergorlay, 25 octobre 1842)

En 1846, une loi adopte le principe de cette liaison ferroviaire mais l'étude complexe des différents tracés possibles de la ligne retarde longuement sa concrétisation. La question du financement du deuxième tronçon de la ligne entre Caen et Cherbourg est encore à l'ordre du jour lors de la dernière session du Conseil général présidée par Tocqueville au printemps 1852. Il est en effet devenu président du Conseil général de la Manche en 1849 et le restera trois ans jusqu'à ce que son refus d'adhérer au Second Empire le contraigne à démissionner avec regret, et en dernier, de ce mandat local auquel il est très attaché. Si son ambition personnelle l'a porté vers une carrière politique d'envergure nationale, Tocqueville a conscience que son action politique locale lui permettait plus aisément d'agir véritablement pour le sort de ses concitoyens et pour l'avenir d'un pays qu'il considère comme le sien.

Voir
les personnalités
politiques

Carte de Valognes

Carte de l'arrondissement de Valognes ; Bitouzé-Dauxmesnil, 1835
© AD Manche

Archives

Liste d'électeurs

Liste d'électeurs pour la préparation des élections législatives de 1842, coll. privée © AD Manche/A. Poirier

Odonnance de Louis-Philippe sur les chemins de fer

Odonnance de Louis-Philippe sur l'organisation des chemins de fer
© CHAN

Lettre de la Compagnie des Chemins de fer de l'Ouest

Lettre de la Compagnie des Chemins de fer de l'Ouest au Conseil général de l'Eure, 1845
© CHAN

Plan de la ligne Paris-Caen-Cherbourg

Plan annexé au rapport sur la ligne Paris-Caen-Cherbourg
© CHAN

Projet de loi relatif aux chemins de fer de l'Ouest

Projet de loi relatif aux chemins de fer de l'Ouest, daté du 5 mai 1846
© CHAN

Procès-verbal relatif aux chemins de fer

Procès-verbal de la séance du 19 mars 1852 relative à la commission du chemin de fer
© AD Manche

Délibérations du conseil général de la Manche

Procès-verbal des délibérations du conseil général du département de la Manche
© AD Manche

Haut de page