main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Politics & Views


The Coup d'Etat of 1851

The Republic in danger
« Nevertheless, I strongly wish to maintain the Republic, because no other government has a majority in this country, and, furthermore, I see nothing I like that can easily be put in its place. In addition, I am one of those people who support the laws of their country and not one of those who overturn them. »
(Letter to Armand Dufaure,
October 4, 1851)

The fall of Barrot's second ministry, who was sharply removed from his functions on October 31, 1849, served to show that Louis Napoléon Bonaparte was not going to let himself be manipulated or to sacrifice any part of his dreams of Empire, whose shadows constantly flitted over the future of the Republic. Even after he left the ministry, Tocqueville, although he was profoundly irritated at the speed with which he was sent down, continued to believe in the longevity of this regime, which in 1851 found itself at an impasse. The electoral calendar called for a round of elections for a new Legislative Assembly and a new President of the Republic starting in May of 1852. Indeed, according to the Constitution of 1848 (and following the proposal put forward by Gustave de Beaumont and supported by Tocqueville), the president of the Second Republic could only be elected for a single term. But Louis Napoléon Bonaparte, legitimized by his great popularity, openly refused to quit the presidency. The threat of a coup d'état, which became more and more real, forced Tocqueville to take the initiative to save the representative institutions and to try and keep France from experiencing another violent change of government.

« But the glaring truth, confirmed by actions, is that the majority of that Assembly did not conspire against Louis Napoleon and sought nothing so much as to avoid a quarrel with him. »
(Letter to Mrs. Grote, December 8, 1851)

He was extremely aware of Louis Napoleon's inclinations, having personally visited with him when he was minister, and regarded the president with a very critical eye. Tocqueville saw in him a man that was often much more clever than his opponents gave him credit for, but criticized him severely for his taste for plots and secretiveness, his tremendous pride, and his disdain for freedom and representative assemblies. Tocqueville also found it difficult to put up with the mediocrity of the "flunkeys" in Louis Napoleon's entourage. But he resolved to put the influence and esteem that he had earned during his time as minister to good use, and attempted, starting on May 15, 1851, to convince the president to envision a legitimate reelection by means of an amendment to the 1848 Constitution. Tocqueville even managed to get himself appointed to the Committee charged with examining the possibility of amending the constitutional text, and defended before the Assembly an amendment that would make it possible to re-elect the president. Unable to obtain a majority of votes in the Assembly in July 1851, his efforts were in vain. Nevertheless, right to the end Tocqueville tried to save the Republic. It had not always met with his approval, but it had the great merit, to his way of thinking, of guaranteeing individual freedom and representative assemblies.

See
Political Figures

Oh doctor, how your temporary treatment hurts...

Oh doctor, how your temporary treatment hurts..., anonymous
© PMVP/Briant

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

engagements


Le coup d'État de 1851

La République en péril
« Néanmoins, je veux fermement maintenir la République parce qu'aucun autre gouvernement n'a la majorité dans le pays et que, de plus, je ne vois rien qui me plaise et qu'on puisse mettre facilement à la place.
Je suis, d'ailleurs, de ceux qui soutiennent les lois de leur pays et non de ceux qui les renversent. »
(Lettre à Armand Dufaure,
4 octobre 1851)

La chute du second ministère Barrot, vertement démis de ses fonctions le 31 octobre 1849, achève de prouver que Louis Napoléon Bonaparte n'est pas prêt à se laisser manipuler ni à sacrifier quoi que ce soit à ses rêves d'Empire qui planent avec insistance sur le devenir de la République. Même après son départ du ministère, Tocqueville, bien que profondément irrité par la précocité de son renvoi, est l'un de ceux qui veulent cependant encore croire à la pérennité de ce régime, qui se trouve pourtant en 1851 dans une impasse : le calendrier électoral prévoit en mai 1852 et à quelques semaines d'intervalle, l'élection d'une nouvelle Assemblée législative ainsi que celle d'un nouveau président de la République. En effet, d'après la Constitution de 1848 (et suivant une proposition émanant de Gustave de Beaumont et soutenue par Tocqueville) le président de la Seconde République ne pouvait être élu que pour un seul mandat. Mais Louis Napoléon Bonaparte, légitimé en cela par sa très grande popularité, refuse ouvertement d'envisager son départ de la présidence. La menace du coup d'État, qui se fait alors de plus en plus précise, va contraindre Tocqueville à prendre les devants pour sauver les institutions représentatives et pour essayer d'éviter à la France un nouveau changement de régime dans la violence.

« Mais la vérité évidente, prouvée par des actes, est que la majorité de cette Assemblée, au lieu de conspirer contre Louis-Napoléon, ne chercha rien autant que d'éviter une querelle avec lui. »
(Lettre à Mrs. Grote, 8 décembre 1851)

Extrêmement lucide quant aux velléités de Louis Napoléon, qu'il a fréquenté personnellement durant son ministère, il porte sur ce dernier un regard sévère : il voit certes en lui un homme plus habile que ne l'ont souvent cru ses adversaires, mais il lui reproche durement son goût pour la dissimulation et les complots, son orgueil immense ainsi que son mépris pour la liberté et les assemblées représentatives. Il supporte également difficilement la médiocrité de la "valetaille" qui constitue son entourage. Mais il est décidé à user à bon escient de l'influence et de l'estime qu'il a su gagner auprès du président durant son passage au gouvernement et il tente, dès le 15 mai 1851, de le convaincre d'envisager une réélection légale au moyen d'une révision de la Constitution de 1848. Tocqueville parvient même à se faire élire dans la Commission chargée d'examiner la possibilité de la révision du texte constitutionnel et défend devant l'Assemblée la modification du texte en faveur de la rééligibilité du président. Faute d'obtenir une majorité suffisante à l'Assemblée en juillet 1851, ses efforts restent vains. Cependant Tocqueville aura jusqu'à la fin tenté de sauver le régime de la République, qui n'a pas toujours eu ses faveurs, mais qui a le grand mérite à ses yeux de garantir les libertés individuelles ainsi que des institutions représentatives.

Voir
les personnalités
politiques

Mal, docteur, mal, votre traitement provisoire

Mal, docteur, mal, votre traitement provisoire..., anonyme
© PMVP / Briant

Haut de page