main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Politics & Views


His convictions

The Penitentiary System
« Perhaps you do not know what the penitentiary system is. . At least you know that it is a subject that has nothing political about it and concerns nothing other
than the well-being of society
in general. »
(Letter to Charles Stöffels,
November 4, 1830)

Although Tocqueville had probably become aware of the issue of France's penal institutions during his time as an apprentice magistrate at the Versailles court, it was only in 1830 that he became specifically interested in the problem, when he was preparing for a hoped-for mission to America on this very topic that he would undertake with Beaumont. In particular, after a visit to the house of detention at Poissy on September 2, 1830, he drew up a disturbing report on the French penitentiary system. He felt that the overwhelming disorganization and laxness in prisons, which turned them into freewheeling schools of crime, did not sufficiently prevent the risk of recidivism. This in turn posed great danger to civil society, which the penal system was supposed to protect. On the other hand, the voyage to America would allow him to study a veritable penal laboratory that, in addition to being economical, specifically adapted detention conditions to the inmates.
Of course, the visit to American prisons made him see that France would be unable to exactly reproduce the solutions adopted by the United States, and that it would not be able, like at Auburn, to achieve discipline through the lash. However, he held to certain convictions for a long time, such as the virtue of solitary confinement, which was invented in the United States. Upon his return to France, he let Beaumont take care of the writing of The Penal System in America qwhich he simply annotated, but this text, which was awarded the Monthyon Prize, brought him his first public recognition.
For Tocqueville, before he became the author of Democracy in America the question of penal systems was above all a springboard to fame. Later, it became one of his parliamentary specialties. On two occasions during his career as deputy under the July Monarchy, in 1840 and then in 1843-44, he was appointed rapporteur for bills concerned with prison reform. These bills were constantly amended and postponed, until a law was finally adopted in 1847, although a lack of time and resources kept it from being applied. Nevertheless, it gave him the chance to take part in the recurrent Chamber debates on the subject, and to defend his point of view.

« An intelligent society will always believe that whatever it spends usefully on its prisons will be repaid in tranquility and even wealth. »
(Report of the Commission on Prisons, 1843)

He thus became the sworn enemy of the philanthropist party, headed by Charles Lucas, by defending the severe measure of solitary confinement, which presented a number of advantages to his way of thinking. It prevented promiscuity and communication between inmates, it reduced surveillance costs and lessened the risks of recidivism by making imprisonment more difficult to bear, and it encouraged prisoners' moral reform by leaving them alone with their consciences. it should be pointed out that for Tocqueville the goal of the penal system was not so much to give a prisoner the chance to mend his ways, but to protect society from elements that threatened it. Only children, who Tocqueville felt were more unfortunate than guilty, were exceptions to this. He thought that society should protect them by isolating them from other prisoners, and help rehabilitate them by providing special institutions. This is why in 1839 he agreed to be one of the founders of the Mettray agricultural and penal colony, which intended to reform young delinquents through farm labor. This establishment, although founded on idealist principles, has the sorry reputation of being the ancestor of the child labor colonies that would appear in fifty years' time, at a time when France had only begun to adopt the principle of cellular confinement that Tocqueville had so often advocated. We don't know what he would have thought of the results obtained, but he was nevertheless one of the first to see that the penal universe, far from being a marginal place, was a guarantor for civil society, and even a barometer of its ills.

See
Political Figures

Interior of a multi-level prison by Steinlen

Interior of a multi-level prison, Théophile-Alexandre Steinlen ; Paris, musée du Louvre
© RMN / Thierry Le Mage

Archives

Project for a cellular penitentiary for 586 inmates

Project for a cellular penitentiary for 586 inmates, A. Blouet, architecte © CHAN

Prison bill

Resolution by the Camber accompanying the postponement of a prison bill © CHAN

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

engagements


Ses convictions

Le système pénitentiaire
« Vous ne savez peut-être pas ce que c'est que le système pénitentiaire [...]
Vous savez du moins que c'est une matière qui n'a rien de politique et qui ne se rapporte qu'au bien-être de la Société en général. »
(Lettre à Charles Stöffels,
4 novembre 1830)

Bien que Tocqueville ait vraisemblablement été sensibilisé à la question pénitentiaire en France dès son passage au tribunal de Versailles comme juge auditeur, ce n'est qu'en 1830 qu'il s'intéresse plus spécifiquement à ce problème, pour préparer la mission en Amérique qu'il envisage de briguer avec Beaumont sur ce même sujet. Après avoir notamment visité la maison de détention de Poissy le 2 septembre 1830, il dresse un constat inquiétant de l'organisation du système pénitentiaire français : il estime que sa désorganisation et le laxisme régnant dans les maisons d'arrêt, qui se transforment en joyeuses écoles du crime, ne préviennent pas suffisamment les risques de récidive et font par conséquent courir de grands dangers à la société civile que l'institution pénitentiaire devrait précisément protéger. En contrepartie, le voyage en Amérique doit lui permettre d'étudier un véritable laboratoire carcéral qui, en plus d'être économique, adapte les conditions de détention aux spécificités des détenus.
La visite des pénitenciers américains lui permet certes de comprendre que la France ne peut envisager de reproduire fidèlement les solutions adoptées par les États-Unis, et qu'elle ne saurait par exemple obtenir, de la même façon qu'à Auburn, la discipline par des coups de fouet, mais il restera longtemps fidèle à certaines convictions, comme la vertu de l'isolement cellulaire, qu'il s'est forgées aux États-Unis. De retour en France, il laisse Beaumont se charger de la rédaction Du Système pénitentiaire aux États-Unis qu'il se contente d'annoter ; mais ce texte, en recevant le prix Monthyon, ne lui confère pas moins sa première reconnaissance publique.
La question du système pénitentiaire fut donc d'abord pour Tocqueville un tremplin vers la notoriété avant qu'il ne devienne l'auteur de De la démocratie en Amérique ; elle devient ensuite l'une de ses spécialités parlementaires, puisque durant sa carrière de député sous la Monarchie de Juillet, il est nommé à deux reprises, en 1840 puis en 1843-1844, rapporteur de projets de loi sur la réforme pénitentiaire. Ces projets seront sans cesse amendés et repoussés, jusqu'à l'adoption finale d'une loi en 1847, qui ne sera jamais appliquée faute de temps et de moyens. Ils lui donnent cependant l'occasion de prendre part à la Chambre aux récurrents débats sur ce sujet et de défendre son point de vue.

« Une société intelligente croira toujours regagner en tranquillité et même en richesse ce qu'elle dépense utilement pour ses prisons. »
(Rapport de la commission
sur les prisons
, 1843)

Il se fait ainsi l'adversaire résolu du parti des philanthropes, dont le chef de file est Charles Lucas, en défendant notamment le sévère principe de l'isolement cellulaire qui présente à ses yeux de nombreux avantages : il permet d'éviter la promiscuité et la communication entre les détenus, il réduit les coûts de surveillance ainsi que les risques de récidive en rendant l'emprisonnement plus pénible, et il peut favoriser la réforme morale du prisonnier qu'il laisse seul face à sa conscience. Mais il faut préciser que pour Tocqueville l'enjeu du système pénitentiaire n'est pas tant d'offrir aux détenus la chance de s'amender que de défendre la société de ceux qui la menacent. Seuls les enfants, qui sont à ses yeux moins coupables que malheureux, font exception en la matière. Il estime même que la société se doit de les protéger en les isolant des autres détenus et de les récupérer en prévoyant pour eux des établissements spécifiques. C'est pour cette raison qu'il accepte dès 1839 de faire partie des fondateurs de la colonie agricole et pénitentiaire de Mettray, qui se propose de réformer les jeunes délinquants par le travail de la terre. Cet établissement, bien que fondé sur des principes idéalistes, garde néanmoins la triste réputation d'être l'ancêtre des bagnes pour enfants qui apparaîtront cinquante ans plus tard, alors que la France commence seulement à adopter le principe de l'encellulement des détenus si souvent défendu par Tocqueville. On ne sait comment il jugerait les résultats obtenus, mais on lui doit cependant d'être l'un des premiers a avoir pensé l'univers carcéral, non pas comme un monde marginal, mais comme un garant de la société, voire comme son révélateur.

Voir
les personnalités
politiques

Intérieur d'une prison à étages par Steinlen

Intérieur d'une prison à étages avec quelques gardiens, Théophile-Alexandre Steinlen ; Paris, musée du Louvre
© RMN/Thierry Le Mage

Archives

Projet de pénitencier cellulaire pour 586 détenus

Projet de pénitencier cellulaire pour 586 détenus, A. Blouet, architecte © CHAN

Projet de loi sur les prisons

Résolution de la Chambre accompagnant l'envoi du projet de loi sur les prisons
© CHAN

Haut de page