main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Voyages


The July Monarchy

The Monarchy and its monarch
« In the political world thus constituted and conducted, what was most lacking, especially toward the end, was political life itself. »
(Souvenirs)

The Revolution of 1830 overcame the last of Tocqueville's legitimist scruples. However, his attachment to the new regime was not exactly enthusiastic, as can be seen in his reticence to swear an oath of allegiance to the Constitutional Charter and the new King of the French. Although the majority of his political career was spent under the July Monarchy, he turned a critical eye on this regime, which represented the triumph of the bourgeoisie. In his Souvenirs, he accused it of being a slave to middle-class interests and of "resembling, towards the end, an industrial firm in which every action is taken with a view to the profits that the management can make out of it." Even Louis-Philippe did not escape his critical eye: he found that the Prince's faults - of which there were many - faithfully reflected the era's vices, which his influence only worsened. The monarch was, to Tocqueville's way of thinking, modest in his tastes, passions, and desires; his limited mind embraced the useful to the detriment of the truth, and his conversation was as full of commonplaces as his entourage was with dishonest courtiers.

« Will we ever again witness the powerful winds of true political passion . passion violent, harsh, and sometimes cruel, but great, selfless, and creative? I cannot get used to what confronts us today. I will never get used to it. »
(Letter to Francisque de Corcelle, October 19, 1839)

According to Tocqueville, the mediocrity of the monarch's personality was reflected in the Chamber of Deputies, where the dynasty of "Thiers, Molé, Guizot" held sway. There was an absence of genuine parliamentary activity organized around major political parties based on clearly announced policies, as Tocqueville would have liked. Instead, political life under the July Monarchy consisted of insignificant questions of interest, compromise, and a spirit of cronyism that ruled over a "little democratic and bourgeois stewpot", from which legitimist and republican representatives were excluded. Tocqueville never found his place in this arrangement, and perhaps it is for this reason that he failed to mention, as posterity has often also done, the more positive aspects of the regime. These included a commitment to freedom of the press, from which Tocqueville himself benefited during his adventure with Le Commerce, and a frequent display of good will, as it showed regarding the fate of slaves in the French colonies, for example. The July Monarchy was definitely more liberal and enlightened than it has been given credit for, but it was too lackluster to meet the heroic aspirations of the young deputy Tocqueville, who had hoped, upon entering on the political scene, to fill his sails with the great wind of History.

See
Political Figures

Caricature of Louis-Philippe

Caricature of Louis-Philippe, Charles Philippon © PMVP

Louis-Philippe, Winterhalter

Louis-Philippe Ier, king of the French, Franz-Xaver Winterhalter
© RMN / Droits réservés

Caricature of Louis-Philippe

Monsieur Croupion, caricature of Louis-Philippe © PMVP

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

Voyages


La monarchie de Juillet

La Monarchie et son monarque
« Dans ce monde politique ainsi composé et ainsi conduit, ce qui manquait le plus, surtout vers la fin, c’était la vie politique elle-même. »
(Souvenirs)

La Révolution de 1830 a eu raison des derniers scrupules légitimistes de Tocqueville, sans que son adhésion au nouveau régime en soit pour autant enthousiaste, comme le montrent ses réticences à prêter serment à la Charte constitutionnelle et au nouveau roi des Français. Or, bien que ce soit sous la Monarchie de Juillet qu’il accomplisse la majeure partie de sa carrière politique, le regard qu’il porte sur ce régime qui marque le triomphe de la bourgeoisie sera toujours sévère. Il l’accuse dans ses Souvenirs de s’être asservi aux intérêts de la classe moyenne et d’ "avoir pris sur la fin les allures d’une compagnie industrielle où toutes les opérations se font en vue du bénéfice que les sociétaires peuvent en retirer". Loin d’excepter Louis-Philippe de ses critiques, il estime que les défauts de ce Prince, dont il dresse une impitoyable liste, sont le fidèle reflet des vices de cette époque que son influence ne fait qu’aggraver. Ce monarque est à ses yeux modéré dans ses goûts, dans ses passions comme dans ses désirs ; son esprit, limité dans ses vues, ne se tourne que vers l’utile au mépris de la vérité et de la vertu et sa conversation est encombrée par les lieux communs, comme son entourage par les courtisans malhonnêtes.

« Ne verrons-nous donc jamais s’élever de nouveau le vent des véritables passions politiques., de ces passions violentes, dures, cruelles quelquefois, mais grandes, désintéressées, fécondes. Je ne m’accoutume point à ce que nous avons sous les yeux. Je ne m’y accoutumerai jamais. »
(Lettre à Francisque de Corcelle, 19 octobre 1839)

Selon lui, la médiocrité de la personnalité du monarque est en outre relayée à la Chambre des députés – où règne la dynastie "Thiers, Molé, Guizot" – par l’absence de réelle activité parlementaire organisée autour de grands partis, fondés sur des politiques clairement énoncées, comme il le souhaiterait. Ce sont en revanche les petites questions d’intérêt, les compromis et l’esprit de camaraderie qui président au "petit pot au feu démocratique et bourgeois" de la vie politique sous la Monarchie de Juillet, dont sont exclus les représentants légitimistes et républicains et où Tocqueville ne trouvera jamais sa place. Peut-être est-ce pour cette raison qu’il omet, comme l’a également souvent fait la postérité, les aspects plus reluisants de ce régime qui a su offrir de nombreuses garanties à la liberté de la presse, dont Tocqueville bénéficie lui-même durant son aventure journalistique du Commerce, et qui a souvent fait preuve de beaucoup de bonne volonté, comme en ce qui concerne le sort des esclaves dans les colonies françaises par exemple. Ce régime est en définitive plus libéral et éclairé qu’on ne l’a souvent dit, mais il est trop terne pour combler les aspirations héroïques du jeune député Tocqueville, qui espère en faisant son entrée sur la scène politique sentir le souffle de la grande Histoire.

Voir
les personnalités
politiques

Caricature de Louis-Philippe

Caricature de Louis-Philippe, Charles Philippon
© PMVP

Louis-Philippe par  Winterhalter

Louis-Philippe Ier, roi des Français, Franz-Xaver Winterhalter
© RMN / Droits réservés

Caricature de Louis-Philippe

Monsieur Croupion, caricature de Louis-Philippe
© PMVP

Haut de page