main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Politics & Views


His convictions

Slavery and Colonies
« The point is not whether slavery is wicked and ought to be ended but when and how best to put an end to it. »
(Report of the Commission on Slaves in the Colonies, 1839)

Tocqueville had barely entered the Chamber of Deputies in 1839 when he was called on to take part in the discussion of the problem of the abolition of slavery, which had become a burning question in France since the emancipation of blacks had become a reality in British colonies on January 1, 1838. These conditions made it difficult for France to uphold slavery in its colonies of Guadeloupe, Martinique, La Réunion and Guyana, as these territories were surrounded by British colonies.
Since his trip to the United States, Tocqueville had been firmly convinced that slavery was not only a scandal in itself, but was also a blight on society. As he crossed the southern part of the States, he seemed to have been profoundly shocked by the condition of slaves and their treatment at the hands of whites, who nevertheless boasted of their extremely Puritan ideology. His travel notes also prove that he predicted that the question of slavery would be the source of vast conflict pitting slave States against abolitionist States. Gustave de Beaumont, his traveling companion, even wrote a novel on the subject - entitled Marie, or Slavery in the United States - and it appears that the topic was a constant source of discussion between the two men during their voyage.

« Slavery is one of those institutions that will last a thousand years if no one asks why it exists but almost impossible to maintain once that question is raised. »
(Report of the Commission on Slaves in the Colonies, 1839)

Thus, in 1839, when Tocqueville was appointed rapporteur to the Committee examining the question of the abolition of slavery, his opinion was already written in stone. The report that he submitted on July 23, 1839 was an unequivocal defense of the principle of an immediate, simultaneous emancipation of all blacks, and foresaw that, for a short, transitional period, the State would have to settle differences between the newly-freed slaves and their former owners. This was an original position, not because the concept of the abolition of slavery had not gained currency since the foundation of the duke de Broglie's Anti-Slavery Society in 1834 but rather because even those politicians who supported the idea espoused a progressive form of abolition in which slaves would be educated in the idea of freedom. Tocqueville refuted every argument of this sort in his report, which explained, in eminently Tocquevillian terms, that only the experience of freedom would teach the slave what it is to be free. He expressed it this way: "only the experience of freedom, a long-term freedom contained and directed by an energetic and moderate power, will suggest and give men opinions, virtues and customs worthy of citizens of a free country."

See
Political Figures

PTitle page of Marie, Gustave de Beaumont

Title page of Marie, Gustave de Beaumont
© AD Manche / A. Poirier

Portrait of a slave from Mauritius

Portrait of a slave from Mauritius, French school
© RMN / Droits réservés

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

engagements


Ses convictions

Esclavage et colonies
« Il ne s'agit point de savoir si l'esclavage est mauvais, et s'il doit finir, mais quand et comment il convient qu'il cesse. »
(Rapport de la commission relative aux esclaves des colonies, 1839)

À peine après avoir fait son entrée à la Chambres des députés en 1839, Tocqueville est amené à prendre une part active à la discussion du problème de l'abolition de l'esclavage, qui se pose de façon brûlante à la France depuis que l'émancipation des noirs est devenue une réalité dans les colonies anglaises le 1er janvier 1838. Ces conditions rendent difficile le maintien par la France de l'esclavage dans les colonies de la Guadeloupe, de la Martinique, de la Réunion et de la Guyane, alors que ces territoires sont encerclés par des colonies britanniques.
Tocqueville, pour sa part, est intimement convaincu, depuis son voyage aux États-Unis, que l'esclavage est non seulement un scandale en soi mais qu'il représente également un fléau pour la société. Il semble en effet avoir été profondément choqué, lors de son périple à travers le sud du pays, par le sort réservé aux esclaves et par les traitements qu'ils subissent de la part de blancs, alors même que ces derniers se prévalent d'une idéologie extrêmement puritaine. Ses notes de voyage prouvent également qu'il a pressenti que la question de l'esclavage serait à l'origine d'un vaste conflit qui devrait opposer les États esclavagistes aux États abolitionnistes. Son compagnon de voyage, Gustave de Beaumont, consacre même son roman Marie - dont le sous-titre n'est autre que ou l'esclavage aux États-Unis - à ce sujet, qui semble avoir été au cœur de nombre de ses discussions avec Tocqueville outre-Atlantique.

« L'esclavage est une de ces institutions qui durent mille ans si personne ne s'avise de demander pourquoi elle existe, mais qu'il est presque impossible de maintenir le jour où cette demande est faite. »
(Rapport de la commission relative aux esclaves des colonies, 1839)

Aussi, lorsque Tocqueville est nommé en 1839 rapporteur de la Commission chargée d'examiner la question de l'abolition de l'esclavage, son opinion est-elle déjà fermement forgée. Le rapport qu'il dépose le 23 juillet 1839 défend de façon univoque le principe d'une émancipation simultanée et immédiate des noirs et prévoit que l'État devra régler durant une courte période transitoire les différends entre les anciens maîtres et les nouveaux affranchis. Cette position est originale, non pas que l'idée de l'abolition de l'esclavage n'ait pas gagné du terrain depuis la fondation en 1834 d'une "Société pour l'abolition de l'esclavage" présidée par le duc de Broglie, mais parce même les hommes politiques qui en admettent l'idée prônent une forme progressive de l'abolition qui doit permettre aux esclaves d'être éduqués à la liberté. Tocqueville réfute tous les arguments de cette sorte dans son rapport qui explique en des termes éminemment tocquevilliens que seule l'expérience de la liberté saura enseigner à l'esclave ce que c'est que d'être libre. Il l'écrit dans son rapport en ces termes : "l'expérience seule de la liberté, la liberté longtemps contenue et dirigée par un pouvoir énergique et modéré, peut suggérer et donner à l'homme les opinions, les vertus et les habitudes qui conviennent au citoyen d'un pays libre."

Voir
les personnalités
politiques

Page de titre de Marie, de Gustave de Beaumont

Page de titre de Marie, de Gustave de Beaumont
© AD Manche / A. Poirier

Portrait d'esclave de l'île Maurice

Portrait d'esclave de l'île Maurice, école française
© RMN / Droits réservés

Haut de page