main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Politics & Views


The Coup d'Etat of 1851

Internal exile
« There, Sir, lies our fate. Force overturns law, tramples freedom of the press and of individuals, and mocks the will of the people in whose name the government claims to act; France wrenched from the family of free nations and subjected to the same yoke as the despotic monarchies of the continent:
that is the result of the coup d'état. »
(Letter to Mrs. Grote,
December 8, 1851)

After his release from his prison cell in Vincennes, Tocqueville's first concern was to inform France and the rest of the world of the reality of the events that had unfolded beneath his gaze. To do so, he decided to send - anonymously and with the assistance of his friend
Mrs GroteHarriet Grote (1792-1878)
Wife of George Grote. Close friend of the Senior family and through them of Tocqueville. It was to her that Tocqueville sent his detailed account of the "events of December 2, 1851" for publication in the Times.
a long account to The Times. The celebrated London paper, which had, like all of the London press, accepted the Bonapartist interpretation of the coup d'état - that it was justified by the need to protect the president against the National Assembly, and to avoid the danter of a Red Republic after the 1852 elections - ran Tocqueville's article in its edition of December 11, 1851. In response to the Bonapartist propaganda, the article was a veritable defense plea for the people's representatives who had resisted -Tocqueville provided the complete list - and a severe accusation of Louis Napoléon's use of force. For Tocqueville, this text was a undiluted denunciation of crimes committed against people, as well as those against the Republic and public freedom. He unceasingly repeated this condemnation to each of his correspondents who asked for his opinion on the recent events, attempted to inform his friends who remained in La Manche, and seriously quarreled with his brother Édouard, who was in favor of the new regime. The terms Tocqueville used criticize this shameful point of view were harsh. They bear witness to how forcefully he condemned a timid France, which hid beneath a despot's yoke in order to escape the specter of socialism, and how much he condemned the disdain with which Louis Napoléon treated representative institutions, human dignity, and freedom.   play sound extractlire l'extrait sonore  
One can easily understand how Tocqueville could never imagine playing a role in the political life of the Second Empire, and that the dark day of December 2, 1851 represented both the fall of the Second Republic and the end of his political career. His unwavering stance with respect to the new regime led him to successively resign from all of his elected posts, with the exception of the presidency of the La Manche Departmental Council, to which he was very attached; he had hoped to keep this post without compromising himself with the new regime. Perhaps he even thought that the departments and local political life could allow for the organization of a form of opposition to the central power. However, as soon as the new Prince-President required departmental councilors to swear loyalty oaths, Tocqueville refused to acquiesce; he bade a definitive farewell to political life during an extraordinary session of the La Manche Departmental Council in April 1852. He withdrew to the chateau de Tocqueville in a sort of internal exile, and decided to devote his life once again to study, and in particular to the new book that he had begun planning for several years, which would turn out to be The Old Regime and the Revolution.

See
Political Figures

The Montmartre cemetery on December 4, 1851

The Montmartre cemetery on December 4, 1851, anonymous
© PMVP / Trocaz

Archives

Cover of the minutes of the deliberations of the La Manche General Council

Cover of the minutes of the deliberations of the La Manche General Councile
© AD Manche / Poirier

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

engagements


Le coup d'Etat de 1851

L'exil intérieur
« Voila, Monsieur, quel est notre destin. La force renverse la loi, piétine la liberté de la presse et celle des individus, se moque de la volonté populaire au nom de laquelle le gouvernement prétend agir ; la France arrachée à la famille des nations libres pour être attelée au même joug que les monarchies despotiques du continent :
voila le résultat
du coup d'État. »
(Lettre à Mrs Grote, 8 décembre 1851)

À sa sortie des cellules de Vincennes, le premier souci de Toqueville est d'informer la France, ainsi que le reste du monde, de la réalité des événements tels qu'ils viennent de se dérouler sous ses yeux et il choisit pour ce faire d'en adresser, sous couvert d'anonymat et grâce à l'intercession de son amie
Mrs GroteHarriet Grote (1792-1878)
Epouse de George Grote. Amie intime de la famille Senioret, par leur intermédiaire, de Tocqueville. C'est à elle que Tocqueville adresse le minutieux Nuit des événements du 2 décembre 1851 pour qu'il soit publié dans le Times.
, un long compte rendu au Times. Le célèbre journal londonien qui avait jusqu'ici admis, comme le reste de la presse britannique, l'interprétation bonapartiste du coup d'État - justifié par la nécessité de protéger le président contre l'Assemblée et d'éviter le danger d'une République rouge aux élections de 1852 - fait paraître dans ses colonnes, le 11 décembre 1851, l'article de Tocqueville. Celui-ci s'avère, en réponse à la propagande bonapartiste, un véritable plaidoyer pour les représentants du peuple qui ont résisté, dont il donne la liste exhaustive, et une sévère mise en accusation du coup de force de Louis Napoléon. Il s'agit pour Tocqueville dans ce texte de dénoncer sans ménage les crimes commis envers les personnes tout comme ceux qui ont été commis envers la République et les libertés publiques. Il ne cesse par ailleurs de répéter cette condamnation à chacun de ses correspondants qui s'enquiert de son avis sur les récents événements, tient à en informer ses amis restés dans la Manche et se brouille sérieusement avec son frère Édouard qui se montre favorable à l'instauration du nouveau régime. Les termes dont use Tocqueville pour lui reprocher cette coupable inclination sont suffisamment violents pour témoigner avec force combien il condamne cette Nation apeurée qui s'est réfugié sous le joug d'un despote pour échapper au spectre du socialisme et combien il condamne le mépris avec lequel Louis Napoléon a traité les institutions représentatives, la dignité humaine et la liberté.   Úcouter l'extrait sonorelire l'extrait sonore  
On comprend ainsi aisément que Tocqueville ne puisse envisager de prendre jamais part à la vie politique du Second Empire et que le sombre jour du 2 décembre 1851 marque en même temps que la chute de la Seconde République, la fin de sa carrière politique. Son intransigeance à l'égard du nouveau régime le conduit à démissionner successivement de tous ses mandats électoraux, sauf de celui de président du Conseil général de la Manche, auquel il est très attaché et qu'il espère pouvoir conserver sans se compromettre avec le nouveau régime. Il songe peut-être même que les départements et la vie politique locale pourraient permettre d'organiser une forme d'opposition au pouvoir central. Mais lorsque le nouveau Prince-Président exige que les conseillers généraux prêtent, eux aussi, serment au régime, Tocqueville refuse de s'y soumettre et fait définitivement ses adieux à la vie politique lors de la Session extraordinaire du Conseil général de la Manche en avril 1852. Il se retire alors au château de Tocqueville dans une forme d'exil intérieur, décidé à se consacrer de nouveau à l'étude, et plus particulièrement à ce nouveau livre dont il mûri le projet depuis quelques années et qui sera L'Ancien Régime et la Révolution.

Voir
les personnalitÚs
politiques

Le cimetière de Montmartre le 4 décembre 1851

Le cimetière de Montmartre le 4 décembre 1851, anonyme
© PMVP / Trocaz

Archives

Couverture du Procès-verbal des délibérations du Conseil général de la Manche

Couverture annotée de la main de Tocqueville du Procès-verbal des délibérations du Conseil général de la Manche
© AD Manche / Poirier

Haut de page