main menu - summary - content - site map - accessibility

Politics & Views


The Revolution of 1848

« And so the French Revolution began anew. »
(Souvenirs)

Paradoxically, Alexis de Tocqueville's political career reached one of its high points during 1848, although he had never been swayed by republican arguments under the July Monarchy, and had refused to take part in the "Campagne des Banquets" that had resulted in the downfall of Louis-Philippe. He was even the first to announce that a revolutionary movement was brewing in France, fueled by the regime's corruption and the misery of the poorest social classes, and proclaimed it in a famous speech to the Chamber of Deputies on January 27, 1848. He gave a well-reasoned and prophetic analysis of the future popular uprising, which broke out on February 24th of the same year. From this date on, Tocqueville rapidly became a privileged witness and a front-row participant in the events that rapidly unfolded in the "Red Spring" of 1848. He did so without abandoning his convictions or espousing the cause of a mass movement whose socialist leanings he feared and hated. In the days following the events of February, he rallied to the side of the Republic, declaring that he would support it "with all my strength" against the repeated assaults of hardened revolutionaries who dreamed of a socialist regime.

« This is no riot; it is the most dreadful of all civil wars, the war of class against class, of those who have nothing against those who have. »
(Letter to Paul Clamorgan, June 24, 1848)

To do this, he began by declaring - to his constituents, who were voting for the first time under universal (though male only) suffrage - his candidacy for the seat of deputy from La Manche in the new Constituent Assembly. A famous page from his Souvenirs records the moment of pure political grace that this particular election day represented for him, when he left the village of Tocqueville and traveled to the town of Saint-Pierre-Église, where the vote took place, and where he was surrounded by the benevolence and confidence of his new electors.   play sound extractlire l'extrait sonore  
His election victory was so decisive that it resembled a plebiscite.
In addition, in the Constituent Assembly, Tocqueville found himself surrounded by a majority of politicians who were also ready to defend the Republic against the vague socialist leanings of the people of Paris, ready to make a stand against the civil war that still threatened. The danger was indeed great: Tocqueville stoically took part in the session on May 15, 1848, during which the far left socialist leaders (among them Louis Blanc, Barbès and Blanqui) failed to weaken the newly-forme Second Republic, due to their troops' lack of discipline. But it was above all in the bloody days of June 1848 in which he courageously defended the new regime: on June 25, wearing a red, white and blue scarf, he traveled through the barricaded streets of Paris, urging on the National Guard in their cruel combat against the rebels.
Flush with this victory over the working classes of Paris, the Republic attempted to organize itself, and under this regime Tocqueville would live his finest political hour on a national level. Nevertheless, he seemed to have a premonition, in the aftermath of the 1848 uprising, that the nation would lose, at least for a time, its taste for free institutions and liberty.

See
Political Figures

Portrait of Alexis de Tocqueville

Portrait of Alexis de Tocqueville
© AD Manche/A. Poirier

Archives

Minutes of the January 27, 1848 session of the Chamber of Deputies

Minutes of the January 27, 1848 session of the Chamber of Deputies
© CHAN


The barricade of the Rue Saint-Antoine

The barricade of the Rue Saint-Antoine, anonymous,
© AD Manche/ A. Poirier

Types of rebels

Types of rebels
© AD Manche/ A. Poirier

Top of page

aller au menu principal - aller aux sous-menus - aller au contenu-texte - le plan du site - politique d'accessibilité

engagements


La Révolution de 1848

« Et voici la Révolution française qui recommence. »
(Souvenirs)

La carrière politique d'Alexis de Tocqueville atteint paradoxalement un de ses sommets durant l'année 1848. Il n'a pourtant jamais été gagné sous la Monarchie de Juillet par les opinions républicaines et s'est refusé à participer à la campagne des banquets qui est à l'origine de la chute de Louis-Philippe. Il est même le premier à annoncer qu'un mouvement révolutionnaire, aiguisé par la corruption du régime et par la misère des classes sociales les plus défavorisées, gronde en France et à le redouter, dans le célèbre discours qu'il prononce devant la Chambre des députés le 27 janvier 1848. Il y analyse finement et sur un ton prophétique les causes du futur soulèvement populaire qui éclate violemment le 24 février. À partir de cette date, Tocqueville devient un témoin privilégié ainsi qu'un acteur de premier plan des événements qui se succèdent rapidement au cours du printemps rouge de 1848 sans jamais se départir des convictions qui sont les siennes ni prendre fait et cause pour un mouvement de foule aux accents et aux thèses socialistes qu'il craint et qu'il condamne. Dès le lendemain des événements de février, il se rallie pourtant à la République qu'il déclare vouloir soutenir "de toutes ses forces" contre les assauts répétés des révolutionnaires les plus convaincus qui rêvent d'un régime socialiste.

« Ce n'est pas une émeute, c'est la plus terrible de toutes les guerres civiles, la guerre de classe à classe, de ceux qui n'ont rien contre ceux qui ont. »
(Lettre à Paul Clamorgan, 24 juin 1848)

Il commence, pour ce faire, par se porter candidat au siège de député de la Manche de la nouvelle Assemblée constituante devant ses électeurs qui votent pour la première fois au suffrage universel masculin. Une célèbre page de ses Souvenirs garde la trace du véritable moment de grâce politique qu'est pour lui cette journée électorale particulière, qui l'a vu partir depuis le village de Tocqueville jusqu'au bourg de Saint-Pierre-Église, où se déroule le scrutin, entouré par la bienveillance et la confiance de tous ses nouveaux électeurs.   écouter l'extrait sonorelire l'extrait sonore  
Sa victoire électorale est telle qu'elle ressemble à un plébiscite.
Tocqueville trouve en outre autour de lui à l'Assemblée constituante une majorité d'hommes politiques qui sont tout aussi prêts à défendre la République contre les velléités socialistes du peuple de Paris, prêts à affronter la guerre civile qui la menace encore. Et le péril est grand : il assiste tout d'abord stoïquement à la séance du 15 mai 1848 durant laquelle les meneurs socialistes les plus extrémistes (que sont entre autres Louis Blanc, Barbès et Blanqui) manquent de faire vaciller, faute de discipline parmi leurs troupes, la jeune Seconde République française. Mais c'est surtout durant les sanglantes journées de juin 1848 qu'il participe courageusement au maintien du nouveau régime : le 25 juin il parcourt ainsi, ceint de son écharpe tricolore, les rues de la capitale qui sont encombrées de barricades pour galvaniser les soldats de la Garde nationale dans leur cruel combat contre les insurgés.
Forte de cette victoire contre le peuple ouvrier de Paris, la République va désormais tenter de s'organiser et Tocqueville connaîtra sous ce régime sa grande heure politique au niveau national. Il semble pourtant avoir pressenti dès le lendemain de l'insurrection de juin 1848 que la nation y a vraisemblablement perdu pour quelques années son goût des institutions libres, son appétit de liberté.

Voir
les personnalités
politiques

Portrait d'Alexis de Tocqueville

Portrait d'Alexis de Tocqueville
© AD Manche/A.Poirier

Archives

Procès-verbal du 27 janvier 1848 de la Chambre des députés

Procès-verbal de la séance du 27 janvier 1848 de la Chambre des députés
© CHAN


La barricade de la rue Saint-Antoine

La barricade de la rue Saint-Antoine, anonyme,
© AD Manche/ A. Poirier

Types d'insurgés

Types d'insurgés
© AD Manche/ A. Poirier

Haut de page